Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site August 01, 2014, 09:34:30 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Read the full one-year retrospective report on DonationCoder.com.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: IDEA: Use scroll lock LED as hard drive indicator  (Read 21663 times)
wetsmellydog
Participant
*
Posts: 92

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: October 13, 2007, 12:04:04 PM »

Years ago I found a program that allowed you to use the scroll lock LED as a hard drive light indicator.
I have not been able to find it again after numurous pcs and HD crashes. I tried searching the net and
have not found a replacement either.

This was WAY before motherboards had integrated hard drive controllers. I think they were intercepting
hardware int15.

There is a software version that sits in the task tray but I find that one annoying.

Thanks!
« Last Edit: October 13, 2007, 12:51:07 PM by wetsmellydog » Logged
Cpilot
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 293



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2007, 12:28:37 PM »

Funny you should bring this up, I wrote a script a while ago that monitors HD activity, but it sits in the tray.
It may not be as annoying though so I'll up load it.
Source included.

* HDDmon.zip (120.1 KB - downloaded 826 times.)
Logged
Ralf Maximus
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 927



View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2007, 01:31:30 PM »

I tried to find something like that a few years ago and discovered that there's something about my USB keyboard that doesn't like having its LED toggled numerous times a second.  Either the LED would get stuck in a particular state, or the keyboard itself would go nuts requiring a reboot.

I gave up and ended up using FloatLED: http://www.stone-oakvalle...os.com/index_software.php
Logged
wetsmellydog
Participant
*
Posts: 92

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2007, 02:12:51 PM »

I tried to find something like that a few years ago and discovered that there's something about my USB keyboard that doesn't like having its LED toggled numerous times a second.  Either the LED would get stuck in a particular state, or the keyboard itself would go nuts requiring a reboot.

I gave up and ended up using FloatLED: http://www.stone-oakvalle...os.com/index_software.php

I had spent long hours searching for a solution and after I post this message, I find a couple of software solutions.

FloatLED is based on this software DriveGLEAM found at http://www.dirtcellar.net/
What is cool about this program is that you can hook up and control LEDs from the
parallel port.

I also found an autohotkey script at http://www.autohotkey.com/forum/topic17954.html

What I would really like is just a stand alone program that would do job without all the bells and whistles.

Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: October 13, 2007, 04:36:48 PM »

What I would really like is just a stand alone program that would do job without all the bells and whistles.
Doesn't that ahk script do just that?
Logged

wetsmellydog
Participant
*
Posts: 92

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: October 13, 2007, 07:08:50 PM »

What I would really like is just a stand alone program that would do job without all the bells and whistles.
Doesn't that ahk script do just that?

It depends on aht to run.
Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2007, 09:08:07 PM »

It depends on aht to run.
Not necessarly, ahk scripts are compilable, if you'd like, i could compile it for you. (or you could compile it yourself, if you install ahk)
Logged

wetsmellydog
Participant
*
Posts: 92

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: October 16, 2007, 06:24:12 PM »

OK, I tried the AHK script and it did not work reliably.

That leaves me with DriveGLEAM that has way too much overhead involved just to intercept the
hard drive activity.

Any other ideas?

Thanks!
Logged
wreckedcarzz
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,620



Happy wolfie ^_^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: October 16, 2007, 11:28:01 PM »

What do you mean when you say "did not work reliably"? I am running it right now (gotta love the blinking lights Kiss) and it seems to work fine (wired keyboard, didn't touch a line of code within the script so it is as-is from the net). Very handy for me, I didn't even have a mobo LCD to show HDD usage. smiley
Logged

New website! With a fancy domain name and everything! *gasp*
http://www.wreckedcarzz.com/
BigJim
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 178


I have seen the light!

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: October 17, 2007, 12:04:49 AM »

Could I impose on someone to post the compiled script here?

