Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 02, 2016, 06:22:12 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Is ProcessTamer "Portable?"  (Read 5749 times)

cosgrovedc

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Is ProcessTamer "Portable?"
« on: June 20, 2007, 08:48:46 AM »
Hello, All,

I am using ProcessTamer and would LOVE to be able to place it on a USB flashdrive and carry it around with me, to run on any PC (following the concepts from http://portableapps.com). Can ProcessTamer do this?

Thanks in advance!
Do YOU know what a Systems Programmer is?
« Last Edit: June 20, 2007, 10:37:20 AM by cosgrovedc »

Darwin

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,984
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Is ProcessTamer "Portable?"
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2007, 09:43:28 AM »
This is an interesting question that can be extended to all of mousers' apps - are any/all of them portable?
"Some people have a way with words, other people,... oh... have not way" - Steve Martin

cosgrovedc

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Is ProcessTamer "Portable?"
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2007, 11:01:35 AM »
Well...

For what it's worth, it WILL run off a USB Flash Drive - I just tested it! I copied the ProcessTamer folder (including the embedded "Extras" folder) from "C:\Program Files" to a "I:\PortableApps" and it not only works, it appears on the PortableApps start menu!
(well - ALL THREE of the executables appear there :-\).

You have to know to run the ProcessTamerTray executable to get things going but it seems to run like a champ. If you change any settings it rewrites the ProcessTamer.ini file BACK TO THE FLASH DRIVE, not to "C:\Program Files\ProcessTamer". I watched it run for a bit and it DID adjust priorities.
 
Then I got nasty  :P and yanked the flash drive out while it was still running. It seems to keep functioning, and can be enabled and disabled, but none of the dialogs will open. No big surprise in that, though.

Some apps are "semi-portable" in that they will WORK from a flash drive but may leave traces in the host system's registy and such. ProcessTamer may or may not fully "portable" as the apps at http://portableapps.com are, but it WORKS - just like many of the apps at http://www.portablefreeware.com.

Related pages:
   http://www.portablef...eeware.com/about.php
   http://portableapps.com/node/6709
   
 
Do YOU know what a Systems Programmer is?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Is ProcessTamer "Portable?"
« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2007, 11:10:17 AM »
All of my apps (except url snooper which needs a network driver to be installed), can be run portably off USB drive, etc.

In fact, all of my installers are created in a way that they can be unzipped by any zip archiving program and the files extracted manually without ever installing them.. This was done precisely for people who don't like running installers or want to use the software portably.  All configuration file are by default stored in the directory of the program.

When you enter a license key it is also stored in the directory as a file, so you can move that around with you as well so you don't have to enter the license key again.  :up:

Darwin

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,984
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Is ProcessTamer "Portable?"
« Reply #4 on: June 20, 2007, 03:16:06 PM »
Cool! Thanks mouser!
"Some people have a way with words, other people,... oh... have not way" - Steve Martin