topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Friday March 29, 2024, 4:47 am
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Screenshot Captor from Visual Basic?  (Read 5405 times)

gulfaerospace

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2019
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Screenshot Captor from Visual Basic?
« on: August 23, 2019, 10:53 AM »
Is there a way to automate Screenshot Captor from visual basic?

Thanks.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,896
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor from Visual Basic?
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2019, 11:28 AM »
In the Screenshot Captor help file you'll find a section on Commandline use and options.

But you might also check out the littler brother of Screenshot Captor called MiniCap, which is a smaller commandline tool designed to be invoked from other programs:
https://www.donation...popular-apps/minicap

gulfaerospace

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2019
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor from Visual Basic?
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2019, 02:32 PM »
I'm sorry, but this does not seem to answer my question.

Visual Basic. My question is about triggering a screen capture from Microsoft Access. Microsoft Access supports Visual Basic.

Not sure how a command line option can help. I'm not trying to start SC in some unique mode. SC is already running and I would like to create a button in Access that executes Visual Basic command(s) to trigger a screen capture.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,896
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor from Visual Basic?
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2019, 03:04 PM »
Invoking Screenshot Captor from the commandline will not create a new instance of Screenshot Captor -- it will instead direct the currently running copy to perform a capture.
So you can invoke it from Visual Basic by launching it with commandline options.

So try from visual basic executing something (with Shell command?) like
C:\Program Files (x86)\ScreenshotCaptor\ScreenshotCaptor.exe -capture workspace

wraith808

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 11,186
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor from Visual Basic?
« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2019, 03:10 PM »
Code: Visual Basic [Select]
  1. Dim RetVal
  2. RetVal = Shell("C:\Program Files (x86)\ScreenshotCaptor\ScreenshotCaptor.exe -capture workspace", 1)

gulfaerospace

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2019
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor from Visual Basic?
« Reply #5 on: September 03, 2019, 12:35 PM »
Well, that works. It's strangely slow however.

But I appreciate you both taking the time to show me that.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,896
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor from Visual Basic?
« Reply #6 on: September 03, 2019, 01:00 PM »
In terms of speed.. I wonder if it's worth adding a way to send a message more directly to the running Screenshot Captor process..

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 3,612
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor from Visual Basic?
« Reply #7 on: September 03, 2019, 01:08 PM »
But you might also check out the littler brother of Screenshot Captor called MiniCap, which is a smaller commandline tool designed to be invoked from other programs:
https://www.donation...popular-apps/minicap
You suggested MiniCap before, wouldn't that be a quicker start&capture than the full ScreenshotCaptor executable?