Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 09, 2016, 03:45:00 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Russian ATM Found running Unactivated version of windows  (Read 3114 times)

Josh

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Points: -5
  • Posts: 3,397
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Russian ATM Found running Unactivated version of windows
« on: June 09, 2007, 01:40:45 PM »
Quote from: Engadget
Granted, we'd be a tad more surprised about this if it wasn't found in Russia, but this one defies logic regardless. While we're unsure if tricksters have figured out a way to siphon unthinkable quantities of cash from this particular ATM, the owners should be ashamed of themselves for running a (presumably pirated) unactivated copy of Windows on the public banking machine. Of course, there's quite a few workarounds for this problem if you take the time to look, but seriously, who skimps on a product activation code when running a multi-million (billion?) dollar banking operating?

6-9-07-russian_atm.jpgRussian ATM Found running Unactivated version of windows

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,421
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Russian ATM Found running Unactivated version of windows
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2007, 11:07:53 PM »
ha  ;D

nite_monkey

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 727
    • View Profile
    • Just Plain Super
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Russian ATM Found running Unactivated version of windows
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2007, 11:11:42 PM »
lol, thats funny right there.
[Insert really cool signature here]

hollowlife1987

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 89
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Russian ATM Found running Unactivated version of windows
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2007, 11:20:38 PM »
One word....Wow

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Russian ATM Found running Unactivated version of windows
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2007, 06:46:46 PM »
Hm, I'm not really comfortable with ATM machines running, presumably, consumer-grade windows. Embedded NT would be fine, even though imho there's better choices...

I wonder if this is a hoax?
- carpe noctem

Nighted

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 572
  • Meat Popsicle
    • View Profile
    • Nighted@deviantART
    • Donate to Member
Re: Russian ATM Found running Unactivated version of windows
« Reply #5 on: June 11, 2007, 02:58:21 PM »
There are stories of people who have legally acquired copies of Windows, only to find out when activating that they get the same message. Why? Because some keygen has already generated and activated their particular code.

It's been known to happen.....
I`m a firm believer in the philosophy of a ruling class, especially since I rule.

dhuser

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • King Dogbert
    • View Profile
    • StumbleUpon Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Russian ATM Found running Unactivated version of windows
« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2007, 05:01:20 PM »
That must give the customer a great sense of security and trust...  ;D
dhuser
My StumbleUpon Profile
Imagine.Explore.Create!