Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 04:50:20 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: apparent issue with aliases, notably "DC search"  (Read 4967 times)

jdmarch

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 186
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
apparent issue with aliases, notably "DC search"
« on: July 11, 2007, 04:55:49 PM »
When I type "Upd", FARR correctly locates
D:\Program Files\DcUpdater\DcUppdater.exe
and several other items in the same folder.

But when I type "DCU", it finds none of these. It only finds donationcder.com URLs

presumably this is finding (only) the dc search alias; I'm still not at all up to speed on aliases, but isn't this an incorrect parsing?

Thanks!

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,434
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: apparent issue with aliases, notably "DC search"
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2007, 05:06:11 PM »
hi jd,
i'm not experiencing that behavior.. DCU is searching as expected..  anyone else?

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: apparent issue with aliases, notably "DC search"
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2007, 05:12:06 PM »
Same here. DCU works.
Notice that 'DC U' doesn't. But that isn't supposed to work, since 'DC ' (notice the space) triggers the DC search alias, and anything you write after that space will be used in the query to be made to the forum.

Maybe you could try disabling that alias, to see if you get the same results.

(instructions: see attached image, just deselect that box)
Screenshot-07_07_11,23_09_51.pngapparent issue with aliases, notably "DC search"

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,434
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: apparent issue with aliases, notably "DC search"
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2007, 05:16:06 PM »
jgp's idea for testing is good -
i think i will also add an ability to see what alias/plugin created each result for debugging such things.

jdmarch

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 186
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: apparent issue with aliases, notably "DC search"
« Reply #4 on: July 11, 2007, 06:59:35 PM »
Sorry, I should have done this test first.
It's the "DC forums" alias, whose regex was:
^dc[ ]*(.*)
(Why ever?)

Presumably an obsolete alias or at least an obsolete regex for this alias. I've changed it to simple:
^dc (.*)


jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: apparent issue with aliases, notably "DC search"
« Reply #5 on: July 11, 2007, 07:30:46 PM »
^dc[ ]*(.*)
(Why ever?)
Probably
^dc\s+(.*)
would make more sense than the current one, but i think that's overkill.

Glad we got that figured out ;)

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 677
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: apparent issue with aliases, notably "DC search"
« Reply #6 on: July 11, 2007, 08:35:24 PM »
Sorry, I should have done this test first.
It's the "DC forums" alias, whose regex was:
^dc[ ]*(.*)
(Why ever?)

Presumably an obsolete alias or at least an obsolete regex for this alias. I've changed it to simple:
^dc (.*)

Hmmm if it is the Core-Websites alias I wonder why you got that alias regex...as the normal one that goes with the program should of been what you changed it to as that is what shows in my farr and I do the core alias files for mouser now.
Carroll - HamRadioUSA.net

jdmarch

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 186
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: apparent issue with aliases, notably "DC search"
« Reply #7 on: July 11, 2007, 09:52:03 PM »
I would imagine that existing aliases don't get overwritten, right? I've been using FARR for several years now. If this was an early version of this alias, then presumably the corrected version would never have replaced the early version?

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 677
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: apparent issue with aliases, notably "DC search"
« Reply #8 on: July 11, 2007, 10:05:07 PM »
The core alias files I think should get replaced if newer on each install.  If it was FARR2 and also in the Core-Websites.alias...then I don't know why it showed that.  If it is in FARR2 and also in Core1.alias, then that alias file isnt getting updated anymore as the aliases that was in Core1.alias has been seperated for better management and such into 10 core alias files with icons for most of the stuff. :) So any help you can give into this would help us determine the cause for it.
Carroll - HamRadioUSA.net

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,434
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: apparent issue with aliases, notably "DC search"
« Reply #9 on: July 11, 2007, 10:59:47 PM »
good guess ham, i can have the installer delete Core1.alias if people have that file.

jdmarch

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 186
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: apparent issue with aliases, notably "DC search"
« Reply #10 on: July 12, 2007, 04:57:38 AM »
Problem solved. No, I do not have Core1.alias. I apparently copied the alias from this forum 17 months ago, in particular the regex from this post: http://www.donationc...78.msg16259#msg16259
My fault for heedless emulation.


jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: apparent issue with aliases, notably "DC search"
« Reply #11 on: July 12, 2007, 06:00:35 AM »
Oh, then that was my fault :)

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 677
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: apparent issue with aliases, notably "DC search"
« Reply #12 on: July 12, 2007, 01:08:16 PM »
Ah ok at least we found out where it was coming from which is the main thing. Thanks for helping track it down for us. :)
Carroll - HamRadioUSA.net