Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 01, 2014, 09:17:58 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Your Support Funds this Site: View the Supporter Yearbook.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: BUG: Failed to delete tab at index 0  (Read 8745 times)
iycgtptyarvg
Participant
*
Posts: 7

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: June 17, 2007, 04:53:50 AM »

I installed ProcessTamer, but when I (try to) start it I get a message box stating:



My computer:
OS Name   Microsoft Windows XP Professional
Version   5.1.2600 Service Pack 2 Build 2600
OS Manufacturer   Microsoft Corporation
System Name   HOME
System Manufacturer   Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
System Model   965P-DS4
System Type   X86-based PC
Processor   x86 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 6 GenuineIntel ~2400 Mhz
Processor   x86 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 6 GenuineIntel ~2400 Mhz
BIOS Version/Date   Award Software International, Inc. F9, 27-Apr-2007
SMBIOS Version   2.4
Windows Directory   C:\WINDOWS
System Directory   C:\WINDOWS\system32
Boot Device   \Device\HarddiskVolume3
Locale   United States
Hardware Abstraction Layer   Version = "5.1.2600.2765 (xpsp.050928-1517)"
User Name   HOME\Elidioto
Time Zone   W. Europe Daylight Time
Total Physical Memory   2,048.00 MB
Available Physical Memory   1.18 GB
Total Virtual Memory   2.00 GB
Available Virtual Memory   1.96 GB
Page File Space   3.85 GB
Page File   C:\pagefile.sys


* Error Message.png (4.42 KB, 230x119 - viewed 368 times.)
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,422



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2007, 06:04:27 AM »

wow that is strange, i've never heard of that one before..
searching around newsgroups suggests this:
Quote
"I have seen this kind of behavior when some one has Extra Large or Large
Fonts enabled. "

do you happen to have your computer configured for super large fonts?

I've also read a suggestion that it could be a bug with "ComCtl32.dll" system dll -- maybe you could check the version of this file on your system? (find the file, right click on properties to see version).

ps. We might take this discussion off to email (mouser@donationcoder.com) until we figure something out..
Logged
iycgtptyarvg
Participant
*
Posts: 7

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2007, 05:25:38 PM »

Ok, it was indeed ComCtl32.dll.

Your app apparently only supports an old version of ComCtl32.dll.

My Windows XP SP2 (incl. Visual Studio 2005 SP1) has ComCtl32.dll v6.0

I also found an older version of ComCtl32.dll (v5.82).

After I copied the old version (v5.82)to my %system32% directory, ProcessTamer worked.
When I returned my ComCtl32.dll library to the current (v6.0) it stopped working.

Unfortunately I can't use the old version, because some of my own projects need v6.0+ of ComCtl32.dll.
« Last Edit: June 17, 2007, 05:29:15 PM by iycgtptyarvg » Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,422



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2007, 05:49:34 PM »

i've never heard of this problem.. i will investigate it more.  please do let me know if you find out anything new.
Logged
iycgtptyarvg
Participant
*
Posts: 7

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2007, 02:54:41 AM »

Ok, I have a workaround.

I left the old ComCtl32.dll library in %system32%, and installed the Visual Studio Run-time redistributable package. This creates the new ComCtl32.dll (incl. manifests) in the %WINDIR%\WinSxS, where my apps can find them.

What I don't understand is why your app wouldn't work with a newer version of a Microsoft library. I thought all system libraries were backwards compatible(?)

Anyway, your app is awesome! I really notice a big difference (e.g., trying to do something else while compiling my projects or 7-zipping archives)
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,422



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: June 18, 2007, 09:57:45 AM »

Quote
What I don't understand is why your app wouldn't work with a newer version of a Microsoft library. I thought all system libraries were backwards compatible(?)

agreed -- this is the real mystery.  hopefully i can find out why and a solution.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.026s | Server load: 0.33 ]