Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 09, 2016, 07:36:22 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: CPanel alias problem  (Read 3140 times)

Josh

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Points: -5
  • Posts: 3,397
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
CPanel alias problem
« on: July 17, 2007, 03:10:57 PM »
I am in windows vista but do not get a full list of results for cpanel when using the alias. Is there something special I have to do? This is with 2.0.131

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: CPanel alias problem
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2007, 03:13:22 PM »
Isn't it related to the +sall modifier?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,421
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: CPanel alias problem
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2007, 03:46:11 PM »
yep jgp has it nailed.

when there are more results than will fit your search, only the top few are shown.  narrow down the matches by typing more keywords or type +sall to show them all.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,421
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: CPanel alias problem
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2007, 03:54:42 PM »
heres an example of the power of aliases:
if you wanted a version of cpanel that always showed all results, you could make a new alias
called for example: acp

and use the dosearch special alias result to conduct a cpanel search with +sall added to the search string.
i'll leave the details as an excercise (see my post on pf alias for clues).

if no one figures out how to do it i will post the solution :)

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: CPanel alias problem
« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2007, 05:15:17 PM »
Here's the solution! (attached to the post, just download and place on your AliasGroups/MyCustom/).

It's activated with "cp".


[edit] I forgot the file  ;D ;D [/edit]
« Last Edit: July 17, 2007, 05:25:04 PM by jgpaiva »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,421
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: CPanel alias problem
« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2007, 06:37:04 PM »
nice work jgp.. BUT
it's not the best because you cant use it to filter results... bzzz next contestant step up to try :)
« Last Edit: July 17, 2007, 06:39:11 PM by mouser »

nitrix-ud

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 516
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: CPanel alias problem
« Reply #6 on: July 18, 2007, 04:05:44 AM »
Here is one...

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,421
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: CPanel alias problem
« Reply #7 on: July 18, 2007, 12:16:36 PM »
nitrix wins the prize :)