topbanner_forum

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Thursday March 28, 2024, 8:51 pm
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Anti-Virus that allows EASY reporting of false positives ?  (Read 4259 times)

tomos

• Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
I'm looking for an anti-virus that allows easy reporting of false positives.

I've been using MSE anti-virus for a couple of months now. It's been very quiet until recently when it decided that the source code of GridMove was a Trojan or something.
Those details aren't important - what is important is that I was not given a choice to easily remove this from the "threatened with quarantine" list - I added it to the exclusion list but I had to wait till I rebooted before the tray icon went from red, for danger, to green. I dont see any way of reporting false-positives - maybe the "spynet" option would work but the idea is not mentioned there either...

My previous AV was Avira, the paid version - this has a very good reputation - at the expense of being a bit enthusiastic, i.e. more false-positives. This would be fine if they made it easier to report them, but they dont. I started four threads in their forum on the subject and there was zero interest in changing how things worked - they were happy to take the details per forum post or per PM - but to me that's not the way to go (there were other routes that also worked in a roundabout manner). I want ease of use (not just for me naturally - I want to be able to take advantage of everybody else's easily reported false-positive reports)