Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site July 30, 2014, 06:20:16 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Read the Practical Guide to DonationCoder.com Forum Search Features
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 [2] 3 4 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: KlipKeeper (A FARR2 Plugin by hamradio)  (Read 37163 times)
jack99999
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 20

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #25 on: January 30, 2008, 04:07:36 AM »

the klip display is limited to 120 chars, but the searching is also limited to 120 chars.

if i have the following in my clipboard history:

vvvvvvvvvvvv vvvvvv vvvvvvvvvvvv vvvvvv vvvvvvvvvvvv vvvvvv vvvvvvvvvvvv vvvvvv vvvvvvvvvvvv vvvvvv vvvvvvvv vvvvv wibbly wobbly

...then i i can't find 'wobbly' at all and 'wibbly' i can find only by typing the first bit of it. if i type the whole word, the line disappears from the list.

is it possible to search the whole of the captured clips, even if only the first 120 chars are displayed?

jack
Logged
Lashiec
Member
**
Posts: 2,374


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #26 on: April 11, 2008, 03:20:57 PM »

OK, I encountered a weird bug caused by KlipKeeper, though I ignore whose fault is. So, I type 'kk' as usually, and select some text I recently copied. The portion of text is a bit long, and as KlipKeeper only shows a tooltip if it's in "+sall" mode, I have the idea to scroll the window horizontally, which to my surprise is possible. After some milliseconds scrolling, the text gets unreadable, so I hit the left key to see if scrolling back solves the issue. Then FARR jumps to the normal view populated by the recently launched programs, clearing the 'kk' from the search box, and bolding all the text beside every result. Weird.

So I exit the program, after fiddling with the fonts settings to no avail, and it seems that exiting the program solves the issue. But, oh tragic fate, once I type 'kk' again, the world goes to bold text again. So, did I hit a weird bug or what?
Logged
sosimple
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 23


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #27 on: July 23, 2008, 09:30:06 PM »

I don't know if there is already a way to do this, and if not, this could be a feature request ...
I was hoping (wishing) there was a way to edit KlipKeeper's list of clipboard clips.

The editing could be just to delete a clip entry, or move a clip entry to the end of the list.

I find that sometimes the top-10 entries can become filled with mostly onetime clips that are not likely to be reused and this requires more frequent searches beyond the top-10 entries.


[Edit]
Nevermind ... I found how to do it ...
 kk `p -- Opens KlipKeeper's configuration gui.
[/Edit]



Kevin
« Last Edit: July 23, 2008, 09:46:12 PM by sosimple » Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,183



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #28 on: July 24, 2008, 12:26:10 AM »


all's well that ends well  Thmbsup
Logged
sosimple
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 23


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #29 on: August 09, 2008, 08:00:53 PM »

I love this one, I use it all the time ..

I made an alias (named kka) to show all clips:
dosearch kk +sall

One thing that I know used to work but no longer works and I
don't know if this a problem with kk or with FARR, but it used to
be when I typed 'kk' with a backquote, like:
kk `

I would get a mini-help screen showing the backquote
commands ... that no longer happens.  It's like the
backquote is treated as a normal character.

So, if I have 3 clips containing the text:
kk `p
kk `pp
kk `pppp


and if I type in FARR:
kk `
or
kk `p

I get a filtered list of the three matching clips, instead
of the mini-help screen (kk`) or the kk configuration
screen (kk `p)

I re-downloaded the kk plug-in with the same results.

As far as I know, the only thing that has changed
since this last worked is a couple of FARR updates
(I don't think kk has been recently updated).

