Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site November 23, 2014, 01:20:53 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2014! Download dozens of custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 2 [3] 4 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: New C# FARR Plugin: FARRAltTab  (Read 47910 times)
Armando
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,683



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #50 on: February 09, 2008, 02:36:08 AM »

Hi vitalyb, I just want to say that I'm still experiencing problems with FARRAltTab. I get exactly the same errors noted there (FarrEnvironmentVariables thread):
http://www.donationcoder....c=11551.msg93515#msg93515.

This is what I  periodically get :







So I've disabled FARRAltTab completely now, but am hoping to be able to use it again...

Is the last version 1.15 (from Nov 23rd, 2007) ?
Logged

"I suppose it can be said that I'm an absent-minded driver. It's true that I've driven through a number of red lights on occasion, but on the other hand, I've stopped at a lot of green ones but never gotten credit for it."
Glenn Gould
vitalyb
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 141



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #51 on: February 09, 2008, 07:49:03 AM »

Yeah  Sad I am afraid I still didn't find time to fix it. I'll try to get on to it sometime this week.
Logged
Armando
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,683



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #52 on: February 09, 2008, 11:06:42 AM »

No worries vitalyb.  smiley I just wanted to mention my little bug, and... how useful I think this plugin is!
Logged

"I suppose it can be said that I'm an absent-minded driver. It's true that I've driven through a number of red lights on occasion, but on the other hand, I've stopped at a lot of green ones but never gotten credit for it."
Glenn Gould
vitalyb
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 141



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #53 on: February 12, 2008, 01:29:19 PM »

It should be fixed now! smiley
If anything still doesn't work, let me know
Logged
Armando
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,683



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #54 on: February 12, 2008, 03:19:16 PM »

Yes! everything seems to be working properly! MANY MANY thanks!!!  Thmbsup
Logged

"I suppose it can be said that I'm an absent-minded driver. It's true that I've driven through a number of red lights on occasion, but on the other hand, I've stopped at a lot of green ones but never gotten credit for it."
Glenn Gould
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,692



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #55 on: February 12, 2008, 03:38:36 PM »

Yes! everything seems to be working properly! MANY MANY thanks!!!  Thmbsup

same here - thanks too cheesy
Logged

Tom
zajc
Participant
*
Posts: 22

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #56 on: February 18, 2008, 02:53:31 AM »

Finally I have figured out why I can't install FarrAltTab plugin or make it work.
After I had accidentally installed  embarassed Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 Redistributable it started to work.

I was searching further and have found out I didn't have mfc80.dll file.

Maybe this will help someone who would like to install this plugin and make it work.

Logged
Armando
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,683



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #57 on: February 20, 2008, 04:29:50 PM »

Since I'm having troubles with two other plugins (Google Dictionary and Google Translate), I wonder if something similar could be the problem.
Logged

"I suppose it can be said that I'm an absent-minded driver. It's true that I've driven through a number of red lights on occasion, but on the other hand, I've stopped at a lot of green ones but never gotten credit for it."
Glenn Gould
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,692



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #58 on: February 20, 2008, 04:50:07 PM »

Since I'm having troubles with two other plugins (Google Dictionary and Google Translate), I wonder if something similar could be the problem.


Armando,
they worked for me after installing (+ after the most recent updates)
wierd, cant get out of this quote box  Grin


edit by jgpaiva: fixed quote tag
« Last Edit: February 20, 2008, 07:02:09 PM by jgpaiva » Logged

Tom
vitalyb
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 141



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #59 on: February 21, 2008, 02:39:42 AM »

Since I'm having troubles with two other plugins (Google Dictionary and Google Translate), I wonder if something similar could be the problem.

I doubt it... Google Dictionary and Google Translate don't use the C# sdk.
Logged
Armando
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,683



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #60 on: February 23, 2008, 02:53:39 AM »

As you guys probably already know : problems soved by czechboy!  Thmbsup
Logged

"I suppose it can be said that I'm an absent-minded driver. It's true that I've driven through a number of red lights on occasion, but on the other hand, I've stopped at a lot of green ones but never gotten credit for it."
Glenn Gould
justice
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,889



Solve issues simply.

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #61 on: March 25, 2008, 04:34:06 PM »

I'd like to make a feature suggestion:
when using tab and the query that is put-in gives no results (i.e. no open window called 'notepad' to switch to) it would be great if FARRAltTab would then do a "I'm feeling lucky" and run the query back to farr to launch. (hopefully open notepad)

The reasoning behind this is i tend to use FARRAltTab when many windows are open, so i'm looking for my programming editor for example in a stack of 20 windows as I don't want to open multiple instances. However if the editor is not running i'd like to start it (or i wouldn't be looking for the window). Currently I have to backspace (maybe ESC would work but i think that minmizes farr instead) and type a query again - not exactly ease of use. What do you think?
Logged

Armando
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,683



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #62 on: March 25, 2008, 05:17:37 PM »

Interesting. I think it's a good idea.  thumbs up
Logged

"I suppose it can be said that I'm an absent-minded driver. It's true that I've driven through a number of red lights on occasion, but on the other hand, I've stopped at a lot of green ones but never gotten credit for it."
Glenn Gould
vitalyb
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 141



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #63 on: March 26, 2008, 11:24:54 AM »

It is a good idea indeed. Though it means that the "Title" of the application you "FARRTab" to would be the one that FARR would find.

