Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 08:41:50 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: KatMouse Query  (Read 11920 times)

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
KatMouse Query
« on: May 15, 2007, 04:26:56 AM »
I know there's a few people here who use KatMouse

Purpose


The prime purpose of the KatMouse utility is to enhance the functionality of mice with a scroll wheel, offering 'universal' scrolling: moving the mouse wheel will scroll the window directly beneath the mouse cursor (not the one with the keyboard focus, which is default on Windows OSes). This is a major increase in the usefullness of the mouse wheel.
I'm trying it out & like it a lot

BUT
I got rid of the try icon
(I believe that was an option in properties if i remember correctly)

& now
I cant seem to find how to get it back, or, more importantly how to get to properties.

Any ideas there?

I have wrote the author but am an impatient geezer so thought I'd ask here  :D
thanks,
tom

screen1.gif
Tom
« Last Edit: June 28, 2010, 07:28:58 PM by mouser »

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: KatMouse Query
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2007, 04:36:25 AM »
just double-click on the exe again while KatMouse is running and the option windows will pop-up.. :)

ws-katmouse-2.png

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: KatMouse Query
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2007, 09:16:25 AM »
Thanks Lanux  :)

Katmouse seems to be generally very good but didnt work with Qimage, a programme I'm trying out for printing photos.
In fact it stopped it from scrolling at all
So now I have it on KatMouse's ignore list.

Very handy  :up:
Tom

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,092
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: KatMouse Query
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2007, 11:48:26 AM »
Sounds as if it is a fine program. I am not going to try it, because I like my 'click mouse wheel to auto-scroll' feature in Volumouse a lot. When you have finished trying this KatMouse you really should try out Volumose as well. It too has options for focus on various windows and programs. [Bummer again, Curt: That feature came from another app. Volumouse has a very different kind of focus activation]

The old Volumouse is now being launched in two all new (32 or 64 bits, Vista ready) beta versions!

Quote
Volumouse Beta Release Notes:

Volumouse now works under Windows Vista (both 32-bit and x64 versions)
Under Vista, there is no default mixer device anymore, but you can select the default playback and recording device in the component combo-box.

Under Vista, You can select more 6 channels, in addition to the 2 standard left and right channels.

Under Vista, changing the master volume doesn't affect the default left/right balance, as in the previous version of Windows.

In the x64 version, Volumouse only works when the focused application is 64-bit. When you work with 32-bit application under Windows x64, Volumouse doesn't receive the wheel events.

All default settings are now saved into .cfg file instead of the Registry.

The new config file is not compatible with the config file created by the previous versions of Volumouse.

Added new options to "Use the wheel when" combo-box: Windows Media Center is focused, iTunes is focused, Mouse cursor is over the Vista Gadgets.

Added additional rule line (6 instead of 5 in previous versions...)


Stable: http://www.nirsoft.n...utils/volumouse.html
volumouse.png  :-*
Beta: http://www.nirsoft.n.../volumouse_beta.html
« Last Edit: May 16, 2007, 08:15:58 AM by Curt »

TucknDar

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,105
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: KatMouse Query
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2007, 02:12:03 PM »
Sounds as if it is a fine program. I am not going to try it, because I like my 'click mouse wheel to auto-scroll' feature in Volumouse a lot. When you have finished trying this KatMouse you really should try out Volumose as well. It too has options for focus on various windows and programs.
Really? Then it has a poor readme, 'cause I couldn't find anything about that in it.

I read it again, before posting this, and there isn't any indication that it controls "focus on various windows and programs." Maybe it's just one of those good bugs  ;)

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: KatMouse Query
« Reply #5 on: May 16, 2007, 01:26:55 AM »
Very handy  :up:
yes, agreed.. in fact, a quick search on the forums would give an indication of KatMouse's wide usage.. :)

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: KatMouse Query
« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2007, 02:31:26 AM »
Very handy  :up:
yes, agreed.. in fact, a quick search on the forums would give an indication of KatMouse's wide usage.. :)

depends on how the forum search engine is feeling on the day of search!!!  :P
-
when I searched the yesterday it found nothing -
but I first came across KatMouse in the "tray" thread so I know it is there.
(I know Wordzilla has a "forum for download" but I havent been bothered yet)

