Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site December 18, 2014, 12:22:35 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Your Support Funds this Site: View the Supporter Yearbook.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Small pictures when pasting into a new e-mail  (Read 3254 times)
Mithias
Participant
*
Posts: 3

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: August 15, 2007, 10:43:32 AM »

Hey Mouser,

I've got an issue with the latest version of Screenshot captor (I am a donor but for some reason my status shows as visitor again!)

When I capture an image either by fullscreen, active window of selected region and then goto paste that image into a new rich-text e-mail, the pasted image looks shrunkered and awkward, heres an example:



Now if I use a html e-mail I dont get the same problem, so half of me thinks its an outlook issue (also since I know someone else who doesn't have this issue). Just wondered if you knew what this could be? I edit e-mails using outlooks own editor (strangely it works fine on a vista machine I also use).

any ideas?

Thanks,

Mithias
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,770



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2007, 11:32:23 AM »

this has been discussed before, it's due to the DPI setting of the images.

to change this, what you want to do is go to the Screenshot Captor options and change the DPI of captured images to something like 72:


ps. this will only effect new captures -- if you want to fix this for a capture made before now, select the image and change the dpi from the specialFX menu:
Logged
perlguy
Charter Member
***
Posts: 30


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2011, 11:06:36 PM »

Hey Mouser. I've seen lots of replies about ScreenshotCaptor and DPI settings - so I now understand what's going on, but it's minicap, not SC, that I'm having a problem with. 

Is there any way to set DPI for minicap? 

While writing down all the things that didn't make sense about the magnification level needed to get the image back to normal (313%)... it hit me: minicap is capturing at 300dpi, and sure enough, 313% of 96 == 300. I'm guessing that 300dpi is the default value in windows or some library you are using, for clipboard images? Even if you don't add a setting in minicap to adjust DPI, could you change the default to 96 (the usual value for XP)... or query the O/S for the current display's DPI?  (I know, that could get tricky, e.g. across multiple displays set to different values - if that's even possible with Windows).

I don't take many screenshots, so I don't normally keep anything running just for that.  And while I really love FARR (the most used 3rd party program I use with XP - bar none), I still prefer MWSnap to ScreenshotCaptor when doing more than minicap is suited to.  It may seem silly, but the one thing I find lacking in SC is a primary toolbar (one for main actions, not the paint widget tool pallete).  If not for that, I'd have dumped mwsnap a long time ago.  Reviewing the features again, SC is definitely more capable than MWsnap in other respects.

Maybe this sums it up better... there's no one-click way to trigger a capture with SC (hold-drag-release on a menu doesn't count tongue )...  it just doesn't "feel" as smooth when compared to the other tool.

I'll probably go back to minicap for the occasional captures I do... now that I've found the right image "zoom" level to use in office apps.

FYI, the only thing I've found "wrong" in SC so far are some of the controls not looking quite right with XP styles. Prime example is the preview window - the tabs for Zoom/Nav are styled (for XP), but are too small to allow the text to show up, and even the rounded glass effect is clipped.  It might look a bit dated without theme/style support, but it definitely looks more polished that way (as your screenshots look).  With styles enabled, the GUI appearance is very inconsistent.  There are other interface issues too... like when you start resize the window smaller than the contained controls... they get clipped, instead of forcing a minimum window size.  And the gradients on the various menu/toolbar areas don't mesh well...resulting in a busier interface than if they were all flat.




So...  I'd give minicap a 10/10 rating if not for the dpi issue with Office apps (and others).

SC, 8/10 strictly on aesthetics (-1 for lack of main toolbar, and -1 for appearance). If it had a user customizable toolbar, I'd give it 11/10.  cheesy


I hope I don't come across as "bashing"' your app... it's truly not meant that way. Constructive criticism is more like it... with the hope that either minicap gets DPI fixed... or SC gets at least a default "capture" button (user selectable for which mode) in the main window. smiley

....

I also just noticed that I missed out on donating anything to DC last year... an oversight that I've already corrected.

Thanks again for the amazing work (for your apps AND the DC site in general).

Jim
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,770



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2011, 11:15:32 PM »

Hi Jim!

We're all about constructive criticism here -- it's much appreciated.

First things first -- would a commandline dpi option for minicap be useful?

Quote
or SC gets at least a default "capture" button

isn't everyone using SC via hotkey on keyboard? it's hard to imagine any other real way to use it.
Logged
ewemoa
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,520



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2011, 12:25:19 AM »

isn't everyone using SC via hotkey on keyboard? it's hard to imagine any other real way to use it.

I admit to also using it via the tray area icon -- as I didn't find a default key sequence for "Restore main window".
Logged
perlguy
Charter Member
***
Posts: 30


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: November 03, 2011, 02:10:48 AM »

A cmdline option for minicap, to set dpi would be perfect.

As for hotkey and SC... yeah, I know that's the typical use... probably 99+% of people would use it that way. But most of my capturing is regions, not window/object/fullscreen... so point-click feels more natural, especially for the less frequent use (don't have to think about what the hotkey is or navigate a menu to get to the desired action).
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,770



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: November 03, 2011, 05:47:10 AM »

Quote
A cmdline option for minicap, to set dpi would be perfect.

easy to add, i'll try to get a new version out by the weekend.
Logged
perlguy
Charter Member
***
Posts: 30


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: November 04, 2011, 04:49:44 PM »

Sweet.  Much appreciated.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.033s | Server load: 0.07 ]