Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 28, 2016, 10:26:09 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Overlapping grids?  (Read 570 times)

Exist2Resist

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2015
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Overlapping grids?
« on: October 27, 2015, 02:36:59 AM »
Great program, read the tutorial today on creating grids and in a matter of 10 minutes I had the grid I wanted working in my eyefinity setup.
Now that I have the basics working I'd like to expand on that. I have a couple questions.

One, are overlapping grids possible?
Right now I have one monitor split into 3 even grids. Res is 5760x1200, this gives me 3 individual grids of 1920x1200.
What I want to do is add two more grids on the outer monitors, split the monitors further giving me 3 grids on the outer monitors one the full resolution or 1920x1200 and two additional ones of 960x1200.

Two, is it possible to trigger a grid on a specific edge only?
So the plan is if I move a window to the side edge it will fill the entire 1920x1200 resolution, however if I move a window to the top edge depending on which half of the monitor area it will be it will size the windows to 960x1200 on that half of the screen.

Here is a rough sketch of what I'm trying to accomplish. GridMove.pngOverlapping grids?
Note the red Grids and how they overlap. I have grids 1 -3 but I don't know how to accomplish the overlapping red grids 4-7 that I want.

If the answer is yes for both questions could someone link to an article/s that describe the above, or examples of the above?

Exist2Resist

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2015
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Overlapping grids?
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2015, 02:57:49 AM »
This is what I have so far.
[Groups]

NumberOfGroups = 7

[1]
GridTop    = [MonitorReal1Top]
GridBottom = [MonitorReal1Bottom]
GridLeft   = [MonitorReal1Left]
GridRight  = [MonitorReal1Left] + 1/3 * [Monitor1Width]

TriggerTop    = [MonitorReal1Top]
TriggerBottom = [MonitorReal1Bottom]
TriggerLeft   = [MonitorReal1Left]
TriggerRight  = [MonitorReal1Left] + 1/3 * [Monitor1Width]

[2]
GridTop    = [MonitorReal1Top]
GridBottom = [Monitor1Bottom]
GridLeft   = [MonitorReal1Left] + 1/3 * [Monitor1Width]
GridRight  = [MonitorReal1Left] + 2/3 * [Monitor1Width]

TriggerTop    = [MonitorReal1Top]
TriggerBottom = [Monitor1Bottom]
TriggerLeft   = [MonitorReal1Left] + 1/3 * [Monitor1Width]
TriggerRight  = [MonitorReal1Left] + 2/3 * [Monitor1Width]

[3]
GridTop    = [MonitorReal1Top]
GridBottom = [MonitorReal1Bottom]
GridLeft   = [MonitorReal1Left] + 2/3 * [Monitor1Width]
GridRight  = [MonitorReal1Right]

TriggerTop    = [MonitorReal1Top]
TriggerBottom = [MonitorReal1Bottom]
TriggerLeft   = [MonitorReal1Left] + 2/3 * [Monitor1Width]
TriggerRight  = [MonitorReal1Right]

[4]
GridTop    = [MonitorReal1Top]
GridBottom = [MonitorReal1Bottom]
GridLeft   = [MonitorReal1Left]
GridRight  = [MonitorReal1Right] + 1/6 * [Monitor1Width]

TriggerTop    = [MonitorReal1Top]
TriggerBottom = [MonitorReal1Bottom]
TriggerLeft   = [MonitorReal1Left]
TriggerRight  = [MonitorReal1Right] + 1/6 * [Monitor1Width]

[5]
GridTop    = [MonitorReal1Top]
GridBottom = [MonitorReal1Bottom]
GridLeft   = [MonitorReal1Left] + 1/6 * [Monitor1Width]
GridRight  = [MonitorReal1Right] + 2/6 * [Monitor1Width]

TriggerTop    = [MonitorReal1Top]
TriggerBottom = [MonitorReal1Bottom]
TriggerLeft   = [MonitorReal1Left] + 1/6 * [Monitor1Width]
TriggerRight  = [MonitorReal1Right] + 2/6 * [Monitor1Width]

[6]
GridTop    = [MonitorReal1Top]
GridBottom = [MonitorReal1Bottom]
GridLeft   = [MonitorReal1Left] + 4/6 * [Monitor1Width]
GridRight  = [MonitorReal1Right] + 5/6 * [Monitor1Width]

TriggerTop    = [MonitorReal1Top]
TriggerBottom = [MonitorReal1Bottom]
TriggerLeft   = [MonitorReal1Left] + 4/6 * [Monitor1Width]
TriggerRight  = [MonitorReal1Right] + 5/6 * [Monitor1Width]

[7]
GridTop    = [MonitorReal1Top]
GridBottom = [MonitorReal1Bottom]
GridLeft   = [MonitorReal1Left] + 5/6 * [Monitor1Width]
GridRight  = [MonitorReal1Right]

TriggerTop    = [MonitorReal1Top]
TriggerBottom = [MonitorReal1Bottom]
TriggerLeft   = [MonitorReal1Left] + 5/6 * [Monitor1Width]
TriggerRight  = [MonitorReal1Right]

Exist2Resist

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2015
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Overlapping grids?
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2015, 11:35:09 AM »
I figured it out, you can have overlapping Grids but I can not have overlapping trigger areas.
Also I have some mistakes in my grid file, that's what I get for trying to do this at 2 am.