ATTENTION: You are viewing a page formatted for mobile devices; to view the full web page, click HERE.

Other Software > Developer's Corner

Brainstorm for a cross-platform programming language

<< < (2/2)

KodeZwerg:
Hi, RAD Studio (Delphi) is a language wich can compile for all major platforms, but only accepts C++ or Pascal format.
Visual Code might also do what you wrote.

Cheers

Deozaan:
So, don't take my last post the wrong way. I don't mean to suggest that you shouldn't proceed with the idea. The idea sounds interesting and probably useful. It also sounds like a lot of work.

Either way, I'm not an expert enough programmer to be of any use on this particular project, so I'll likely not say much else in this thread. That said, I'll likely be watching with interest. :Thmbsup:

publicdomain:
Hello, good day & many thanks to all of you -fine posters- for the input!

This brainstorming thread has a worthy purpose as we're going to have such a "pdCode" project made a reality!

Chances are this very year 2020 2021 we can reach v0.1.0 with initial/useful functionality.

So, don't take my last post the wrong way.
-Deozaan (January 22, 2020, 04:03 AM)
--- End quote ---

Rest assured it is only taken lightheartedly!

We are simply aiming at becoming useful to those who support our ways. The internet world is large enough for everybody to express freely :)

If nothing more, it can be a way for our public domain releases to remain current over time by reaching the "valid platforms of the day" via truly-native executables coming from the same code base.

...Even one (1) happy user beyond that and it's a win!

Functions and objects would be modeled largely after Microsoft's dotnet framework technology.