topbanner_forum

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Thursday March 28, 2024, 1:51 pm
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Linux vs. Vista for an absolute beginner? (+related Vista/hardware query)  (Read 16467 times)

tomos

• Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Two and a half questions ... sort of :)

1) How would Linux ("Linpus" it's called) be for an absolute beginner (more or less) as compared to Vista

2) Would the specs of laptop below be comfortable with Vista (VHB) for basic use ?

3) there's also the aspect that I'll get called on if there's a problem - while I might cope with Vista, I've never used Linux so have no idea how that might be

they want to buy this - they dont even know (or understand) about the Linux option yet
-
Acer Extensa 5230E-581G16 CM585 1GB 160GB 15.4" WXGA non-glare TFT
Celeron-M 585 2.16GHz
1024MB Speicher
160GB Festplatte
DVD+/-RW DL
Intel GMA X4500HD (IGP) max.1759MB shared memory
USB 2.0/Modem/Gb LAN/WLAN 802.11bg
PCMCIA Typ II und ExpressCard/54 Slot
Card Reader
15.4" WXGA non-glare TFT (1280x800)
Windows Vista Home Basic
-
Seems like a good deal for just over €400 but I'm afraid Vista might be too much for this machine?
so another option would be
-
Acer Extensa 5230-571G16_Linux
15,4 Zoll WXGA Notebook
Intel Celeron M575 2,0GHz,
1GB RAM,
160GB HDD,
Intel GMA 4500MHD,
DVD +/-RW DL,
Linux (Linpus)
-
for €70 cheaper

Considering I'm the person who'll be helping them out in times of trouble but also with learning word-processing and internets
and keeping in mind I'm no expert in windows but generally just research if there's a problem.