topbanner_forum

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Thursday March 28, 2024, 6:25 pm
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Tips/primer for new or lazy grid writers. Bonus:unanswered technical questions.  (Read 5530 times)

macst34

• Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • default avatar
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Hi Folks,

I thought I'd share some thoughts and tips on coding your first .grid.

There is an excellent topic by Tyinsar which covers coding grids in depth. I highly recommend this topic.
That being said, as a coder, I rarely read documentation from end to end and only reference when needed.

The quickest way to get a grid working is to find a grid similar to what you want. You are thinking I'll start simple with a simple two window grid (2 Part-Vertical.grid) and add what I want. You open the file to find it has 9 groups! Groups mean target areas. There are 9 in this config because it accounts for 3 monitors. Each monitor only has 3 groups. Figure out which monitor you want to work on and note the gridmove monitor number.

Each group has a trigger area. You gotta move your window to this area to trigger this. If nothing else is defined, your window is placed/resized as the size of the trigger area.

The cool and fun part is that you can have a target placement different from the trigger area. Some people have taken this to make a whole bunch of small triggers which translate to different windows. One example of this is Good Griddance.grid

When you start to edit your triggers, be sure to turn on the right click options "show grid" + "show numbers on grid". The numbers displayed correspond to the groups defined in the .grid file.

I like my triggers to be in this format :
  TriggerTop    =