Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 01, 2015, 07:20:55 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Display Properties/Settings shortcut function  (Read 4924 times)

darkhelmet

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Display Properties/Settings shortcut function
« on: July 17, 2007, 10:37:50 PM »
Something I always wanted/needed...

something that when clicked on (ideally from the desktop or system tray) would disable/enable a second monitor. I use dual monitors and when I am gaming I only need the primary (#1) monitor but have to right-click on the desktop/properties/settings and finally uncheck the option to extend windows to the second monitor.

My first request - any takers?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,976
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Display Properties/Settings shortcut function
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2007, 02:42:16 AM »
this is a very good idea.. there may be some existing tools to do that.
one non-free one that works wonderfully is UltraMon (http://realtimesoft.com/ultramon/), which lets you save profiles you can start via tray menu, which will set various resolutions on different monitors, including disabling or enabling them.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,218
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: Display Properties/Settings shortcut function
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2007, 03:55:37 AM »
with Autohotkey, you can emulate the mouse-clicks that toggles the 2nd display.. i don't have a 2nd monitor to test this but if you can provide the keystrokes/mouse-clicks involved then i may be able to make a script with it.. e.g. the following code will partially help you by opening the display properties & click on "advanced settings".. :)

Code: [Select]
Run, RunDLL32.EXE shell32.dll`,Control_RunDLL desk.cpl`,`,3 ; Show the Settings tab in Display Properties
WinWait, Display Properties
ControlClick, Ad&vanced, Display Properties ; Open Advanced Properties
Return

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Display Properties/Settings shortcut function
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2007, 05:05:03 AM »
There seems to be a way to do this through command line, by using nvidia's nview (only if you have a nvidia graphics board) check this thread.

Nod5

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 809
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Display Properties/Settings shortcut function
« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2007, 03:19:16 PM »
And if you have an ATI card, the Control Center and third party tools like the free ATI tray tools, http://www.guru3d.co...le/atitraytools/189/ , lets you create profiles and hotkeys to launch those profiles. It's then possible to make an autohotkey script that when run switches back and forth between two such profiles (by sending the hotkeys).

darkhelmet

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Display Properties/Settings shortcut function
« Reply #5 on: July 18, 2007, 10:08:30 PM »
if you can provide the keystrokes/mouse-clicks involved then i may be able to make a script with it

I have an nVidia 8800GTS running both XP and Vista. I also have AutoHotKey installed. How would I capture the keystrokes to provide you?

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,218
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: Display Properties/Settings shortcut function
« Reply #6 on: July 18, 2007, 11:05:29 PM »
I have an nVidia 8800GTS running both XP and Vista. I also have AutoHotKey installed. How would I capture the keystrokes to provide you?
you can just write-down or use screenshots to explain what are the title of windows that appears and the name of the buttons that you click to achieve the result (i.e. disable the 2nd monitor)..

darkhelmet

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Display Properties/Settings shortcut function
« Reply #7 on: July 20, 2007, 12:15:03 PM »
No thanks - since my other machine has three monitors I just went ahead a got ultramon. Works pretty good. Only wish I knew about it years ago!

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,218
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: Display Properties/Settings shortcut function
« Reply #8 on: July 23, 2007, 04:19:30 AM »
no harm done.. as they say, better late than never.. ;)

mstuppy

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Display Properties/Settings shortcut function
« Reply #9 on: August 15, 2007, 01:25:45 PM »
I was thinking of something along these lines, but combined with an idea I got from the BatteryRun script.  I would like to get the second display disabled whenever I unplug the cable from the back of my laptop.  Anybody know of something similar to the GetSystemPowerStatus function used in BatteryRun, but for detecting a monitor unplug?  Thanks.