Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site July 31, 2014, 02:41:27 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Your Support Funds this Site: View the Supporter Yearbook.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Can DimSaver become DimScreen?  (Read 27097 times)
CodeTRUCKER
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,027



Bush Flying... where I'd rather be.

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: January 15, 2007, 03:15:52 AM »

It would really be nifty to get same dimming function in DimSaver and apply it to the screen while I am *using* my computer.
« Last Edit: December 08, 2009, 08:19:43 PM by CodeTRUCKER » Logged

I applaud those that refuse to commit "intellectual suicide."

Truth, unlike opinion, tradition, etc. will always be able to stand on its own.  Truth is not a static, but a living entity and will perpetually impart life; therefore, any "truth" that does not or can not impart life can not be Truth.

I am persuaded the only reason bad men have succeeded is not because good men have done nothing, but that good men did not do enough.

An Open Letter to My Friends


Notice: - Unless stated otherwise, I receive no compensation for anything I post here.
brotherS
Master of Good Ideas
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,105


To make a difference, be different.

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2007, 03:34:16 AM »

I'd already be happy to have a DimSaver version that would run perfectly, without any glitches embarassed
Logged

Thank you.
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2007, 11:40:13 AM »

 smiley Have you tried VoluMouse from http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/volumouse.html? It will let you change the brightness of your screen by rolling the mouse wheel over the taskbar. You can't go pitch black, but it might be good enough.

Skrommel
Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
CodeTRUCKER
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,027



Bush Flying... where I'd rather be.

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2007, 01:33:22 PM »

Thanks, Skrommel.  Yes, I tried it (Thanks for the link), but it didn't really give me what I was after.
« Last Edit: December 08, 2009, 08:21:10 PM by CodeTRUCKER » Logged

I applaud those that refuse to commit "intellectual suicide."

Truth, unlike opinion, tradition, etc. will always be able to stand on its own.  Truth is not a static, but a living entity and will perpetually impart life; therefore, any "truth" that does not or can not impart life can not be Truth.

I am persuaded the only reason bad men have succeeded is not because good men have done nothing, but that good men did not do enough.

An Open Letter to My Friends


Notice: - Unless stated otherwise, I receive no compensation for anything I post here.
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2007, 05:24:33 PM »

 smiley Try this one.

DimScreen - Dim the whole screen.

Features:
- Change the brightness by selecting a % in the tray menu.
- Doesn't work properly with video windows.



You'll find the downloads and more info at 1 Hour Software by Skrommel.

It's far from perfect, slowing things down, and things are popping through, but it could work for example in night time navigation apps.

Skrommel
« Last Edit: January 15, 2007, 05:30:57 PM by skrommel » Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
CodeTRUCKER
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,027



Bush Flying... where I'd rather be.

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2007, 05:55:08 PM »

Well, we are closer, but not there yet. 
« Last Edit: December 08, 2009, 08:23:33 PM by CodeTRUCKER » Logged

I applaud those that refuse to commit "intellectual suicide."

Truth, unlike opinion, tradition, etc. will always be able to stand on its own.  Truth is not a static, but a living entity and will perpetually impart life; therefore, any "truth" that does not or can not impart life can not be Truth.

I am persuaded the only reason bad men have succeeded is not because good men have done nothing, but that good men did not do enough.

An Open Letter to My Friends


Notice: - Unless stated otherwise, I receive no compensation for anything I post here.
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: January 15, 2007, 06:41:47 PM »

 smiley I can make DimScreen keep more always on top windows under wraps, but they tend to flash instead of just showing through, so I chose this solution.

I guess I could cut holes above purple squares to make it work with videos, too, but I think a "change the monitor brightness" is a better solution to the whole problem.

Skrommel
« Last Edit: January 15, 2007, 06:45:51 PM by skrommel » Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
CodeTRUCKER
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,027



Bush Flying... where I'd rather be.

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: January 15, 2007, 07:34:21 PM »

Thanks.  I realize there are some limitations you have to work around.  I do appreciate it and it *does* work for my needs!
« Last Edit: December 08, 2009, 08:22:42 PM by CodeTRUCKER » Logged

I applaud those that refuse to commit "intellectual suicide."

Truth, unlike opinion, tradition, etc. will always be able to stand on its own.  Truth is not a static, but a living entity and will perpetually impart life; therefore, any "truth" that does not or can not impart life can not be Truth.

I am persuaded the only reason bad men have succeeded is not because good men have done nothing, but that good men did not do enough.

An Open Letter to My Friends


Notice: - Unless stated otherwise, I receive no compensation for anything I post here.
HuBa
Participant
*
Posts: 1


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: May 25, 2007, 05:50:45 PM »

There is a similar freeware app: ShadeNow
It acts like a screensaver and allows you to adjust shading by mouse wheel.
Logged
godfor101
Participant
*
Posts: 1

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: March 19, 2008, 04:02:43 AM »

is that anyway to make changing the brightness up/down with a keyboard shortcut?
Thanks
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,087



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: November 20, 2008, 11:55:48 PM »

found this nice write-up about DimScreen here. Thmbsup


http://www.nirmaltv.com/2...using-dimscreen-freeware/
Logged

chrome_slinky
Participant
*
Posts: 1

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: January 25, 2009, 09:14:39 PM »

I was using this for a short time last year, but the AVG antivirus program was showing it as virus infected. I know it is not infected, but I haven't been able to convince AVG (at least enough to get the application to stop disallowing the use)

Can you do something? There was another small utility you wrote that came up the same way- can't remember, but it seems to be a trend.
Logged
Deozaan
Charter Member
***
Posts: 6,270



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: January 25, 2009, 09:18:51 PM »

Anti-virus programs have a habit of marking Auto Hot Key (AHK) scripts as viruses. We've also been trying to think of how to get them to stop it for a long time.

