Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 03, 2015, 01:49:55 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Can DimSaver become DimScreen?  (Read 32466 times)

CodeTRUCKER

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,032
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Can DimSaver become DimScreen?
« on: January 15, 2007, 03:15:52 AM »
It would really be nifty to get same dimming function in DimSaver and apply it to the screen while I am *using* my computer.
« Last Edit: December 08, 2009, 08:19:43 PM by CodeTRUCKER »

brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,122
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can DimSaver become DimScreen?
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2007, 03:34:16 AM »
I'd already be happy to have a DimSaver version that would run perfectly, without any glitches :-[

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can DimSaver become DimScreen?
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2007, 11:40:13 AM »
 :) Have you tried VoluMouse from http://www.nirsoft.n...utils/volumouse.html? It will let you change the brightness of your screen by rolling the mouse wheel over the taskbar. You can't go pitch black, but it might be good enough.

Skrommel
Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.

CodeTRUCKER

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,032
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can DimSaver become DimScreen?
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2007, 01:33:22 PM »
Thanks, Skrommel.  Yes, I tried it (Thanks for the link), but it didn't really give me what I was after.
« Last Edit: December 08, 2009, 08:21:10 PM by CodeTRUCKER »

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can DimSaver become DimScreen?
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2007, 05:24:33 PM »
 :) Try this one.

DimScreen - Dim the whole screen.

Features:
- Change the brightness by selecting a % in the tray menu.
- Doesn't work properly with video windows.



You'll find the downloads and more info at 1 Hour Software by Skrommel.

It's far from perfect, slowing things down, and things are popping through, but it could work for example in night time navigation apps.

Skrommel
Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2007, 05:30:57 PM by skrommel »

CodeTRUCKER

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,032
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can DimSaver become DimScreen?
« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2007, 05:55:08 PM »
Well, we are closer, but not there yet. 
« Last Edit: December 08, 2009, 08:23:33 PM by CodeTRUCKER »

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can DimSaver become DimScreen?
« Reply #6 on: January 15, 2007, 06:41:47 PM »
 :) I can make DimScreen keep more always on top windows under wraps, but they tend to flash instead of just showing through, so I chose this solution.

I guess I could cut holes above purple squares to make it work with videos, too, but I think a "change the monitor brightness" is a better solution to the whole problem.

Skrommel
Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2007, 06:45:51 PM by skrommel »

CodeTRUCKER

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,032
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can DimSaver become DimScreen?
« Reply #7 on: January 15, 2007, 07:34:21 PM »
Thanks.  I realize there are some limitations you have to work around.  I do appreciate it and it *does* work for my needs!
« Last Edit: December 08, 2009, 08:22:42 PM by CodeTRUCKER »

HuBa

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can DimSaver become DimScreen?
« Reply #8 on: May 25, 2007, 05:50:45 PM »
There is a similar freeware app: ShadeNow
It acts like a screensaver and allows you to adjust shading by mouse wheel.

godfor101

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can DimSaver become DimScreen?
« Reply #9 on: March 19, 2008, 04:02:43 AM »
is that anyway to make changing the brightness up/down with a keyboard shortcut?
Thanks

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can DimSaver become DimScreen?
« Reply #10 on: November 20, 2008, 11:55:48 PM »
found this nice write-up about DimScreen here. :Thmbsup:

ws-dimscreen-1.png
http://www.nirmaltv....-dimscreen-freeware/

chrome_slinky

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2005
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can DimSaver become DimScreen?
« Reply #11 on: January 25, 2009, 09:14:39 PM »
I was using this for a short time last year, but the AVG antivirus program was showing it as virus infected. I know it is not infected, but I haven't been able to convince AVG (at least enough to get the application to stop disallowing the use)

Can you do something? There was another small utility you wrote that came up the same way- can't remember, but it seems to be a trend.

Deozaan

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 7,050
    • View Profile
    • Just for mouser.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can DimSaver become DimScreen?
« Reply #12 on: January 25, 2009, 09:18:51 PM »
Anti-virus programs have a habit of marking Auto Hot Key (AHK) scripts as viruses. We've also been trying to think of how to get them to stop it for a long time.

See this thread for more info: It's time to do something about these AutoHotkey antivirus false positives.


hozozco

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can DimSaver become DimScreen?
« Reply #13 on: February 11, 2010, 02:43:58 AM »
Hi

My daughter has Achromatopsia.  It's a a rare recessive genetic condition (1 in 33,000) that renders her legally blind and with extreme light sensitivity.

My daughter is only 21 months, so she's a little young to start using a PC.  She's fascinated by the keyboard but found my 19" CRT far too bright.

