Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 08:44:50 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: AOL active virus shield fails to update - is it just me?  (Read 7218 times)

nudone

  • Cody's Creator
  • Columnist
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 4,117
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
AOL active virus shield fails to update - is it just me?
« on: September 05, 2007, 01:09:06 AM »
is anyone else having problems with the AOL active virus shield - the free thing they were generously giving away a while back.

mine hasn't updated correctly since last saturday (or friday). it's failing on more than one machine.

i know that AOL are no longer providing this anti-virus software but i didn't expect it to stop updating - i wonder if kaspersky are no longer supporting the virus definitions or something.

anyone else having trouble - anyone know of a way to get it to update correctly?

ta

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: AOL active virus shield fails to update - is it just me?
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2007, 01:19:16 AM »
most probably Kaspersky plugged the plug since they're not the preferred partner anymore.. or maybe McAfee is modifying the program to retrieve updates from their servers. anyway, i'm having the same problems too but i'm not waiting to find out.. i'm now recommending AVG Free to everyone..  :)

btw, i'd like to quote you from the other thread.. :)
if the kaspersky version suddenly stopped updating properly then that wouldn't be too much fun but i doubt that they can do that.


nudone

  • Cody's Creator
  • Columnist
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 4,117
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AOL active virus shield fails to update - is it just me?
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2007, 01:47:10 AM »
well, i did doubt that they could because i assumed that the active virus shield program would just be a rebranded kaspersky product - if all it uses is the kaspersky virus definitions then i'd expect it to keep updating.

it seems i was foolish to assume they'd be so generous to allow it to keep running - not a good business model i suppose is it.

i'm going to try the AOL mcafee thing instead of avg - i'm curious as to what it's like.

Dirhael

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 383
    • View Profile
    • defreitas.no
    • Donate to Member
Re: AOL active virus shield fails to update - is it just me?
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2007, 04:41:15 AM »
Kaspersky doesn't really have anything to do with the lack of updates, since AOL several versions back moved all updates to their own (AOL) servers. As such, Kaspersky doesn't really have anything to say in the matter.
Registered nurse by day, hobby programmer by night.

nudone

  • Cody's Creator
  • Columnist
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 4,117
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AOL active virus shield fails to update - is it just me?
« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2007, 05:24:11 AM »
Kaspersky doesn't really have anything to do with the lack of updates, since AOL several versions back moved all updates to their own (AOL) servers. As such, Kaspersky doesn't really have anything to say in the matter.

i've only just noticed today where the updates where coming from - yep, it's an AOL address.

oh well, it was good whilst it lasted.

nudone

  • Cody's Creator
  • Columnist
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 4,117
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AOL active virus shield fails to update - is it just me?
« Reply #5 on: September 05, 2007, 06:21:42 AM »
the AOL mcafee suite is only available for US residents (requires zip code, UK residents have to pay for the same product).

so AVG here i come.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: AOL active virus shield fails to update - is it just me?
« Reply #6 on: September 05, 2007, 08:45:33 AM »
i was about to say that you must be a brave man to stick with AOL after the Kaspersky debacle but thankfully AOL shot themselves in the foot.. :)

xyme

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AOL active virus shield fails to update - is it just me?
« Reply #7 on: September 07, 2007, 05:44:35 PM »
I fixed it.

Since I'm quite fond of my free legal Kaspersky (AOL) Scanner, i looked for a workaround, and it looks like i found it.

Close the scanner.
Start Notepad, and open
C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\AOL\AVP6\Data\aol-updcfg.xml

This is the file containing the update servers.
Remove the lines for the aol servers, it should be the first two in the list,
something like http://downloads.newaol.com, it definitely has aol in the address.
Leave all the kaspersky servers in the list.
Save the file.
Restart the scanner.

Mine updated perfectly afterwards.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: AOL active virus shield fails to update - is it just me?
« Reply #8 on: September 07, 2007, 09:17:11 PM »
cool workaround, xyme! :Thmbsup: and welcome to the forums.. :)

wreckedcarzz

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,623
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AOL active virus shield fails to update - is it just me?
« Reply #9 on: September 08, 2007, 12:53:19 AM »
AOL has stopped its Active Virus Shield service (it is now "McAfee SecurityCenter provided by AOL")...a couple days ago I went to try it and now McAfee hosts it...and its crap IMO (not that is wasn't before, but now its worse)

Not sure if you can jury-rig it or not, but if you can, go for it! The McAfee stuff dropped my computer performance to about 30-40% of what it should be, so hold out as long as you can! :Thmbsup:

nudone

  • Cody's Creator
  • Columnist
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 4,117
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AOL active virus shield fails to update - is it just me?
« Reply #10 on: September 08, 2007, 01:08:02 AM »
I fixed it.

