Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 01, 2015, 05:21:53 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: IDEA: OnScreen Display for Mute Status  (Read 55854 times)

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,218
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: OnScreen Display for Mute Status
« Reply #50 on: October 10, 2008, 09:49:56 PM »
I've just tried OSD Mute on my Vista 32-bit laptop and the mute status doesn't get displayed on my screen. Is OSD Mute Vista compatible?

i'm not sure about the Vista compatibility but there seems to be a work-around and i quote from the help file:

Quote from: Autohotkey.chm
On Windows Vista, SoundSet and SoundGet affect only the script itself (this may be resolved in a future version). There are at least two ways to work around this:
1) In the properties dialog for the file "AutoHotkey.exe" (or a compiled script), change the compatibility setting to "Windows XP".
2) Have the script send volume-control keystrokes to change the master volume for the entire system.

maybe you can try option (1) and let me know if it works since i don't have a Vista box to test.

app103

  • That scary taskbar girl
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,560
    • View Profile
    • App's Apps
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: OnScreen Display for Mute Status
« Reply #51 on: December 05, 2008, 08:54:59 PM »
The original script with the flicker, that was my preferred one since the flickering caught my attention more.

So I never ran a newer version of the script.  :D

It worked great on my last pc, but for some reason it isn't working quite the same on the new pc. It won't stay on top.

So I updated it and without the flicker seems to stay on top just fine.

I wish I could have that flicker back without it dropping behind other windows, though.

BTW: you have done some fantastic work with this. I love the idea of replacing the volume icon and still being able to access settings. This script is now everything the Windows volume control should have always been.

Thank you.   :Thmbsup:

app103

  • That scary taskbar girl
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,560
    • View Profile
    • App's Apps
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: OnScreen Display for Mute Status
« Reply #52 on: December 06, 2008, 09:07:13 AM »
hmmm...I thought it was working properly again, but I was wrong. It is still dropping behind other widows.  :(

oliverlipkau

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: OnScreen Display for Mute Status
« Reply #53 on: December 06, 2008, 12:43:21 PM »
BUG:
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate
line 114: Run, %A_WinDir%\System32\sndvol32.exe
this exe is named sndvol.exe in Windows vista.

I would recommend a system check like:
if A_OSVersion = WIN_VISTA
« Last Edit: December 06, 2008, 01:04:47 PM by oliverlipkau »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,975
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: OnScreen Display for Mute Status
« Reply #54 on: December 07, 2008, 12:16:11 PM »
I've been seeing this program/thread mentioned all over the web lately. congratulations  :up:

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,218
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: OnScreen Display for Mute Status
« Reply #55 on: December 08, 2008, 10:07:32 PM »
thanks, mouser. :)

@oliverlipkau: thanks for the info as i don't have a Vista PC to test this on but i'm planning to make the program more Vista-friendly.

@app103: if you want the original script you can try the Lite version. for even earlier builds, i'll try looking in my archives.

app103

  • That scary taskbar girl
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,560
    • View Profile
    • App's Apps
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: OnScreen Display for Mute Status
« Reply #56 on: December 09, 2008, 05:52:26 PM »
I have the original and the latest one. Both of them have the same problem with staying on top. They both drop behind other windows. They even drop behind my desktop widgets if I click my desktop, and I have the widgets set to BottomMost (pinned to desktop).

This should not be happening.
« Last Edit: December 09, 2008, 06:00:58 PM by app103 »

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,218
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: OnScreen Display for Mute Status
« Reply #57 on: December 11, 2008, 12:14:39 AM »
hmm.. that doesn't sound so good. i'm away from my pc right now but i'll try to replicate this behaviour to see why that happens. btw, are they Yahoo widgets?

app103

  • That scary taskbar girl
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,560
    • View Profile
    • App's Apps
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: OnScreen Display for Mute Status
« Reply #58 on: December 11, 2008, 12:15:35 AM »
Yes, they are.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,218
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: OnScreen Display for Mute Status
« Reply #59 on: April 14, 2009, 10:01:28 PM »
I have the original and the latest one. Both of them have the same problem with staying on top. They both drop behind other windows. They even drop behind my desktop widgets if I click my desktop, and I have the widgets set to BottomMost (pinned to desktop).

i posted a fix for this problem some time but forgot to update this thread so if anyone else has the same problems then try this download here. i'll put up a compiled version soon enough.

Changes since v3.0:
• Make GUI topmost with frequent polling

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,218
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: OnScreen Display for Mute Status
« Reply #60 on: July 05, 2009, 11:02:57 PM »
thanks to Lexicos' Vista Audio Control Functions, this script has been modified to work in Windows Vista & Windows 7. however, i'm making the script separate due to the inclusion of this library. Downloads available here.

changes in Vista version include:
• Vista compatibility (thanks to Lexicos & Sean).
• New hotkey: Win+m to toggle mute status.

app103

  • That scary taskbar girl
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,560
    • View Profile
    • App's Apps
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: OnScreen Display for Mute Status
« Reply #61 on: July 10, 2009, 07:11:10 AM »
Win+M is the default Windows hotkey to minimize all windows.  :-\

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,218
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: OnScreen Display for Mute Status
« Reply #62 on: July 10, 2009, 08:49:12 AM »
lol, i always used 'Win+d' to do that.. ;D anyway, the 'Win+m' hotkey is only included in the new Vista/Windows7 version, maybe i should make it configurable, eh?

app103

  • That scary taskbar girl
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,560
    • View Profile
    • App's Apps
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: OnScreen Display for Mute Status
« Reply #63 on: July 10, 2009, 10:24:27 PM »
Win+M and Win+D are very different. Win+M minimizes windows and Win+D changes the z-order of windows to place the desktop on top, giving the appearance that things have been minimized, when in fact they haven't. It can also mess things up for some applications that are supposed to always be on top, pushing them below the desktop. (This is why I never use it)

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,218
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: OnScreen Display for Mute Status
« Reply #64 on: July 11, 2009, 12:51:53 AM »
since nowadays there are keyboards with media keys, maybe a hotkey isn't actually necessary. perhaps i'll provide an option to disable them.

skipperalfie

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2013
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: OnScreen Display for Mute Status
« Reply #65 on: June 06, 2013, 09:47:22 PM »
I saw your article and this is exactly what I am looking for. I am writting my code in VB2010. I do not know how to incorporate the script you wrote into VB. Any help would be appreciated. What language is the script written in?

Thanks,
Chris

app103

  • That scary taskbar girl
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,560
    • View Profile
    • App's Apps
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: OnScreen Display for Mute Status
« Reply #66 on: June 06, 2013, 10:47:57 PM »

skipperalfie

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2013
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: OnScreen Display for Mute Status
« Reply #67 on: June 07, 2013, 06:22:05 AM »
Would you know of a way to do this in a VB program (specifically VB2010)?
I have found examples but they are HUNDREDS of lines long. I would think that it would be a simple thing to find out if Mute is on or not.

Thanks