Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site November 22, 2014, 08:13:47 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2012! Download dozens of custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Stellarium 0.9.0 Released!  (Read 6056 times)
Nighted
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 572


Meat Popsicle

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: June 07, 2007, 11:13:22 AM »

Quoted from Stellarium site:

"Stellarium is a free open source planetarium for your computer. It shows a realistic sky in 3D, just like what you see with the naked eye, binoculars or a telescope.
It is being used in planetarium projectors. Just set your coordinates and go."

This program is free. It is a work of art. It is truely beautiful and breathtaking.

If you have not tried this before, than please take an hour of your time and give it a try!

(300th post!!! woot!!!!)


Logged

I`m a firm believer in the philosophy of a ruling class, especially since I rule.
Darwin
Charter Member
***
Posts: 6,979



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2007, 01:34:33 PM »

Cool find, thanks Nighted. Ironically, I was thinking about the practicalities involved in generating a real "star map" last night (my sons and I were using one of the guest rooms as a rocket ship for intergalactic exploration) and realised that because one's position in space determines what one sees, a "general star map" is effectively useless unless maps are produced that are relative to key regions of space... Anyway, thanks again - I'll be checking this out!
Logged

"Some people have a way with words, other people,... oh... have not way" - Steve Martin
app103
That scary taskbar girl
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 5,326



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2007, 02:54:27 PM »

Awhile back I did this as a coding snack (or half a coding snack, I should say). Then I found a use for it on my pc, to use Stellarium as my 'screensaver'.  cheesy


http://appsapps.info/idlestart.php
Logged

Nighted
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 572


Meat Popsicle

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2007, 05:02:40 PM »

That's pretty cool app. I noticed a lot of ppl on the stellarium forums requesting such a feature.
Logged

I`m a firm believer in the philosophy of a ruling class, especially since I rule.
OGroeger
Charter Member
***
Posts: 76


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2007, 04:20:54 AM »

Hm, looks nice but doesn't work on my workstation:
The installation was fine, then i opened the application. Whow, nice looking panorama of a meadow in Paris.  Thmbsup
I opened the settings dialog an began to change the coordinates, when it frozed. I opened the task manager (it started on my second monitor) and it reported stellarium with 100% cpu. After one minute i decided to kill the process. Surprise, surprise, the GUI on my first monitor didn't refreshed.
The frozen stellarium stayed whatever it tried though the process was killed. So it looked like the graphic card or graphic driver has been crashed. An unhappy situation, because the monitor with the frozen GUI is my primary monitor. You learn how important the primary monitor is as soon as you don't have one.
I logged out using the task manager, which was a stupid idea because after you log out just the primary monitor is used from Windows. So i had not possibility to safely reboot (no logout dialog). Finally i pushed the power button of my workstation.
Logged
Carol Haynes
Waffles for England (patent pending)
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 7,958



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2007, 05:41:12 AM »

Very pretty !! Works fine for me (nVidia chipset with SLi pair of nVidia graphics adapters)
« Last Edit: June 10, 2007, 04:41:04 PM by Carol Haynes » Logged

cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,195



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2007, 03:28:28 PM »

Quote
OGroeger: Hm, looks nice but doesn't work on my workstation:

FWIW, runs okay here (Radeon X1950)
Logged

Chris
OGroeger
Charter Member
***
Posts: 76


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: June 10, 2007, 03:53:59 PM »

for the sake of completeness: It is an ATI card, Saphire Radeon 9600 XT
Logged
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,195



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2007, 07:33:25 PM »

Quote
for the sake of completeness: It is an ATI card, Saphire Radeon 9600 XT
Mine's a Sapphire also.  It's a recent purchase, so a recent driver. 
If you run XP, I see there's a new ATI driver out that's even newer...worth a try?
http://ati.amd.com/support/driver.html
Catalystâ„¢ 7.5 Display Driver for Windows XP Professional/Home Edition.
May 31, 2007
Logged

Chris
Nighted
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 572


Meat Popsicle

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2007, 08:37:12 PM »

A DirectX update may also be wise.
Logged

I`m a firm believer in the philosophy of a ruling class, especially since I rule.
OGroeger
Charter Member
***
Posts: 76


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: June 11, 2007, 01:43:58 PM »

If you run XP, I see there's a new ATI driver out that's even newer...worth a try?
Yep, good point. Thanks for the hint.

A DirectX update may also be wise.
Uhh, ohh. Does this really help? I think this application is written using the Qt library (http://trolltech.com/products/qt) and uses OpenGl, not DirectX.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.036s | Server load: 0.11 ]