Thanks!!   smiley

Oh, what's that about running "diskperf.exe -y" first as mentioned in the first post on the AHK forum (http://www.autohotkey.com/forum/topic17954.html) ?
Logged

TruckerJim says "You can go down a hill too slow a thousand times. But too fast only once."
yksyks
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 460


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: October 17, 2007, 06:52:08 AM »

SoftLeds can also use the ScrollLock led on your keyboard to display the disk access on all the monitored drives. See http://xfx.net/utilities/softleds/index.htm.
Logged
wetsmellydog
Participant
*
Posts: 92

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: October 17, 2007, 01:17:26 PM »

What do you mean when you say "did not work reliably"? I am running it right now (gotta love the blinking lights Kiss) and it seems to work fine (wired keyboard, didn't touch a line of code within the script so it is as-is from the net). Very handy for me, I didn't even have a mobo LCD to show HDD usage. smiley

I compared the HD light on my computer and the Scroll Lock LED. They rarely matched. In fact, the scroll lock LED would blink even when there wasn't any indicated activity from the computer.

I am using a wired Logitec keyboard.
Logged
wetsmellydog
Participant
*
Posts: 92

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: October 17, 2007, 01:20:53 PM »

SoftLeds can also use the ScrollLock led on your keyboard to display the disk access on all the monitored drives. See http://xfx.net/utilities/softleds/index.htm.

I am looking for a small program without extras. The AHK script would have been great if it had worked.
Logged
wreckedcarzz
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,620



Happy wolfie ^_^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: October 18, 2007, 01:01:00 AM »

Could I impose on someone to post the compiled script here?

Thanks!!   smiley

Oh, what's that about running "diskperf.exe -y" first as mentioned in the first post on the AHK forum (http://www.autohotkey.com/forum/topic17954.html) ?

BigJim, just open the Run box (Start > Run) and type "diskperf.exe -y" (w/o quotes) to prep the computer to give off HDD readings for the AHK script. I will post the script sometime tomorrow as a compiled exe for you (I am adding it to my notepad here so I don't forget Thmbsup)
Logged

New website! With a fancy domain name and everything! *gasp*
http://www.wreckedcarzz.com/
wreckedcarzz
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,620



Happy wolfie ^_^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: October 18, 2007, 01:04:59 AM »

By the way wetsmellydog, make sure you did what I said above before running the AHK script, otherwise you will get random readings.

(Just ONCE though! thumbs up)
Logged

New website! With a fancy domain name and everything! *gasp*
http://www.wreckedcarzz.com/
Target
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 1,390



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: October 18, 2007, 01:33:32 AM »

FYI, that command is in the script, albeit commented out...

i don't see why it couldn't be uncommented, then you wouldn't need to run it from the prompt (not sure what happens if you need to restart the script though...)

Target
Logged

"Look wise, say nothing, and grunt. Speech was given to conceal thought" - Sir William Osler
BigJim
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 178


I have seen the light!

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: October 18, 2007, 08:45:17 AM »

Quote
(I am adding it to my notepad here so I don't forget Thmbsup)

Thanks a BUNCH !! I'll keep and eye out for your post.

'preciatecha  cheesy

(BTW/FYI I'd love to get more familiar with AHK and soooo many more things but I MUST stop falling down rabbit holes and get some real (AKA paid for) work done!)
Logged

TruckerJim says "You can go down a hill too slow a thousand times. But too fast only once."
wetsmellydog
Participant
*
Posts: 92

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: October 18, 2007, 03:02:21 PM »

By the way wetsmellydog, make sure you did what I said above before running the AHK script, otherwise you will get random readings.

(Just ONCE though! thumbs up)

According to the help file on diskperf.exe, it is not necessary to run the script in XP.

See below

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Mr Comp>diskperf.exe -y

Both Logical and Physical Disk Performance counters on this system
        are automatically enabled on demand.
Raw counters are also enabled for IOCTL_DISK_PERFORMANCE.

C:\Documents and Settings\Mr Comp>diskperf.exe /?


DISKPERF [-Y[D|V] | -N[D|V]] [\\computername]

  -Y  Sets the system to start all disk performance counters
      when the system is restarted.

  -YD Enables the disk performance counters for physical drives.
      when the system is restarted.
  -YV Enables the disk performance counters for logical drives
      or storage volumes when the system is restarted.
  -N  Sets the system to disable all disk performance counters
      when the system is restarted.

