topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Friday December 4, 2020, 8:07 am
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Syncovery - Pro or Premium Version?  (Read 509 times)

brahman

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Syncovery - Pro or Premium Version?
« on: October 28, 2020, 04:35 PM »
Hello,
I finally want to buy Syncovery.

I already described my major use case here:
https://www.donation...ex.php?topic=48520.0

So the question is: Pro or Premium?

The feature that caught my eye was Block Level Copying in the Premium version, apparently not part of the Pro version.

But I didn't fully understand the description. I am familiar with delta copying which was part of the old LapLink (what a great program that was!) or is also implemented in Rsync.

So my main question is: Would this Block Level Copying be useful to me? I plan to synch well over a Gigabyte with my two OneDrive accounts, so if it really would speed things significantly, it would be a blessing. A lot of the big files are videos, VeraCrypt containers, and Drive Snapshot disk images. However, except for the VeraCrypt containers, these file types do not change, it's more of an all or nothing deal.

So, what do yo think?

Would the Premium be worth the extra money?

Thanks for your input!

Regards, Brahman

Shades

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,734
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Syncovery - Pro or Premium Version?
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2020, 05:11 PM »
Block level copying - isn't that only useful when synchronizing between drives that are connected to one and the same computer? To my understanding, a block is the size unit the hardware on a drive uses to determine how much data can actually be stored by the file system your Operating System of choice uses.

Block level copying usually means that the content from one drive is copied block by block. No matter if the file system has any data stored in a block or not, all blocks are copied to the destination drive. This way you get an exact copy of the source drive. A useful way of copying things in case there is a need to audit a drive, so you can do all your poking and prodding on the copy and leave the original drive (and its content) completely intact.

Also handy for when you need to salvage as much data as you can from a broken drive. Or retrieve data from a drive from which accidentally files are removed. Not messing up the content from the original drive, allows you to retry if you make a mistake on the copied data.

Buy the Pro version if you don't envision yourself doing any of the stuff I mention above now or in the future. Getting Premium might still be interesting, if there are more features unlocked, which you like. But for Block level copy alone, I wouldn't.

wraith808

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 10,752
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Syncovery - Pro or Premium Version?
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2020, 06:42 PM »
i have pro, and I documented my use case in that same thread.  I haven't had any problems syncing to my external or my NAS

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 11,735
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Syncovery - Pro or Premium Version?
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2020, 07:00 PM »
In that older thread, there's a link to the comparison feature matrix. Block- level copying is in pro as well. Have a close/r look at the couple of things only in premium, you probably won't need them.

@Shades the term block level copying is often used by backup programmes to mean only the changed blocks will be copied, thus saving bandwidth and time.
Tom

wraith808

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 10,752
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Syncovery - Pro or Premium Version?
« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2020, 07:16 PM »

brahman

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Syncovery - Pro or Premium Version?
« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2020, 08:11 PM »
Ah, yes I got confused by this page:
https://www.syncover...cgi?co=wo&step=2

where it says:
"File System Monitoring Service (for faster Block Level Copying)"

So, I guess I will go for the Pro version. I don't like real-time monitoring services on my PC anyway.

Thanks for your help!
Regards, Brahman

wraith808

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 10,752
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Syncovery - Pro or Premium Version?
« Reply #6 on: October 28, 2020, 09:39 PM »
I don't like real-time monitoring services on my PC anyway.

Pro does include the real time monitoring.  I'm not sure what the difference in that is- perhaps that it is a separate service?

brahman

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Syncovery - Pro or Premium Version?
« Reply #7 on: October 29, 2020, 03:12 PM »
Really!?

I cannot find it in the matrix for Pro. Where did you see it?
Regards, Brahman

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 11,735
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Syncovery - Pro or Premium Version?
« Reply #8 on: October 29, 2020, 07:14 PM »
Really!?

I cannot find it in the matrix for Pro. Where did you see it?
do a search for "real-time" on the page and you'll find it
Tom

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 11,735
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Syncovery - Pro or Premium Version?
« Reply #9 on: October 29, 2020, 07:16 PM »
Pro does include the real time monitoring.  I'm not sure what the difference in that is- perhaps that it is a separate service?
iirc the service works even if the program (in the tray) is closed.
It used be in the pro version till they created the premium.
Tom