Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 03, 2016, 09:58:33 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: memory corruption after updating my lappy to 2gb? was: pagefile usage  (Read 2847 times)

urlwolf

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,797
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Guys,

My laptop is acting up... some programs (R particularly) do weird things, and stand by/ hibernation often fails...

A member of the R-help list suggested memory corruption. How can I test for this/fix this?
Here is copy/paste of the thread, in case it helps...

Thanks!

------------------------
Interesting; I upgraded my laptop to 2 gigs. and from that point on, it sometimes fauls to hibernate (just hangs). Maybe this is related? I installed an XP patch to solve hibernation problems with laptops over 2 gigs...

Maybe it didn't work?

-Jose
Re: Rogue c code: I was running library(Matrix), which is a pretty complicated piece of code and surely has c code...
>

> > Hi,
> >
> > I'm finding a very strange error.
> > For no good reason my R console (Rgui.exe, R 2.5.0, under win XP) stops 
> > producing anything meaningful, and just returns:
> > Error: bad value
> > to _whatever_ I enter. It starts doing this after a while, not immediately 
> > when launched.
> >
> > I have to restart R when this happens.
> > No idea why. I didn't change anything in the R config that I remenber.
> >
> > Any thoughts?
> >
> > Thanks.
> >
> >   
> Hmm that message comes from deep down inside SETCAR() and friends. I
> can't see other reasons for it than memory corruption. Are you running
> some rogue C code? Is the machine flaky in other respects?

Mark0

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 617
    • View Profile
    • Mark's home
    • Donate to Member
You can try some memory test, for example GoldMemory.
That way you at least will be able to rule out some hardware memory issues.

Bye!

steeladept

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,059
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Another tiny app that would do the same thing is MemTest86+.  It is all of about 40kb or something like that, but it does need run from a bootable media from a shutdown.  You can get precompiled versions here.

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Definitely run memtest86 if you suspect memory corruption.

Perhaps deleting the hibernation file (might require turning off hibernation, rebooting, the deleting) to have it recreated might help. And a "chkdsk /f" while you're at it, too.

Did you *add* a memory module, or replace the current one with a 2gig module? Hopefully it isn't some flaky compatibility issue.
- carpe noctem

urlwolf

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,797
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
I added a second module. It could be a compatibility issue, thanks F0dder.

I ran goldenMemory and it got two errors. So I think I'm returning the damn memory stick. I only have problems when I use R (incidentally, that can take up quite a lot of memory) or when hibernating.

Thanks to all who helped!

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Do run memtest86 as well... GoldMemory is shareware and I've never heard about it before, so I'm more inclined to trust memtest86 :)
- carpe noctem

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
I added a second module. It could be a compatibility issue, thanks F0dder.

I ran goldenMemory and it got two errors. So I think I'm returning the damn memory stick. I only have problems when I use R (incidentally, that can take up quite a lot of memory) or when hibernating.

Thanks to all who helped!

MEMTEST86+ is the benchmark for memory testing.

One word of caution about memory though - if you are using 2 sticks of DDR memory the best advice is to purchase them as a pair. There are know issues when you you mix brands of DDR memory or different size sticks. Even 2 sticks from the same manufacturer can exhibit problems if they come from different production lines.

Another rule of thumb is never buy generic memory - it usually is at the lower end of tolerances. Go for a well known brand - both Corsair and Crucial have guaranteed compatibility and lifetime no quibble warranties.

Lashiec

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,374
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Carol is speaking the truth, and if you want to go Dual Channel is even more important.