ATTENTION: You are viewing a page formatted for mobile devices; to view the full web page, click HERE.

Main Area and Open Discussion > General Software Discussion

Windows Guy Tries Ubuntu

<< < (3/3)

f0dder:
I guess I should brush up my switch/comparison thingy that I never really finished... after all I have some years of linux experience, from my original purchase of redhat 5.1 across various levels of engagement with slackware, debian, gentoo, ubuntu, freebsd, archlinux et cetera.

I'm a power user and programmer (high- as well as low-level) on windows, and I've had my hands dirty enough with linux to set it up for ADSL routing (with two NICs, ipfilter, the works), encrypted root filesystems, etc...

Basically I don't see a reason to switch if the system is going to run slower and be more difficult for my daily use, etc. And that's been my experience so far. At least I've been able to fix the issues I've had (those that were fixable!), but would you expect a regular user (or even a power user?) to know to manually edit xorg.conf to get something as trivial as a dual-monitor setup t work?

I guess I should get back to that writing that thingamajig :)

housetier:
Look at it the other way: I am so used to they way X Windows works I am severly handicapped when I have to work with MS Windows. C&P jsut doesn't work as I am used to I have to install software to get virtual desktops/workspaces.

I understand everybody's trouble with linux. Linux akes trouble for them not because it is inerior, limited, or plain bad, but because it is different.

If you ain't happy with linux, don't use it! Fighting the OS is not productive.

mwang:
I've been using Linux for 3+years. Tried Redhat, Mandrake, Xandora and Ubuntuu before settling on Fedora. My server now runs Fedora 6.