Website Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • August 30, 2015, 11:50:12 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Missing information in the screenshot  (Read 5357 times)

Pasukin

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Missing information in the screenshot
« on: September 04, 2007, 05:40:21 PM »
Hello,

I play a DirectX 9 game called Delta Force:Xtreme. On occasion, when taking a screenshot, the heads-up display and most of the objects within the map are missing from the saved image. I was wondering if anyone has seen this happen before?

I've attached two images; one showing a normal screenshot, and one showing the problem. Both were taken within a few seconds of each other while I was trying to reproduce the problem.

I was using version 2.25.03 (I think) and have just upgraded to the latest version. I'll try to duplicate the problem again and post the results.

Regards,
Rich
« Last Edit: September 04, 2007, 05:49:21 PM by Pasukin »

Pasukin

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Missing information in the screenshot
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2007, 10:14:59 PM »
Update:

It still happens with the newer version. Hopefully this is something that can be resolved in a future release.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,217
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: Missing information in the screenshot
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2007, 10:36:30 PM »
when it comes to games, it's better to rely on the games' internal screen-capturing ability. and also try Fraps.. :)

fraps_win291.gif

FRAPS show fps, record video game movies, screen capture software.


Pasukin

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Missing information in the screenshot
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2007, 11:19:03 PM »
The built-in screenshot feature in DF:X can be extremely slow, even causing the game to freeze for a few seconds. In any other application that might be Ok, but in a first person shooter that means you're dead. Screenshot Captor worked great for the first couple of weeks before this started to happen at random times. I can certainly deal with the problem as I've already grown accustomed to taking multiple screenshots each time, but it would be nice to figure out why it happens.

I've also used both Fraps and GameCam. Fraps causes significant screen lag making the game almost unplayable, while GameCam interferes with the extended button mappings on my mouse while in game.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,217
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: Missing information in the screenshot
« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2007, 01:12:03 AM »
earlier when it was working, how did you make the capture, via auto-capture timer or hot-keys?

Pasukin

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Missing information in the screenshot
« Reply #5 on: September 05, 2007, 07:13:44 AM »
I've always used hot-keys.

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,969
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: Missing information in the screenshot
« Reply #6 on: September 05, 2007, 07:26:45 AM »
Have you updated video drivers recently?

Pasukin

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Missing information in the screenshot
« Reply #7 on: September 05, 2007, 01:08:00 PM »
They have been updated, but I don't remember which was done first; the driver update or my initial install of Screenshot Captor.

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,969
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: Missing information in the screenshot
« Reply #8 on: September 05, 2007, 01:45:08 PM »
It's just that a new video driver might handle displaying objects differently and sometimes it means you can't grab objects.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,933
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Missing information in the screenshot
« Reply #9 on: September 05, 2007, 04:41:39 PM »
What operating system do you use?

Pasukin

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Missing information in the screenshot
« Reply #10 on: September 05, 2007, 07:46:50 PM »
Windows XP SP2

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,217
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: Missing information in the screenshot
« Reply #11 on: September 05, 2007, 08:01:01 PM »
hmm, as Carol said driver updates might provide some clues.. some googling returned this thread where there is a mention about missing texts..

http://forums.civfan...wthread.php?t=241742


Josh

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 3,365
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Missing information in the screenshot
« Reply #12 on: September 05, 2007, 08:10:46 PM »
This looks like an issue of capturing video overlay. I ran into this problem when attempting to capture a screen with a video playing. This could be related. Mouser, how does SSC handle overlay?

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,217
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: Missing information in the screenshot
« Reply #13 on: September 05, 2007, 08:30:01 PM »
i haven't tried it myself but i read somewhere that turning off the "Hardware Acceleration" will enable screenshots from movies & games but don't know what it does to performance though..

ws-s3-display-2.png