Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 03, 2016, 10:04:31 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Packets are bigger than reserved buffer  (Read 7661 times)

thibotus01

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Packets are bigger than reserved buffer
« on: June 10, 2007, 05:47:46 AM »
Hi,

I use Windows Vista, and i have v2.17.01 installed (download page it's v2.18.01 BETA but when i install it, it's not this version...?)

So, when i start "sniff network", few seconds later, i have this message : "Error: Packets are bigger than reserved buffer" ??

I didn't find any answer on this forum... Thank you for your help

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Packets are bigger than reserved buffer
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2007, 11:45:13 AM »
that really shouldn't be happening.. maybe there are some setups of windows with large packets (i'm not very network savvy).  i'm suppose to release a new version of url snooper any day now and i'll try to update the maximum packet size which should solve your problem. stay tuned.

thibotus01

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Packets are bigger than reserved buffer
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2007, 12:30:31 PM »
ok, but what's the reason ? Due to vista ?

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Packets are bigger than reserved buffer
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2007, 06:48:11 PM »
Hm, just a guess: you have a gigabit ethernet adapter with "jumbo frames" enabled?
- carpe noctem

thibotus01

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Packets are bigger than reserved buffer
« Reply #4 on: June 11, 2007, 12:45:47 AM »
jumbo frames is on "1514", and i can also choose between "4088" and "9014"

Android

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Packets are bigger than reserved buffer
« Reply #5 on: July 23, 2007, 01:20:50 PM »
I'm getting the exact same error message. I can only run URL Snooper for a couple of seconds before this error message appears.

I'm running Vista Home Premium 32 bit.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Packets are bigger than reserved buffer
« Reply #6 on: July 23, 2007, 03:01:04 PM »
I'll have an update that fixes this in august.

ashketchum233

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Packets are bigger than reserved buffer
« Reply #7 on: November 21, 2007, 11:27:00 AM »
Having same problem on latest version of URL Snooper. Just downloaded it yesterday. Yesterday it was working long enough for me to get the media URLs. But today i see that error message just after a few seconds. :(

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Packets are bigger than reserved buffer
« Reply #8 on: November 21, 2007, 12:02:32 PM »
please watch this thread -- i'll try to release an update in the next week or so.

ashketchum233

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Packets are bigger than reserved buffer
« Reply #9 on: November 22, 2007, 10:44:28 AM »
Thanks.  :)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Packets are bigger than reserved buffer
« Reply #10 on: December 12, 2007, 05:03:44 PM »
Can you guys try this release and see if it fixes the error?
http://www.donationc.../URLSnooperSetup.exe