topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Monday September 21, 2020, 10:48 am
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: System error  (Read 484 times)

TengTa

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2020
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
System error
« on: July 11, 2020, 03:33 AM »
I tried running UrlSnooper portable in Windows 10 and got this system error:

The code execution cannot proceed because PACKET.DLL and WPCAP.DLL were not found.

Where can I find these dlls which are not in the portable folder?

Thanks.

ferretau

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: System error
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2020, 09:21 PM »
You need to install Npcap. 
Npcap: Windows Packet Capture Library & Driver: https://nmap.org/npcap/



this is a continuation of WinPcap: https://www.winpcap.org/
there is also  Win10Pcap - WinPcap for Windows 10: http://www.win10pcap.org/

ritchievalens

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Knowledge is Power !!
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: System error
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2020, 11:05 AM »
Hi Tengta,

As a thought, allowing an exception in your firewall might help to get more accurate result.
Basically its telling the Firewall the App is cool

Please keep us updates, so other people benefit from your issues also.

Stay Safe

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,357
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: System error
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2020, 11:08 AM »
ferretau -- great find with Win10Pcap, I had not seen that -- it may be time for me to make a new installer for urlsnooper that uses win10pcap (or npcap?)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,357
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: System error
« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2020, 11:10 AM »
TengTa, you could try installing win10pcap and urlsnooper should be able to automatically use it -- let us know!  Npcap could also work.

TengTa

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2020
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: System error
« Reply #5 on: July 13, 2020, 02:01 AM »
Thanks everyone for your prompt and helpful suggestions. Will try the win10pcap tip first.