topbanner_forum

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Tuesday March 19, 2024, 3:59 am
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: New duplicate audio files finder... I am open to features suggestion  (Read 5547 times)

AsmDev

• Joined in 2006
    • View Profile
    • DupeTrasher's Author
    • Donate to Member
Hello DC Users,

For me as a developer, I feel it is always good thing to ask users what they would like to see in an application before it is even released. So I am starting this thread, a similar to the one I did for DupeTrasher earlier this year here.

I am in the process of developing a new piece of software similar to my DupeTrasher duplicate file finder but this time a new app will be specialized for audio files only. Similarly, to the duplicate photo finders, this software should be able to find duplicate and similar audio files by comparing audio data in them (basically listening how they sound). In addition, it will use other parameters for duplicate detection like ID3 tags, name of the file and binary content, but those will be of secondary importance because that file data can be wrong and I want detection to be almost independent of them. With "audio listening", it should be able to recognize dupes even if they have different name, tag, bitrates, sample rate and file type (mp3/wma/ogg/flac...). It is designed specifically to resist lossy encodings but in some cases it should be able to even detect different performances of the same song (eg. live/album/remix).