Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 03, 2016, 07:46:09 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Suggestion for Find & Run Robot  (Read 3095 times)

Centauri27

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Suggestion for Find & Run Robot
« on: September 22, 2005, 06:36:42 PM »
Find & Run Robot is easily the slickest, most useful little app I've downloaded in a long time. It works almost exactly how I want it to. But it has one irritating point: when I add additional directories to the list of folders to be searched, the search results box simply shows "\" under the Location column for stuff found in my additional directories.

For example, I keep my web downloads in a "C:\Downloads" folder. I add that folder to F&R Robot for its searches. When I do a search that includes hits from "C:\Downloads", the search results box shows "\" as the location. Can you fix it so that is shows "\Downloads" instead? That would be much more useful!

Thanks.
Carl

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Suggestion for Find & Run Robot
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2005, 06:48:16 PM »
there is an option to do what you want; try playing with the option shown below:

screenshot courtesy of screenshot captor :)
« Last Edit: September 22, 2005, 06:50:20 PM by mouser »

Centauri27

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Suggestion for Find & Run Robot
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2005, 06:56:35 PM »
Aha! That'll do the trick.

May I suggest perhaps changing the default from 'None' to 'One level back'? Because right now, 'None' results in '\' showing as the location, and this is misleading because it implies that the item is at the root of the drive (which is usually not the case).

Thanks for the quick reply!

Carl

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Suggestion for Find & Run Robot
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2005, 07:20:18 PM »
i think that's a good idea - i will make one level back the default unless anyone thinks that would be a bad idea?

Centauri27

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Suggestion for Find & Run Robot
« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2005, 01:20:14 PM »
I just checked and in my F&R Robot, the default is currently "relative to search". That gives a very helpful Location display for the program shortcuts, but it's not helpful for the other folders I added. I actually find that "two levels back" works best overall, better than "one level back".