ATTENTION: You are viewing a page formatted for mobile devices; to view the full web page, click HERE.

Main Area and Open Discussion > General Software Discussion

wanted: a fix for ubuntu problem/new linux distro

<< < (2/2)

nite_monkey:
If you intend to dual-boot the machine and it has Windows on it already, I highly recommend Wubi. It's 1 MB and it downloads and installs Ubuntu from within Windows. I'm a total linux noob too, but I just installed Ubuntu today with Wubi and it worked fantastically. It also allows you to uninstall Ubuntu from Add/Remove Programs in Windows. It's a great utility for Windows users who are total noobs to linux. :Thmbsup:

Just for reference, I recently started a thread about Fedora 9 in which I ultimately chose to go with Ubuntu, and Wubi was how I did it.
-Deozaan (January 25, 2009, 01:28 AM)
--- End quote ---

oh yeah, I forgot about wubi. I didn't want to dual boot linux though, so I have an old 80gb drive that I have in my computer, and I just unplug my other drives and have only that drive plugged in. I'm going to check the md5 on my images and see what I come up with.

edit: md5 is the same for the images.
I'm downloading opensuse right now. I'll see what it does.
If I can't get it to install then currently the only linux I will have on my computer is the splashtop that is built into my asus motherboard

nite_monkey:
I just thought of something.
I'm using a Memorex cd-rw disc, that wouldn't have anything to do with corrupt installs would it?
I will soon find out, because I am burning opensuse right now.

edit: well opensuse(net install) just stops about half way through the loading process, and debian (net isntall) wont detect all my hardware. I guess I will just have to use wubi, and leave windows 7 on my other drive.

40hz:
Edit: Btw 40hz, how would you rate Gentoo's documentation to SUSE and Fedora? Superior or inferior. I generally hear that Gentoo has more and easier to find free documentations.