Kevin
« Last Edit: August 09, 2008, 08:02:51 PM by sosimple » Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,183



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #30 on: August 10, 2008, 03:33:04 AM »

You are right, i'm seeing this too.  Hopefull HamRadio will take a look at the problem.. I'm not sure when this started happening or if it's something related to a change I made in FARR.
Logged
Armando
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,674



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #31 on: September 04, 2008, 10:40:36 AM »

the clipboard chain keeps getting broken and I have to open KK's options to stop the plugin and reenable it. Is there a way to do that without having to go through all these steps (open farr->Click on options->go in the plugin section->Click on KlipKeeper->Click on the advanced configuration button, etc.) ?
Logged

"I suppose it can be said that I'm an absent-minded driver. It's true that I've driven through a number of red lights on occasion, but on the other hand, I've stopped at a lot of green ones but never gotten credit for it."
Glenn Gould
hamradio
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 571



Amateur Radio Guy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #32 on: September 04, 2008, 10:39:31 PM »

kk `t -- Toggles recording all text that the clipboard receives.

Do that to stop it then do it again to start it with a message box confirmation each time. smiley
Logged

Carroll - HamRadioUSA
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,183



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #33 on: September 04, 2008, 10:47:03 PM »

ham you should make it easier to close and re-establish clip chain
because this is something that happens to all clipboard monitors.

my own CHS has an option set by default to periodically close and re-establish clip chain for this reason.
Logged
tranglos
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,079



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #34 on: September 07, 2008, 11:10:13 AM »

Fantastic plugin, thanks a lot ham!

And here's a request (of course!): can you please make permanent storage of the clips optional? I often copy passwords and don't want them lying around.

As a workaround, I've tried making klipkeeper_data.dat and .bak read-only / hidden. However, I cannot do the same to klipkeeper_data.dat.tmp, because it crashes FARR on exit when that file is unwriteable. Just a little checkbox to never write items do disk, please? smiley
Logged

Armando
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,674



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #35 on: September 07, 2008, 01:36:15 PM »

kk `t -- Toggles recording all text that the clipboard receives.

Do that to stop it then do it again to start it with a message box confirmation each time. smiley


Thanks hamradio. unfortunately, the " `" doesn't seem to do anything here -- same as what sosimple explained above .

As mouser said -- maybe an easy (automatic?) way to close and re-establish clip chain.

And here's a request (of course!): can you please make permanent storage of the clips optional? I often copy passwords and don't want them lying around.

As a workaround, I've tried making klipkeeper_data.dat and .bak read-only / hidden. However, I cannot do the same to klipkeeper_data.dat.tmp, because it crashes FARR on exit when that file is unwriteable. Just a little checkbox to never write items do disk, please? smiley

Interresting. I've got that "problem" too... I try just dragging and dropping password as a workaround. Doesn't always work, of course. So that option would be nice.

IMO, all clipboards enhancers databases should be encrypted -- and most of them aren't, I believe.
Logged

"I suppose it can be said that I'm an absent-minded driver. It's true that I've driven through a number of red lights on occasion, but on the other hand, I've stopped at a lot of green ones but never gotten credit for it."
Glenn Gould
Jabberwock
Participant
*
Posts: 71

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #36 on: October 06, 2008, 11:47:51 AM »

One bug report and one feature request:

I cannot use "kk `" combination at all... Maybe it has something to do with non-English version of Windows (I've got Polish one...).

The request is a possibility to "lock" certain clips, so they never get replaced even if the queue size is exceeded. In other words, an option to mark some clips as persistent.
Logged
tranglos
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,079



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #37 on: October 06, 2008, 12:06:23 PM »

I cannot use "kk `" combination at all... Maybe it has something to do with non-English version of Windows (I've got Polish one...).

Same here. On a PL version of XP, the backtick has no effect. (Note that the backtick is not used as a compose character on default PL keyboard.)
Logged

hamradio
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 571



Amateur Radio Guy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #38 on: October 16, 2008, 11:48:17 PM »

For the kk ` mouser and I think it is something he has did to the main farr maybe he could fill us in on if he figured it out what was causing it not to work? As for the suggestions they will have to wait as I am a busy with other things for awhile.
Logged

Carroll - HamRadioUSA
ewemoa
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,397



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #39 on: November 11, 2008, 07:35:52 PM »

What does everyone else do when they want to use KlipKeeper while interacting w/ dialog boxen that come up via FARR's Options window?  Does it work for you?  I'm finding that I'm not successfully accessing the FARR main window...

