Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site November 26, 2014, 04:09:40 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
View the new Member Awards and Badges page.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: How do this in a screenshot?  (Read 5114 times)
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,133



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: August 20, 2007, 08:04:17 AM »

i was browsing a gaming website when i came upon these screenshots. i kinda like the way they have this zoom-in thingy and was wondering how did they do it. is this possible with just a screenshot program? btw, the website is in german, so i had to pose the question here.. smiley

Fig. 1


Fig. 2


Logged

Dirhael
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 370


View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2007, 08:17:43 AM »

You would have to take two screenshots to do what those pictures are showing, then edit them manually. So to answer your question, no it would not be possible mainly due to the fact that no screen capture program could take a snapshot of something that isn't being displayed on the screen. The only exception would be if the game natively had the functionality to take such screenshots, but I've never seen it.
Logged

Registered nurse by day, hobby programmer by night.
TucknDar
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,094


Advanced coder of Nowt

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2007, 08:23:25 AM »

Looks to me like the zooming is an in-game feature, which the user then has taken a regular screenshot of.
Logged
Dirhael
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 370


View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2007, 08:30:20 AM »

Looks to me like the zooming is an in-game feature, which the user then has taken a regular screenshot of.

The functionality to zoom on on the action is most certainly a in-game feature, but that doesn't really help you take screenshots such as that. You would still have to take two snaps and edit them afterwards. In the game those screenshots are taken from, I am absolutely certain that you can't zoom in/out like that (at least not without using cheatcodes/development console or something), as I've played it...a lot smiley
« Last Edit: August 20, 2007, 08:38:02 AM by Dirhael » Logged

Registered nurse by day, hobby programmer by night.
AbteriX
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 1,052


Member #520

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2007, 08:54:13 AM »

There are little stand alone zoom tool available like
Dragnifier
FATBIT32
Zzoom
Zoom+

You can start them to magnify an region
and take an shot than when you ready to do.

OK, maybe not in games and not in that details as you shown above
since you zoom the pixels only that are there.

You can even use "Start > Run > magnify" to test this.

« Last Edit: August 20, 2007, 09:00:51 AM by AbteriX » Logged

Greetings, Stefan.
cosgrovedc
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 6


View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: August 20, 2007, 09:40:09 AM »

Hey - what game(s) are these shots from??   Cool
Logged
Dirhael
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 370


View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: August 20, 2007, 10:56:19 AM »

Hey - what game(s) are these shots from??   Cool

That'd be the (mostly) excellent game Gothic 3 smiley
Logged

Registered nurse by day, hobby programmer by night.
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,133



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: August 20, 2007, 11:27:57 AM »

yes, they're from Gothic3.. thanks guys for clarifying things.. thumbs up i was hoping that a single program could do the job but it looks like an image editing software is required to take one screenshot, super-impose it on another screenshot and add the call-outs.. smiley
Logged

tsaint
Charter Member
***
Posts: 431


Hi from the a*** end of the earth

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: August 20, 2007, 05:31:16 PM »

Lanux(128), have a look at this page, which has examples of using a screen capture program given away on giveaway of the day.
Some of their examples are very similar to what you're talking about. Somewhere, they give a little tutorial on how they do it - it isn't a one click process.
http://www.tntscreencapture.com/
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,699



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: August 20, 2007, 05:48:59 PM »

You can do this pretty easily in Screenshot Captor (i've done it before), but it's definitely not a one-click proces..  i'm open to the idea adding some helper stuff to make it easier, though i'm not sure if this isn't yet another case where you are better off doing it in a real graphics editing program like The Gimp, Paint.net, etc.
Logged
Darwin
Charter Member
***
Posts: 6,979



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: August 20, 2007, 06:47:18 PM »

Mouser - seems to me that this is one time in which your proposal to add basic screencapturing features to Screenshot Captor might pay off. Seems to me that one should be able to record a brief video and then generate a screenshot from that... You might have to take screenshots of more than one point in the video and merge them...

Or am I missing something? It's happened before - the fine print on credit card usage agreements, my nuptials (conducted in Korean and I evidently obliviously agreed to a life of servitude!) - things like that...
Logged

"Some people have a way with words, other people,... oh... have not way" - Steve Martin
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,133



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: August 21, 2007, 08:23:10 AM »

tsaint, TNT Screen Capture looks cool but i'm already comfortable with a certain program called Screenshot Captor.. Wink thanks anyway..

mouser, since i realized that it's not a one-click process.. i am already trying to do this with SC but the call-outs are proving to be a bit difficult.. any tips on that? maybe we can have some pre-defined shapes similar to that zoom-in square/circle..

Logged

cmpm
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,025

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: August 21, 2007, 08:00:24 PM »

check this out lanux

http://www.microsoft.com/...Miscellaneous/ZoomIt.mspx

might be able to incorporate this into the plan
though its limited on it's options
you could do screenshots of what is zoomed in on i think
Logged
ak_
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 223


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: August 21, 2007, 08:22:14 PM »

It's definitely not the result of a zooming process. As it's been said above, it is a composition of several screenshots, one from a global view and others from in-game zoomed specific regions.
Logged

lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,133



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: August 21, 2007, 09:08:17 PM »

agreed, i need a image editor with pre-defined shapes and better cropping abilities such as circular crop to re-create the zoom-in look.. but i wouldn't want to be bogged down with too much photoshopping.. smiley
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.047s | Server load: 0.08 ]