See this thread for more info: It's time to do something about these AutoHotkey antivirus false positives.
Logged

hozozco
Participant
*
Posts: 2

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: February 11, 2010, 02:43:58 AM »

Hi

My daughter has Achromatopsia.  It's a a rare recessive genetic condition (1 in 33,000) that renders her legally blind and with extreme light sensitivity.

My daughter is only 21 months, so she's a little young to start using a PC.  She's fascinated by the keyboard but found my 19" CRT far too bright.

I installed your program today and she could read all the letters and numbers.  I had notepad cranked up to 160 font-size and the darkness to 90%.

Is it possible to get a version that goes darker?  Believe it or not 90% is still very bright for my daughter.

Thank you for this wonderful programme.

-hozozco
Logged
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,021



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: February 11, 2010, 03:07:52 AM »

You can set the startup value under the application's options to whatever value you would like i.e. it doesn't have to be a multiple of ten.  So, with a bit of trial and error, you should be able to find which value between 91 and 99 your daughter can work with.  If this isn't workable, I can see about modifying the code for you.
Logged

hozozco
Participant
*
Posts: 2

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: February 11, 2010, 04:23:50 AM »

Hi skwire

I didn't think that appeared to work.  If I put in 53% for example and then stop the programme (right-click Exit), when I re-start the programme it's at 50%.

Am I doing something wrong?

If I could change the brightness in increments of 1% 'on the fly' that would be awesome.

I must confess, I'm an ex-VB programmer (mostly 6.0, but some .NET when it was in Beta 1 and Beta 2) so I should tackle the project myself.  Life's a bit full-on since the daughter arrived and I don't seem to find much time.

If you make the mod for me I'd be very grateful (and donate too).  I must introduce this to the rest of the Achromat community.  There is probably a commercial product that does this, but as 'donationware' this is pretty neat.

Thanks

- hozozco
Logged
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,021



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: February 11, 2010, 04:52:27 AM »

Here you go:  http://skwire.dcmembers.c...s/snacks/DimScreenMod.zip

Changes:

  • Took out percentage tray menu.  Application is run strictly via hotkeys now.
  • Changed code so dim setting runs from 0-99.
  • Added tooltip showing current dim setting.
  • Startup dim setting can be any value between 0-99.
Logged

joeche
Participant
*
Posts: 1

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: February 19, 2010, 10:39:12 AM »

any chance this could be tweaked to turn the screen grayscale as well?

thanks

joe
Logged
nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #18 on: April 16, 2010, 08:50:14 AM »

Is it possible to modify DimScreen so that it works on multi-monitor setups?

I'd find it extremely useful if i could dim my peripheral screens whilst i am not working on them, i.e. not typining or clicking. The idea would be that they "undim" when they receive mouse/keyboard input. so, a bit like a screensaver but only for my side monitors.

(hope you see this here skwire. i may make a fresh post for a snack request if not.)
Logged
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,021



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #19 on: April 16, 2010, 11:50:02 AM »

(hope you see this here skwire. i may make a fresh post for a snack request if not.)

Let me see what I can do...
Logged

skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,021



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #20 on: April 16, 2010, 12:43:47 PM »

nudone, try this:  DimScreenMod

Changes:

  • Multiple monitor support.
Logged

AdamK
Participant
*
Posts: 1

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #21 on: March 21, 2011, 08:54:46 AM »

wow DimScreen works great here on dual monitor desktop, thanx for it! :-))

buw why it now works from 0..1..2..3-100% ?? i would prefer just 10 settings that everyone can set up.. i need something like 50%, 75% and 100% and i use ctrl-alt-+/- to control.

something like: "if already 0% and press-agin" then "vesa mode -> monitors off/stand-by" would be great too. i use a other tool called "mon_off.exe" for this but it prompts everytime a checkbox first....

or a command-line option for dimscreen?? smiley "dimscreen.exe /off" .. ? i would like "dimscreen.exe /50" for 50% too smiley..

bye, adam
Logged
idiot shitfucker
Participant
*
Posts: 1

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #22 on: February 13, 2012, 09:40:14 AM »

Does this thing actually save battery life or does it just sort of put a translucent black box over the screen?
Logged
webdude
Participant
*
Posts: 2

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #23 on: January 17, 2013, 02:19:28 PM »

Is there anyway to dim the task bar items and the windows menues after you click on them?  This is a pretty cool utility.
Logged
webdude
Participant
*
Posts: 2

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #24 on: January 22, 2013, 09:30:44 AM »

More...  The dim screen dims most of the desktop but not the taskbar or menu items like when you click on the file, edit, view favorites tools or help menu from internet explorer.  so I end up getting a bright menu that flies out all the time.  Also when I hit the alt tab to swich screens I get the bright screen.

Webdude
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.05s | Server load: 0.13 ]