Since I'm quite fond of my free legal Kaspersky (AOL) Scanner, i looked for a workaround, and it looks like i found it.

Close the scanner.
Start Notepad, and open
C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\AOL\AVP6\Data\aol-updcfg.xml

This is the file containing the update servers.
Remove the lines for the aol servers, it should be the first two in the list,
something like http://downloads.newaol.com, it definitely has aol in the address.
Leave all the kaspersky servers in the list.
Save the file.
Restart the scanner.

Mine updated perfectly afterwards.

fantastic.

i was secretly hoping someone would come up with a naughty workaround like this - is it naughty? well, nothing has been added, only removed, that doesn't seem so bad to me.

thanks, xyme.

a few credits will be sent your way.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: AOL active virus shield fails to update - is it just me?
« Reply #11 on: September 10, 2007, 11:44:11 PM »
CyberNet News has reported the same problem & it's fix..

ws-aol-update-1.png

http://cybernetnews....rrect-signature-fix/


nudone

  • Cody's Creator
  • Columnist
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 4,117
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AOL active virus shield fails to update - is it just me?
« Reply #12 on: September 12, 2007, 07:51:52 AM »
anyone else having problems again?

the active virus shield had been updating after the two lines had been removed but now i find that the lines are automatically reinserted after each update is now performed - thereby preventing it from updating successfully.

is it just me?

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: AOL active virus shield fails to update - is it just me?
« Reply #13 on: September 12, 2007, 07:35:02 PM »
i don't AVS anymore to try this but nudone why don't you make the xml as read-only after editing it? maybe AVS will protest that it can't write the settings but the downloads will go on as usual.. just my theory.. :)

nudone

  • Cody's Creator
  • Columnist
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 4,117
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AOL active virus shield fails to update - is it just me?
« Reply #14 on: September 13, 2007, 12:42:34 AM »
umm, i tried read only, it made no difference. it looks like the program is actually downloading a new file and replacing it - well, when it updates it says it's replaced that particular file - something it didn't do a couple of days ago.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: AOL active virus shield fails to update - is it just me?
« Reply #15 on: September 13, 2007, 01:14:39 AM »
AOL must have got wind of the hack or maybe Kaspersky notified AOL after noticing hits on the server that was supposed to service AOL's program.. anyway, i'll let you know if i come across something..

nudone

  • Cody's Creator
  • Columnist
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 4,117
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AOL active virus shield fails to update - is it just me?
« Reply #16 on: September 13, 2007, 01:35:02 AM »
AOL must have got wind of the hack or maybe Kaspersky notified AOL after noticing hits on the server that was supposed to service AOL's program.. anyway, i'll let you know if i come across something..
thanks

xyme

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AOL active virus shield fails to update - is it just me?
« Reply #17 on: September 18, 2007, 10:15:51 AM »
I had to reinstall AVS,
and to my surprise it connected and updated from the aol servers without any problems.
I forced it to update from the kaspersky servers again, but the updates on the aol server really are the most recent ones.

Maybe they got too many complaints and actually listened, as hard as that is to imagine.


nudone

  • Cody's Creator
  • Columnist
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 4,117
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AOL active virus shield fails to update - is it just me?
« Reply #18 on: September 18, 2007, 01:57:07 PM »
yeah, things seem to be working again.  :Thmbsup:

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: AOL active virus shield fails to update - is it just me?
« Reply #19 on: September 18, 2007, 06:59:57 PM »
that's good surprising news.. for once AOL decided to heed the users' views.. :)

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AOL active virus shield fails to update - is it just me?
« Reply #20 on: October 20, 2007, 10:32:06 AM »
We hope you have been satisfied with the free protection provided by Active Virus Shield. Although your software may still be up-to-date,* this service is in the process of being discontinued.

*Only users with a current license to the software are still receiving updates. Check your Active Virus Shield software to determine whether it is active. If your software is no longer active, you must upgrade now for up-to-date protection.
It's official,
they dont say how long it'll take - not sure what they mean by footnote  :-\
Tom
« Last Edit: October 20, 2007, 10:34:02 AM by tomos »

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AOL active virus shield fails to update - is it just me?
« Reply #21 on: October 20, 2007, 10:34:59 AM »
anyone tried the mcafee "version" ?
Tom

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AOL active virus shield fails to update - is it just me?
« Reply #22 on: June 14, 2008, 09:47:29 AM »
anyone actually still using Active Virus Shield ?

I am  :-[  !!
but it hasnt updated properly here since the 11th (took me a couple of days to notice it - then it started telling me the virus definitions were not uptodate ....
Tom