Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 22, 2014, 01:22:50 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Your Support Funds this Site: View the Supporter Yearbook.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)  (Read 64375 times)
skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,113



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: March 02, 2011, 01:04:52 PM »

Name sWeather
Short Description Tray-based weather app featuring multiple location support.  Tray icons for conditions and temperature (optional).  Tray icons and images are customizable.  Weather data is provided by Yahoo! Weather.
Supported OSes Windows 7.  Probably works, but not tested, on Windows XP/Vista/8
Website http://skwire.dcmembers.com/fp/?page=sweather
Download Link Download
Author Jody Holmes - Skwire Empire





« Last Edit: October 01, 2014, 06:27:44 PM by skwire » Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,573



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2011, 10:19:46 AM »

Love it!  thumbs up
Logged
skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,113



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2011, 10:27:00 AM »

And, yes, Codyville is an actual city in Maine.  If Allen ever gets Cody sent to him...   tongue

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Codyville
Logged

cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,182



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2011, 03:03:58 PM »

Good name  Thmbsup
Logged

Chris
techidave
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 963


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2011, 03:19:07 PM »

Sweet!
Logged
Ath
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,232



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2011, 03:32:06 PM »

WOW!  Thmbsup

This is great. At first I thought, Hey, my Windows 7 has a gadget that does that, why would I need sWeather???

But, experimenting away a bit, and finding the WOEID (even very close to the place I live!) and now actually seeing all the extra info I don't get from the Windows gadget, I think I have to toss out that gadget. THIS IS MUCH BETTER! Kiss Kiss

(And it is quite chilly in Codyville atm, -9 C)
Logged

skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,113



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: March 03, 2011, 03:55:52 PM »

Thanks, folks.  smiley  The "s" is sWeather stands for "simple" so there are no plans to add extra stuff like alerts, maps, etc.  I want to keep this at one small dialog.  About the only thing I would increase the size of the main dialog for would be a small five-day forecast.  Unfortunately, Yahoo! do not include that data in the RSS feeds that power this app.

If anybody creates a new set of icons/images for this app, I'd be happy to include it in the zip.  Keep in mind that each part of sWeather's theme is separate so you don't have to create all three parts.  The three parts are:

  • Tray condition icons (ICO format)
  • Tray temperature icons (ICO format)
  • Popup condition images (PNG format)

You can find the condition codes here: http://developer.yahoo.com/weather/#codes

Study the contents of the /images folder and you'll get the idea; it's pretty simple.  If you use somebody else's images, please be sure to attain permission.  Thanks.
« Last Edit: March 14, 2011, 10:37:20 PM by skwire; Reason: Spelling error » Logged

Ath
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,232



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: March 03, 2011, 04:34:59 PM »

there are no plans to add extra stuff like alerts, maps, etc
There are just a few small things I'd like to ask, like an auto-refresh feature for the weather (or is it already there but the interval > 30 minutes?, a configuration setting would be nice) and a sort of non-offscreen check for the Options and About windows, as I've put the main window in the right-bottom of my screen (though that may change) and these other windows are half-invisible because they are placed relative to the main window.
Logged

skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,113



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: March 03, 2011, 04:40:44 PM »

There are just a few small things I'd like to ask, like an auto-refresh feature for the weather (or is it already there but the interval > 30 minutes?

I suppose I should mention this somewhere.  The interval is one hour since that's as often as Yahoo! Weather is updated.  That being said, there are two ways to force a refresh: switching locations & the tray menu.  I should add a refresh text on the main dialog, too, eh?  =]

a configuration setting would be nice) and a sort of non-offscreen check for the Options and About windows, as I've put the main window in the right-bottom of my screen (though that may change) and these other windows are half-invisible because they are placed relative to the main window.