I installed your program today and she could read all the letters and numbers.  I had notepad cranked up to 160 font-size and the darkness to 90%.

Is it possible to get a version that goes darker?  Believe it or not 90% is still very bright for my daughter.

Thank you for this wonderful programme.

-hozozco

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,393
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can DimSaver become DimScreen?
« Reply #14 on: February 11, 2010, 03:07:52 AM »
You can set the startup value under the application's options to whatever value you would like i.e. it doesn't have to be a multiple of ten.  So, with a bit of trial and error, you should be able to find which value between 91 and 99 your daughter can work with.  If this isn't workable, I can see about modifying the code for you.

hozozco

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can DimSaver become DimScreen?
« Reply #15 on: February 11, 2010, 04:23:50 AM »
Hi skwire

I didn't think that appeared to work.  If I put in 53% for example and then stop the programme (right-click Exit), when I re-start the programme it's at 50%.

Am I doing something wrong?

If I could change the brightness in increments of 1% 'on the fly' that would be awesome.

I must confess, I'm an ex-VB programmer (mostly 6.0, but some .NET when it was in Beta 1 and Beta 2) so I should tackle the project myself.  Life's a bit full-on since the daughter arrived and I don't seem to find much time.

If you make the mod for me I'd be very grateful (and donate too).  I must introduce this to the rest of the Achromat community.  There is probably a commercial product that does this, but as 'donationware' this is pretty neat.

Thanks

- hozozco

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,393
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can DimSaver become DimScreen?
« Reply #16 on: February 11, 2010, 04:52:27 AM »
Here you go:  http://skwire.dcmemb...cks/DimScreenMod.zip

Changes:

  • Took out percentage tray menu.  Application is run strictly via hotkeys now.
  • Changed code so dim setting runs from 0-99.
  • Added tooltip showing current dim setting.
  • Startup dim setting can be any value between 0-99.

joeche

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can DimSaver become DimScreen?
« Reply #17 on: February 19, 2010, 10:39:12 AM »
any chance this could be tweaked to turn the screen grayscale as well?

thanks

joe

nudone

  • Cody's Creator
  • Columnist
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 4,117
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can DimSaver become DimScreen?
« Reply #18 on: April 16, 2010, 08:50:14 AM »
Is it possible to modify DimScreen so that it works on multi-monitor setups?

I'd find it extremely useful if i could dim my peripheral screens whilst i am not working on them, i.e. not typining or clicking. The idea would be that they "undim" when they receive mouse/keyboard input. so, a bit like a screensaver but only for my side monitors.

(hope you see this here skwire. i may make a fresh post for a snack request if not.)

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,393
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can DimSaver become DimScreen?
« Reply #19 on: April 16, 2010, 11:50:02 AM »
(hope you see this here skwire. i may make a fresh post for a snack request if not.)

Let me see what I can do...

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,393
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can DimSaver become DimScreen?
« Reply #20 on: April 16, 2010, 12:43:47 PM »
nudone, try this:  DimScreenMod

Changes:

  • Multiple monitor support.

AdamK

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can DimSaver become DimScreen?
« Reply #21 on: March 21, 2011, 08:54:46 AM »
wow DimScreen works great here on dual monitor desktop, thanx for it! :-))

buw why it now works from 0..1..2..3-100% ?? i would prefer just 10 settings that everyone can set up.. i need something like 50%, 75% and 100% and i use ctrl-alt-+/- to control.

something like: "if already 0% and press-agin" then "vesa mode -> monitors off/stand-by" would be great too. i use a other tool called "mon_off.exe" for this but it prompts everytime a checkbox first....

or a command-line option for dimscreen?? :) "dimscreen.exe /off" .. ? i would like "dimscreen.exe /50" for 50% too :)..

bye, adam

idiot shitfucker

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can DimSaver become DimScreen?
« Reply #22 on: February 13, 2012, 09:40:14 AM »
Does this thing actually save battery life or does it just sort of put a translucent black box over the screen?

webdude

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2013
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can DimSaver become DimScreen?
« Reply #23 on: January 17, 2013, 02:19:28 PM »
Is there anyway to dim the task bar items and the windows menues after you click on them?  This is a pretty cool utility.

webdude

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2013
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can DimSaver become DimScreen?
« Reply #24 on: January 22, 2013, 09:30:44 AM »
More...  The dim screen dims most of the desktop but not the taskbar or menu items like when you click on the file, edit, view favorites tools or help menu from internet explorer.  so I end up getting a bright menu that flies out all the time.  Also when I hit the alt tab to swich screens I get the bright screen.

Webdude