  -ND Disables the disk performance counters for physical drives.
  -NV Disables the disk performance counters for logical drives.
  \\computername        Is the name of the computer you want to
                        see or set disk performance counter use.
                        The computer must be a Windows 2000 system.
  NOTE: Disk performance counters are permanently enabled on
        systems beyond Windows 2000.
Logged
wreckedcarzz
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,620



Happy wolfie ^_^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #18 on: October 19, 2007, 05:13:03 PM »

@ Wetsmellydog: Not sure then. I would run it just in case, but I am not familiar with that exe. read

@ BigJim: Here is your EXE (attached) all set and ready to go! smiley

EDIT: For spelling embarassed

EDIT 2: Again ^ embarassed

* HDDMonitor.exe (197.13 KB - downloaded 505 times.)
« Last Edit: October 19, 2007, 05:26:30 PM by wreckedcarzz » Logged

New website! With a fancy domain name and everything! *gasp*
http://www.wreckedcarzz.com/
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #19 on: October 19, 2007, 05:17:36 PM »

EDIT: For spelling embarassed
Still, "attached" is misspelled tongue eheh
Logged

wreckedcarzz
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,620



Happy wolfie ^_^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #20 on: October 19, 2007, 05:25:19 PM »

EDIT: For spelling embarassed
Still, "attached" is misspelled tongue eheh

You have GOT to be joking... ohmy embarassed tongue Grin embarassed
Logged

New website! With a fancy domain name and everything! *gasp*
http://www.wreckedcarzz.com/
Waxhead
Participant
*
Posts: 2

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #21 on: October 19, 2007, 09:37:04 PM »

That leaves me with DriveGLEAM that has way too much overhead involved just to intercept the
hard drive activity.

Hi, I'm the author of DriveGLEAM. How can you justify this? exactly what are the overhead? are you experiencing slowdowns? if so please enter a bugreport here: http://forum.dirtcellar.net
DriveGLEAM is one of the fastest free (and non-free for that matter) software HD LED indicators available. If you are still running on a 100mhz pentium you can set the pollrate if neccesary.
Just compare DriveGLEAM with other simmilar tools and check the resource usage by your self.
...as you can understand this post really provoked me and I just had to blow off some steam Wink
Logged
Cpilot
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 293



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #22 on: October 20, 2007, 12:16:59 AM »

You know when you get right down to it the AHK script is just a pretty light, but is in no way a reflection of HD activity.
It basically lags behind just about any other HD activity monitor, mine included.
Some languages are not up to monitoring system activity, it's nothing to be ashamed of, sometimes you have to accept the inherent limitations.
Logged
BigJim
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 178


I have seen the light!

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #23 on: October 20, 2007, 05:19:20 AM »

Wreckedcarzz: Thanks a squillion for doing that for me. I appreciate the effort. Unfortunately, as Cpilot says, it doesn't work. I've tried it on three machines (2x XP Home and 1x XP Pro) and the light activity bears little if any resemblance to the HDD light on the tower. Worse, it screws up the function of the other lights.

I presently trying FloadLED on one machine and it seems to be working fine. Will give DriveGLEAM a try, too.

Thanks again to all. I love this place!   cheesy
Logged

TruckerJim says "You can go down a hill too slow a thousand times. But too fast only once."
wetsmellydog
Participant
*
Posts: 92

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #24 on: October 21, 2007, 09:21:24 PM »

That leaves me with DriveGLEAM that has way too much overhead involved just to intercept the
hard drive activity.

Hi, I'm the author of DriveGLEAM. How can you justify this? exactly what are the overhead? are you experiencing slowdowns? if so please enter a bugreport here: http://forum.dirtcellar.net
DriveGLEAM is one of the fastest free (and non-free for that matter) software HD LED indicators available. If you are still running on a 100mhz pentium you can set the pollrate if neccesary.
Just compare DriveGLEAM with other simmilar tools and check the resource usage by your self.
...as you can understand this post really provoked me and I just had to blow off some steam Wink

Hi Waxhead,

I apologize if I offended you or your program!

Maybe the term "overhead" was used in the wrong context.

I am looking for a simple program to just blink the scroll lock LED without any other features.

I appreciate programmers like you who work hard to put out quality programs for free. I have tried your program and found it to work as you have stated without any issues on my computer.

Again I sincerely apologize if you took offense to my statements.

WSD
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.105s | Server load: 0 ]