Website Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • August 30, 2015, 11:47:28 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Firefox 3 + IE6  (Read 9181 times)

johnnyzero

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Firefox 3 + IE6
« on: May 16, 2008, 02:06:15 PM »
Hi Mouser,

I've used BrowserTraySwitch for ages - great software!

Unfortunately, since installing Firefox 3 Beta4, it no longer lets me switch my default browsers between FF3 & IE6. It's kinda hard to tell since there are so many registry entries involved, but certainly it doesn't correctly change the URL shortcut association.

I've tried your suggestion of manually setting each browser as the default once, but that doesn't fix it.

One more thing: my config.ini file is empty - I'm relying on BrowserTraySwitch's auto-detect.

Any ideas on how I might fix this?

best,
JohnB

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,933
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Firefox 3 + IE6
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2008, 02:14:21 PM »
a couple of things i need to know first:
1) can you set the default browsers sucessfully from within the browsers themselves? ie if you tell FF3 to be your default, is it obeyed? same question for IE?
2) can browsertrayswitch not switch to either of them successfully? or is it just switching to FF3 that doesnt work?

johnnyzero

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Firefox 3 + IE6
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2008, 02:45:25 PM »
Thanks for your quick reply, Mouser.

Duh - I should've mentioned those things in my original post.

Quote
1) can you set the default browsers sucessfully from within the browsers themselves? ie if you tell FF3 to be your default, is it obeyed? same question for IE?

Yes, that works fine for both browsers.

Quote
2) can browsertrayswitch not switch to either of them successfully? or is it just switching to FF3 that doesnt work?

The problem appears to be "bi-directional" - I can't switch from either browser to the other browser.

Weird, huh? If it were simply an issue of FF3 compatibility, BrowserTraySwitch should still be able to switch back to IE6 like it always has. Maybe FF3 creates (or breaks) some registry entry that we don't know about?

best,
JohnB

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,933
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Firefox 3 + IE6
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2008, 03:43:30 PM »
it's insane how many different ways there are to mess with the default browser. it's ridiculous.
ok what i need you to do for me is install a registry snapshot-compare tool, and compare your registry when IE is default vs when FF3 is default -- that will tell me which registry entries are changed and i can add support in browsertrayswitch to make those changes.

johnnyzero

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Firefox 3 + IE6
« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2008, 04:14:03 PM »
Will do. Any suggestions on a freeware registry snapshot/diff utility?

thanks,
JohnB

Veign

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 993
    • View Profile
    • Veign - Where design meets development
    • Donate to Member
Re: Firefox 3 + IE6
« Reply #5 on: May 16, 2008, 04:23:05 PM »
it's insane how many different ways there are to mess with the default browser. it's ridiculous.
ok what i need you to do for me is install a registry snapshot-compare tool, and compare your registry when IE is default vs when FF3 is default -- that will tell me which registry entries are changed and i can add support in browsertrayswitch to make those changes.

Here's a tool:
http://www.veign.com...efore-and-after.html

johnnyzero

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Firefox 3 + IE6
« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2008, 05:34:02 PM »
Thanks, Mouser - attached is the RegShot "compare" file (before: default=FF3; after: default=IE6). Hopefully that will help us troubleshoot this issue.

Of course, I'd be happy to "beta test" any prelim updates you make to BrowserTraySwitch.

btw, thanks for the tip on RegShot. Great tool - can't believe I've never used it before.

best,
JohnB

ps: you'll need to rename the .txt file as .htm - forum doesn't allow uploads of .htm files.


johnnyzero

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Firefox 3 + IE6
« Reply #7 on: May 20, 2008, 06:40:15 AM »
Just a quick update: I installed the new FF3 RC1 yesterday, which includes a new option during install to make FF your default browser. Just so you know, this does not fix the issue I've described - I was hoping it might. Oh well...

best,
JohnB

ps: unrelated topic - Firefox3 RC1 does NOT render the DonationCoder Forum pages correctly - screenshot attached. I assume the same is true with any SMF-based forums.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,933
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Firefox 3 + IE6
« Reply #8 on: May 20, 2008, 08:17:14 AM »
Thanks for the info johnny, i'm going to try to address the browsertrayswitch soon i just have to handle a few other more pressing matters first.

As for the FF3, that's not good.. looks like css stylesheet is not being used properly.. i'll have to try to figure out why.

sri

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Niche Review Blogs
    • Donate to Member
Re: Firefox 3 + IE6
« Reply #9 on: May 20, 2008, 09:36:43 AM »
<a href="http://www.sridharkatakam.com">My blog</a>

johnnyzero

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Firefox 3 + IE6
« Reply #10 on: May 21, 2008, 07:06:36 PM »
Looks like you fixed the stylesheet - it now renders correctly in FF3.

JohnB