Can't promise I'll do it anytime soon though, so anyone interested is welcome to download the C# SDK that contains the source and add it.
Logged
kartal
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,529


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #64 on: May 17, 2008, 05:15:01 PM »

This works great especially when you create seperate hotkey(alt+tab naturally) with tab enabled by default. Amazing better than sucky windows default
Logged
Armando
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,683



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #65 on: May 17, 2008, 05:22:47 PM »

Well windows alt-tab is good when you don't have many windows and have to switch back and forth between 2 windows -- it's probably the quickest way. However, when you have multiple windows of the same app (e.g. : text editor, word processor with multiple documents/scripts/code opened all at once) it's close to useless. Farr alt tab becomes handy there. Like you, I have created a separate hotkey (ctrl alt tab) for it (with "tab" enabled by default). I actually use 4 ways of switching between apps, depending on my needs : plain alt tab, TaskSwitcher, farr alt tab, and... the task bar (once in a while).
Logged

"I suppose it can be said that I'm an absent-minded driver. It's true that I've driven through a number of red lights on occasion, but on the other hand, I've stopped at a lot of green ones but never gotten credit for it."
Glenn Gould
kartal
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,529


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #66 on: May 17, 2008, 06:08:10 PM »

I wished that this plugin could group and sort  undecided
Logged
Armando
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,683



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #67 on: May 17, 2008, 07:02:02 PM »

But isn't its main purpose to search as you type ? Grouping/sorting would be nice, maybe. But then, grouping/sorting would be nice for anything farr related IMO... (clicking on the headings to sort by date, name, etc.)
Logged

"I suppose it can be said that I'm an absent-minded driver. It's true that I've driven through a number of red lights on occasion, but on the other hand, I've stopped at a lot of green ones but never gotten credit for it."
Glenn Gould
kartal
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,529


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #68 on: May 17, 2008, 07:15:48 PM »

I agree
Logged
vitalyb
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 141



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #69 on: May 18, 2008, 02:35:28 AM »

I am using winkey+tab. Problem is, FARR doesn't like this combination by default so I have to use some AutoHotKey magic to make it work:

#Tab::
Send, !#^{Tab}
Logged
Jabberwock
Participant
*
Posts: 71

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #70 on: October 15, 2008, 02:18:57 PM »

Hello,

I've downloaded your plugin (it was a logical next step, as I use FARR for so many purposes) and like it very much. I've even taken the plunge and bound it to standard Alt-Tab combination... Still taking some time to get used to, but I think it's worth it.

I have a small suggestion, though... Would it be possible to have the last active window (i.e. not the one that is seen now, but the previous one) to be the first on the list? Having the currently active window in the first place does not make much such sense, as you lose the Enter (i.e. select the first item) functionality... and in FARR Entering the best search becomes quite a habit.

This would make sense when you switch just between two applications - in that case typing in is slower than just alt-tabbing...
Logged
Jabberwock
Participant
*
Posts: 71

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #71 on: October 15, 2008, 02:49:06 PM »

One more feature request, in addtion to what I wrote above...

Would it be possible to add management of hidden/tray apps? I imagine it could work in two steps: when you first type „tab”, you see the taskbar window names, just as it is now. But when you start typing and any hidden/tray app contain the string, they show up as well...

As for tray applications, I suppose selecting them in FARR would work the same as double clicking (or clicking? oops, needs to be configured, I guess...) on their tray icon - I am not sure it is possible at all... But it would make FARR experience much more complete - truly mouseless experience!
Logged
vitalyb
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 141



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #72 on: October 16, 2008, 07:19:14 PM »

Hi Jabberwock,
They are great suggestions. However, I hardly have time lately to work on FARR Sad.

If you're into programming feel free to download the source code of FARR Alt+Tab and tinker with it or create a new version.
Logged
Jabberwock
Participant
*
Posts: 71

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #73 on: October 17, 2008, 03:19:27 PM »

Unfortunately, my coding skills are very limited... And C# is definitely not my cup of tea...
Logged
joes_garage
Participant
*
Posts: 12


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #74 on: September 30, 2010, 01:33:09 PM »

I just downloaded version 1.2 and I can't get the plugin to load properly.  Sad
I run on Win 7 (64 bit), and whenever I start FARR with the plugin enabled, it crashes on startup.
I'd like to give more info, but I just get a stupid Win7 popup saying:

Find&Run Robot has stopped working
Windows is checking for a solution to the problem... 

huh

Anybody has an idea how to fix this?

thanks,

joce.
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 2 [3] 4 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.039s | Server load: 0.05 ]