I'll consider this.  =]
Logged

Ath
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,232



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: March 03, 2011, 04:48:14 PM »

Thanks, I have DcUpdater installed, so I should get it as soon after you release that smiley
Logged

kwacky1
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 178



i am Cody's cousin

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: March 04, 2011, 07:33:40 AM »

Nice one skwire (yet again  cheesy)

Unfortunately Yahoo Weather don't have weather for my part of the world*  Cry

*Note: The closest city to me in Yahoo Weather is a measly 60km away, however due to the difference in elevation  (~400m) it might as well be another world away.



Logged

skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,113



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: March 04, 2011, 07:54:57 AM »

Thanks, kwacky1.  Sorry to hear about the location issue.  Which weather service do you normally use?  I may change up sWeather to use weather.com or some other site.
Logged

hamradio
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 588



Amateur Radio Guy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: March 04, 2011, 11:31:17 AM »

Nice and also...

You could also probably make a National Weather Service version based on files located:

http://www.weather.gov/rss/

The "Observed Conditions" suggested pickup is 15 mins after the hour every hour according to the xml source for the one I looked at.
Logged

Carroll - HamRadioUSA
skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,113



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: March 07, 2011, 02:00:14 PM »

Website | Download
v1.0.2 - 2011-03-06
    + Added "Refresh data" functionality to the main form.
    * Changed next/previous controls from text to images.
Logged

PhilB66
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,510


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: March 07, 2011, 05:55:34 PM »

@skwire

Link to "Full forecast" does not work.

Logged
skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,113



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: March 07, 2011, 06:03:14 PM »

Would you mind PM'ing me your WOEID?
Logged

PhilB66
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,510


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: March 07, 2011, 06:06:02 PM »

Also, configuring sWeather to use metric units shows results in non-metric (Fahrenheit °F) scale and when this option left unchecked, the results are in metric units (Celsius °C).
Logged
PhilB66
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,510


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: March 07, 2011, 06:09:45 PM »

Would you mind PM'ing me your WOEID?

Does not work with other (non-US) locations. I tried Amsterdam, Hong Kong, Budapest, and Tokyo.
Logged
PhilB66
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,510


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #18 on: March 07, 2011, 06:18:29 PM »

Also, configuring sWeather to use metric units shows results in non-metric (Fahrenheit °F) scale and when this option left unchecked, the results are in metric units (Celsius °C).

Forget this. It works fine.  embarassed
Logged
skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,113



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #19 on: March 07, 2011, 08:08:30 PM »

Does not work with other (non-US) locations. I tried Amsterdam, Hong Kong, Budapest, and Tokyo.

Works fine for me with the one you provided via PM.  Do you not have a default browser set?
Logged

worstje
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 555



The Gent with the White Hat

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #20 on: March 08, 2011, 04:54:15 AM »

I got it to crash by adding my location and removing the standard location which was selected. After that, the Location menu showed both places checked, and by clicking around a bit on them I eventually got it to crash without managing to have it show the forecast for my location. On the other hand, all worked fine after the reboot, except for my location getting cut off on the main window which looks ugly.
Logged
PhilB66
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,510


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #21 on: March 08, 2011, 05:12:33 PM »

Does not work with other (non-US) locations. I tried Amsterdam, Hong Kong, Budapest, and Tokyo.

Works fine for me with the one you provided via PM.  Do you not have a default browser set?

You are correct. I use a few portable browsers, none set as a default.
Logged
skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,113



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #22 on: March 08, 2011, 07:29:20 PM »

You are correct. I use a few portable browsers, none set as a default.

I'll change the code so, at least, it doesn't error anymore.  However, that's still not going to make it work for you.
Logged

Ath
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,232



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #23 on: March 09, 2011, 01:29:58 AM »

Wouldn't using the Windows standard internet/proxy settings be the right way to go here? Some of the browsers (IE, Chrome) use these settings to connect to the internet as well, AFAIK.
Logged

Pattern-chaser
Participant
*
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #24 on: March 09, 2011, 05:41:10 AM »

I wonder why my installation of sWeather shows two tray icons? Is there a way to get just one? [Installed on a Vista PC.]
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.05s | Server load: 0.13 ]