As a work-around, I've set up a second FARR installation (tweaked some thing like hotkeys, executable names, location where the FARR main window appears, skin, etc.) -- this seems to be somewhat useful when developing/testing plugins anway.
Logged
Armando
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,674



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #40 on: November 11, 2008, 11:11:29 PM »

hehe. I don't know if i'd go there myself, but interesting solution... Not too heavy on RAM ? Could they be sharing the same ini file (through linking) ?
Logged

"I suppose it can be said that I'm an absent-minded driver. It's true that I've driven through a number of red lights on occasion, but on the other hand, I've stopped at a lot of green ones but never gotten credit for it."
Glenn Gould
ewemoa
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,397



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #41 on: November 12, 2008, 05:45:42 AM »

For my "backup" FARR I removed all of the plugins I use except KlipKeeper and FARR is already relatively light so at least so far, it seems ok.  Not sharing the ini file at the moment -- perhaps I should consider that and/or sharing other bits -- a casual reflection gives me the feeling that I might run into some difficulties...if I could "include" bits of ini files and such within ini files, may be it'd be more practical.

I'm using TapTap Hotkey Extender to bind my left control key double-tapped to invoke one of the FARRs to appear on the left side of the screen and I have my right control key double-tapping bound to invoke the other FARR so that it appears on the right side of the screen.  Hoping to reduce confusion here -- we'll see how it goes I guess.  Oh yeah, also changed the tray icon -- I think I've finally found a non-aesthetic reason for skins and such.

Ah, neat, I just discovered that I can drag things from one FARR window to another smiley

(On a tangential note as far as reducing resource use is concerend, I'm also trying to move off of PSPad and switch to GVim -- seems a lot lighter.  It's a bit of a learning curve, but trying to figure out how to do things actually feels like a game.  Weird form of entertainment?)
« Last Edit: November 12, 2008, 06:02:45 AM by ewemoa » Logged
Armando
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,674



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #42 on: November 12, 2008, 09:08:55 AM »

Cool. Thanks for all the info. Thmbsup
Logged

"I suppose it can be said that I'm an absent-minded driver. It's true that I've driven through a number of red lights on occasion, but on the other hand, I've stopped at a lot of green ones but never gotten credit for it."
Glenn Gould
skajfes
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 204


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #43 on: December 18, 2008, 08:56:39 AM »

Could you escape html tags and remove whitespace when you set the FARR results text? I copy a lot of html and code and when i want to paste it i have to guess which one it is because the result is blank or filled with "|" for tabs etc...

Thanks.

BTW. great plugin!
Logged

It is impossible to make anything foolproof because fools are so ingenious.
hamradio
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 571



Amateur Radio Guy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #44 on: December 19, 2008, 12:29:55 AM »

I will look into that when I get back around to it.
Logged

Carroll - HamRadioUSA
nortexoid
Participant
*
Posts: 3

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #45 on: February 08, 2009, 06:43:29 AM »

The "kk `" options don't work for me either. E.g. if I type "kk `p" (without quotes) I get no results (unless "`p" was copied in my clipboard, of course).
Logged
yksyks
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 460


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #46 on: February 20, 2009, 01:54:57 AM »

The "kk `" doesn't work for me either on English Vista Business and even with English keyboard selected. (Just the system locale is set to Czech.)

Any workaround how to get to the settings?
Logged
s.newave
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 124


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #47 on: March 26, 2009, 01:42:32 AM »

Is there still any place to download this plugin? Link in first post is broken.
Logged
hamradio
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 571



Amateur Radio Guy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #48 on: March 27, 2009, 02:56:13 AM »

Link fixed when my site got moved to dcmembers I forgot to update the link here.  Will be releasing a maint release soon that updates the link elsewhere if I can find the time.
Logged

Carroll - HamRadioUSA
s.newave
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 124


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #49 on: March 27, 2009, 07:11:22 PM »

Sounds good. Thx
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 [2] 3 4 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.048s | Server load: 0.15 ]