Tom

Grorgy

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 821
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: KatMouse Query
« Reply #7 on: May 16, 2007, 02:41:06 AM »
What a great little program, wondered to myself what real use it would be, but its only little so i downloaded it and it is a wonderful little beast, just so conveniant, makes a grorgy purr  ;D

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: KatMouse Query
« Reply #8 on: May 16, 2007, 02:45:19 AM »
depends on how the forum search engine is feeling on the day of search!!!  :P
;D ;D ;D
that's why i have two search methods as my sig.. :)

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: KatMouse Query
« Reply #9 on: May 16, 2007, 03:02:23 AM »
depends on how the forum search engine is feeling on the day of search!!!  :P
;D ;D ;D
that's why i have two search methods as my sig.. :)
hadn't noticed that  :D

just got the FF one, thanks Lanux :up: - and App of course for making :D
Tom

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: KatMouse Query
« Reply #10 on: May 16, 2007, 08:46:18 PM »
hadn't noticed that  :D

just got the FF one, thanks Lanux :up: - and App of course for making
yes tomos, maybe the search plugin should have a link on the main page since nowadays many sites are displaying their search plugins prominently.. so what do you think, mouser? :)

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: KatMouse Query
« Reply #11 on: May 26, 2007, 12:55:43 PM »
i had just spent a few frustrating hours to figure out something and i would like to share it with everyone here.. a friend had wanted me to have a look at his Firefox because the middle-click isn't working (note: among other uses, middle mouse button is used to open links in new tabs).. apparently, this friend had installed KatMouse, which has a feature that interferes with Firefox and i didn't realize this until much later when middle-clicking was sending the active window to the bottom..

so, if you use KatMouse, remember to set "None of the buttons" as push button, if not middle-click will not work on Firefox..

Before
ws-katmouse-1.png

After
ws-katmouse-2.png
« Last Edit: May 26, 2007, 01:07:04 PM by lanux128 »

Nighted

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 572
  • Meat Popsicle
    • View Profile
    • Nighted@deviantART
    • Donate to Member
Re: KatMouse Query
« Reply #12 on: May 27, 2007, 11:21:32 AM »
I don't have this problem, I just use something other than the middle button.
I`m a firm believer in the philosophy of a ruling class, especially since I rule.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: KatMouse Query
« Reply #13 on: May 29, 2007, 07:18:53 AM »
you use this "something other" to scroll inactive windows or middle-clicking in Firefox?

Nighted

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 572
  • Meat Popsicle
    • View Profile
    • Nighted@deviantART
    • Donate to Member
Re: KatMouse Query
« Reply #14 on: May 29, 2007, 10:52:49 PM »
No, I just use one of the side buttons on my mouse.
I`m a firm believer in the philosophy of a ruling class, especially since I rule.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: KatMouse Query
« Reply #15 on: May 30, 2007, 02:56:49 AM »
ok, i see.. a multi-buttoned mouse.. :) maybe this will be of help to you.. If you have a many-buttons-mouse, you'll like this

TucknDar

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,105
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: KatMouse Query
« Reply #16 on: June 01, 2007, 03:01:21 AM »
New version of KatMouse available: 1.04

Quote from: KatMouse
Changes:
  • Compatibility changes (Vista, Office 2007, Photoshop, VMWare)
  • Wheel settings are restored when other software interferes
  • Scrolling with modifier keys (Shift, Control) works better now
  • Rare bug fixed


Get it: http://www.code-scout.net/katmouse/

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: KatMouse Query
« Reply #17 on: June 01, 2007, 04:54:37 AM »
Quote
• Wheel settings are restored when other software interferes
great! now the above problem will be a thing of the past.. :) going to d/l & try out.. thanks for the heads-up, Tuck. :up:

skywalka

  • Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 253
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: KatMouse Query
« Reply #18 on: August 12, 2007, 06:20:21 AM »
This thread has got me thinking about using the left mouse click like Adobe Reader's hand tool:
http://www.donationc...46.msg71600#msg71600