ATTENTION: You are viewing a page formatted for mobile devices; to view the full web page, click HERE.

Main Area and Open Discussion > General Software Discussion

Need a simple chat system for small website prefer to host internally no frills

<< < (3/3)

questorfla:
Many thanks again.  I am an old school hardware Tech.  I'm good at what I do but only passable at the rest.  COBOL was my last serious attempt at programming and as soon as I start seeing the end ahead on HTML4 they change to HTML5.  I am already about to go nuts trying to figure out why Firefox can no longer draw a straight line.  The same coding that aligned the site modules before still works on IE10 or even Chrome.  But Firefox looks like a drunk driver at the wheel
One thing that I may not be making clear is that this IS a site where they would probably want the chat on every page.  that is the whole purpose of it is to discuss the merits of specific documents and it is a committee of people who will be there and Only them.  The ability to discuss the merits or lack thereof on any plan is going to either get done right then or done from notes taken and whatever they remember about it later.  I just need to read a bit and try your suggestions  I think this is going to work this time

questorfla:
Oh well.  I know what I think is wrong I just do not know how to fix it.
<a href="path-to-chat-script-folder/index.php" target="_blank">Click here to chat </a> I put in the exact spot where you click to go to chat,
click it and the transfer works flawlessly,  Always does.  But the Go back to the regular page tro keep reading part just does npt have a corresponding outlet from the chat.  The only way ut that I can find (unless I add one) is to close the page. (ie; close the browser,)
shame  I cannot simply minimize it that would solve everything,  the program itself simply opens a file called chat.html.  it seems that here should be  a way to open to minimized or any thing but full screen.