Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site April 18, 2014, 02:10:25 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
View the new Member Awards and Badges page.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: FARR v2 - Vista Compatibility Testers+Discussion  (Read 4177 times)
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,666



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: April 26, 2007, 07:52:57 AM »

I have uploaded a new version of FARR Alpha (v2.00.80) on Thurs 4/26/07.
With some fixes for vista (statusbar bug, icon bug, settings now stored in appdate place).

I'd appreciate reports of further vista issues on this thread.

(if you don't yet have the alpha download url for v2, just send me a private message on the forum by clicking the little balloon under my name to the left, or emailing me at mouser@donationcoder.com, and i'd be happy to send it).
Logged
justice
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,885



Solve issues simply.

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2007, 08:18:43 AM »

I have to say I have reinstalled FARR. Initially vista start menu search really impressed me enough to temporarily stop using FARR due to the preference location issue. However that is fixed and I find it annoying that you can't search for 'pad' to find notepad in vista, you'd have to use *pad* to include in-word strings. Too labor-intensive.

So I am back to FARR of course  Kiss, being able to search opera bookarmks is fantastic. Maybe in the future we can search notes as well, or even email?

Anyway, I found a small hardly worth mentioning dialogue box cutoff 'bug'. For completion sake I'll post a screenshot:
Logged

Liquidmantis
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 64


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2007, 11:52:50 AM »

I'll confirm both that it's fixed in general but the license key popup is cut.

This release seems to be quite a bit snappier too.
Logged
justice
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,885



Solve issues simply.

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2007, 12:50:47 PM »

Yep I have used it extensively for two days and have found no other problems
Logged

justice
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,885



Solve issues simply.

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2007, 05:34:01 AM »

If you can detect whether or not vista is installed:
if vista -> uncheck the alpha fading thing, vista already does it, maybe it makes FARR snappier.
Also vista is beautiful enough so then I don't use any skins, but that one is taste.

Still haven't found any other issues  Thmbsup
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,666



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2007, 10:29:13 AM »

thanks for the tip justice, good idea.
Logged
Laughing Man
Charter Member
***
Posts: 103


V for Viktor

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: June 06, 2007, 09:36:00 AM »

Dunno if this is just my laptop..but I notice that when I first trigger the hotkey to summon FARR (ctrl+space) the first time after start up (all programs that start up are loaded by then including FARR) it takes a while to summon the FARR window. But after that it's pretty much instant summon.

Just an odd quirk I noticied.
Logged
BenRad
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 12


View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: July 19, 2007, 09:54:56 AM »

I just upgraded my home PC to Vista, and I can't even get FARR to install properly. Installation completes successfully, but I get an application error after trying to start it. I uninstalled it and then reinstalled and ran dcupdater, but no luck. I'm still slogging my way through Vista, trying to figure out where the hell everything is, so once I figure out how to get to the Event Viewer (j/k, I found it), I can post some more specific information. But life without FARR is very frustrating.
« Last Edit: July 19, 2007, 12:30:42 PM by BenRad » Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,666



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: July 19, 2007, 11:14:03 AM »

FARR is running fine on vista for me.. anyone have any idea why there would be this problem?
Logged
BenRad
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 12


View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: July 19, 2007, 12:30:22 PM »

I'll try it again tonight. It's been a rocky last couple days.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.031s | Server load: 0.21 ]