topbanner_forum

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Friday March 29, 2024, 8:20 am
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Program Files or Program Files (x86)?  (Read 6062 times)

Curt

• Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Program Files or Program Files (x86)?
« on: March 08, 2012, 10:16 AM »
Intro:
I am new to 64-bit Windows 7. I am also new to Waterfox, which is a 64-bit-only version of Firefox. I don't have Firefox installed. One of my favourite programs is Bulk Image Downloader [BID] which usually integrates with Firefox. But trying to make it work with Waterfox has made me realize some problems:

Problem:
Some of my program have installed into C:/Program Files/, while others have installed into C:/Program Files (x86)/ - and they cannot figure out how to work together!

Question:
Should they all install into "...(x86)", or is it normal that they install into two different directories?  :tellme:

When I first noticed the two installation places, I thought it was something like "oh, 32-bit programs goes into "Program Folders", and 64-bit programs will go into "Program Folders (x86)", but now I am in doubt, because they don't work as they should. As an example, the named "BID" has an extension for Firefox, but the extension cannot find the mother-program, probably because they are localized in two different directories.

Is it normal with this kind of problems on 64-bit?  :-\
« Last Edit: March 08, 2012, 10:28 AM by Curt »

Ath

• Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Program Files or Program Files (x86)?
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2012, 10:32 AM »
Quite simple:

64 bit software should go into the "Program Files" folder.