Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 08:12:10 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: problems with (having moved) windows temp folder  (Read 2801 times)

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
problems with (having moved) windows temp folder
« on: September 14, 2007, 03:36:04 AM »
new computer fun :) -

moved windows temp folder:
2007-09-14_102348_TEMPlocation.png

noticed as I was installing software a TEMP folder was being created in
the folder where the original exe file was.

trying to install dc software (updater, etc) I get the message
"unable to create temporary to extract to"

so obviously temp folder is not accessible

I did restart windows a couple of times after changing this setting
Anyone any ideas?
I'll try changing back to C:TEMP & see what happens & report back.

Unfortunately I cant remember where the "System Variables" Windows TEMP & TMP folders were -
in the Windows folder I think..
Tom

Josh

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Points: -5
  • Posts: 3,398
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: problems with (having moved) windows temp folder
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2007, 03:40:26 AM »
Thats just it, if software is telling you that it cant find the temp folder, then it isnt using the Windows API to access it and is instead using a hard coded path, which is bad juju.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: problems with (having moved) windows temp folder
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2007, 04:07:04 AM »
no success trying various paths on c drive

I tried Tweak UI "powertoy" to see could that help.
Nothing there for changing Temp folders but
I found this which struck me as odd:

installation path.png

Does that have anything to do with it I wonder - Drive J: doesnt exist....
Tom

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: problems with (having moved) windows temp folder
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2007, 04:47:19 AM »
no success trying various paths on c drive

I tried Tweak UI "powertoy" to see could that help.
Nothing there for changing Temp folders but
I found this which struck me as odd:
 (see attachment in previous post)
Does that have anything to do with it I wonder - Drive J: doesnt exist....

I looked in the registry & theres no "installation path" under special folders at any rate...

Could anyone tell me what the default locations are for
Windows Temp folders are
- as in screenshot in first post ?
(thats right click: My Computer > Properties > Advanced Tab > Environmental Variables)
EDIT: for Windows XP!
Tom
« Last Edit: September 14, 2007, 04:49:07 AM by tomos »

Perry Mowbray

  • N.A.N.Y. Organizer
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,817
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: problems with (having moved) windows temp folder
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2007, 04:57:11 AM »
Here is where I put mine:
Screenshot - 14_09_2007 , 7_55_18 PM.png

Perry Mowbray

  • N.A.N.Y. Organizer
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,817
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: problems with (having moved) windows temp folder
« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2007, 05:00:43 AM »
trying to install dc software (updater, etc) I get the message
"unable to create temporary to extract to"
so obviously temp folder is not accessible

I note that you have not got back slashes in your path:
Screenshot - 14_09_2007 , 7_58_41 PM.png

Is that an issue? I have back slashes in mine (previous post)  :-\

Grorgy

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 821
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: problems with (having moved) windows temp folder
« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2007, 05:08:16 AM »
temp and tmp are both directed to c:\Documents and Settings\username\Temp 

Edit, these are i think the default settings, never occurred to me to change them lol
« Last Edit: September 14, 2007, 05:10:36 AM by Grorgy »

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: problems with (having moved) windows temp folder
« Reply #7 on: September 14, 2007, 05:09:25 AM »
trying to install dc software (updater, etc) I get the message
"unable to create temporary to extract to"
so obviously temp folder is not accessible

I note that you have not got back slashes in your path: (see attachment in previous post)
Is that an issue? I have back slashes in mine (previous post)  :-\


YES YES YES YES
thanks Perry I was struggling with the idea of losing a day & a halfs work
That was it, Funny I could have sworn there wasnt a backslash there when I went to change it
but who cares  :) :)
Tom

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: problems with (having moved) windows temp folder
« Reply #8 on: September 14, 2007, 05:11:54 AM »
in other words moving the temp folder is actually no problem
(as long as I get the path correct  :-[ )
I didnt even have to restart for install to work properly

Thanks to Grorgy as well - couldnt even find that out at microsoft!

Phew  :-*
Tom

Perry Mowbray

  • N.A.N.Y. Organizer
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,817
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: problems with (having moved) windows temp folder
« Reply #9 on: September 14, 2007, 06:16:29 AM »
Edit, these are i think the default settings, never occurred to me to change them lol

When I popped an extra hard drive into my machine I decided to have a look at what was a good idea for partitioning.

What I discovered was a subject of strongly opinionated options...

I found this page helpful, and in the end though I didn't think I had anything to lose  :) so I ended up implementing something like what was suggested.

And if it makes you feel any better tomos, I think I did exactly the same thing when I was setting up mine (and I too remembered putting in the slash too!)... and it took me a bit of looking to find the problem (so yours was like a "happy" memory  ;))