topbanner_forum

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Tuesday March 19, 2024, 6:47 am
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: WPM in real time with logging?  (Read 6602 times)

PaulNcAlsen

• Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • default avatar
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
WPM in real time with logging?
« on: April 18, 2015, 05:02 PM »
As an author, I would like to have something I can run in the background, that does the following:
(The link for typingradar, in an old thread, is a dead one.)

Word by word WPM.
WPM displayed as a scalable graph.
Ability to set beginning and ending points for interval WPM calculations.
Logging of word by word WPM stats.
User defined repeating interval timer.  (ex: 1 min intervals to generate a log of stats for listing or a graphical display.  Set, activate, and ignore until I stop it.)

Probably other bells and whistles possible, but the above are the main basics I need.

The two I did find and try were... Useless.  One tracked and gave an average over time, which I can do easily with simple calulations.  It did have a speedometer but I couldn't focus on it because I am not a true touch typist and doing so takes me out of the flow of my writing.  Best I could do was catch glimpses of the needle as it spun down to zero.

The other one was a simple start and stop logger that generated an average.  It also counted wrong, giving me a WPM that was well over two times the WPM I arrived at by hand calculating it.

Names:  Typing master trial version   Words per Minute Counter Software.  Already uninstalled.