Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site September 01, 2014, 06:15:56 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
View the new Member Awards and Badges page.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Problem with new version 1.05.01  (Read 4137 times)
jacquesrober
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 39


View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: July 08, 2009, 10:40:56 AM »

I have installed the new version of desktop coral (1.05.01) and I am using Win patrol to control startup options. Desktop coral wants to start as an:autorun (desktopcoral.exe/autorun). I have tried different ways to allow desktop coral to run at start up without getting the windows error message. at boot xp shows me an error screen asking what is the unknown parameter '/autorun' and as I click off the error message, desktop coral exits. I have not changed anything on the system before or after installing the new version. Everything was fine with the older version. I use desktop coral to protect a small space on the right of the screen to allow scrolling within apps. without needlessly activating  "RocketDock".
Is the older version available?
Regards,
Jacques.
Logged

JR
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,292



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2009, 10:43:23 AM »

i remember this problem happening in another program of mine.. it is strange.
perhaps you could try turning off the "start with windows" option in Desktop Coral, and then just making a shortcut yourself to the program in your Startup subdirectory of your Start Menu.

or if you can wait a bit i will add code to Desktop Coral to ignore the silly "/autorun" parameter that seems to cause this problem.
Logged
KEEF
Participant
*
Posts: 1

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2009, 07:43:38 AM »

I also got an error message when I set DesktopCoral to start with windows... I'm not sure if it's exactly what jaquesrober was talking about or a different problem. I'm just using the basic Windoze startup (no fancy programs like Winpatrol or anything). This is the exact message I get at startup:

"ERROR in commandline: Unknown parameter '/autorun' -- should be from,
[floatpos,monitorid,placement,dockwidth,dockheight]"

Also, ever since I started using DesktopCoral, my nVidia System Monitors all seem to have disappeared... it looks like they're being shoved up above the top of the screen (ie. above the Coral window, and inaccessible). Is this a compatibility bug with this particular program? Because the whole point of downloading DesktopCoral was to make space for my System Monitor displays!
Logged
jacquesrober
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 39


View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2009, 09:52:17 AM »


Quote
"ERROR in commandline: Unknown parameter '/autorun' -- should be from,
[floatpos,monitorid,placement,dockwidth,dockheight]"

This is the same error screen I get at boot.
Jacquesrober
Logged

JR
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,292



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2009, 10:28:43 AM »

i will release a fix today or tomorrow for the /autorun thing.

as for the nvidia system monitors i'm not sure what you mean.. does the problem occur even if you start desktop coral after the nvidia utility is running?
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,292



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2009, 08:11:33 PM »

new version uploaded (v1.06.01), hopefully will fix this problem.
Logged
jacquesrober
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 39


View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: July 16, 2009, 09:40:02 AM »

I installed the new v1.06.01 and the /autorun does not present a problem anymore. Win patrol still asks if I will allow desktop coral.exe/autorun to run at boot, but in the Win patrol startup section info, the .exe /autorun version is displayed in the disabled section, while the .exe version is in the allowed section. If I remove the disabled version (.exe/autorun) from the disabled list, it shuts off desktop coral altogether. So I just leave it both in the startup section (.exe) and the disabled section (.exe/autorun) of WinPatrol.
Different but functional.
Thanks for the correction.
Jacques.
Logged

JR
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.033s | Server load: 0.08 ]