Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site July 31, 2014, 12:35:09 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2014! Download dozens of custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Optimization Suggestion: Adjusted Priority_Range  (Read 13577 times)
shmate
Participant
*
Posts: 19


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: April 17, 2007, 07:01:40 PM »

Hi,

I think i have an optimization idea, it could be called Adjusted priority_range per process:
   The current version of PT tames all the process within the same global priority_range namely:
   [ idle   <->   below_normal   <->   normal   <->   above_normal   <->   high ]
   Which is good enough for the most common processes.
   But there are some significant processes that will not work optimally within this global priority_range. every
   one of this processes needs a unique Adjusted range to work better.
   
   For example: processes that running multimedia content like Winamp.exe, Wmp.exe and even Iexplore.exe (when
   running embedded multimedia content like You-Tube).
   Certainly those processes which are CPU voracious occasionally deserved to be tamed and PT should lower their
   priority.
   But lowering them too much to the idle priority will cause interruptions and clippings in the multimedia content (!).
   So they need a unique Adjusted range in which the lowest level is below_normal  and not  idle
   The same principle fits for the boost function: boosting those processes for instance to the high priority will
   freeze the PC. So in the same way some processes need a unique Adjusted range in which the highest level is
   above_normal  or even  normal  and not  high.
   
   In sum if we take the Winamp.exe process for example it's Priority_Range should be:
   [ below_normal   <->   normal   <->   above_normal ]
   Another example- the Priority_Range of my AntiVirus scanner should be:
   [ idle   <->   below_normal   <->   normal ]
   otherwise boosting it too high will freeze the PC   ( I'm using Kaspersky ;-)  )

   Obviously PT should use by default the global priority_range to every new process.
   The user may change it individually to optimize some process.



Addition Edit (summing Hasi suggestions as specified in replies 4, 6) :

1] A functionality to define the initial ("basic") priority of a process - the process's starting priority. (like the functionality of the PRIO application:  http://www.prnwatch.com/prio.html ).

2] A functionality to tune specific triggers (low & high) for each process. (the current global triggers will apply to processes with no specific rule).

3] A functionality to tune also the "default global priority_range" (which applies by default to all other processes which have no specific Priority_Range, as i mentioned above in my initial suggestion ).




If the idea is not clear enough , I would be glad to suggest additional explanations.   

Thanks  Cool

.
« Last Edit: November 25, 2007, 05:53:11 PM by shmate » Logged
shmate
Participant
*
Posts: 19


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2007, 06:57:52 PM »

Hi

feedback
Any feedback or corrections are welcome  !
                                                               


Thanks
 Thmbsup

.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,184



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2007, 01:53:06 AM »

this is a good idea i think, and i plan to add it to next release, which will be soon after FARR gets released in august. finally. really. i mean it. smiley
Logged
ElijahBaley
Participant
*
Posts: 1


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2007, 07:58:58 AM »

Hi,

I had a similar idea to shmate and am glad to read that I am not alone. But in addition to that I'd like to ask, if it is possible or even suitable to define a priority hierarchy?
I.e.: if I burn a CD/DVD I want NERO to have high priority no matter what other programs are running at the moment, especially if for some reasons those other programs run with high priority also. VLC got also a high priority exception rule, because if I watch h264 encoded videos I certainly want every possible cpu time reserved for this application, but if VLC only runs for background playback of mp3 while NERO is burning those priority setups conflict with each other.
A possible way to cope with this would be to implement a feature which allows the user to define a certain hierarchy; i.e.: NERO>>VLC>>WINWORD>>...

Thanks for "listening"

Anyway, it's a great program...
Logged
Hasi
Participant
*
Posts: 6

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: November 10, 2007, 06:08:10 PM »

I would apply shmate here http://www.donationcoder....ic=8154.msg58008#msg58008  (above) . Additionally I would prefer to make the settings of basic priority by myself (for permanent use). And that, because of the problem I write here http://www.donationcoder....m/index.php?topic=10770.0 : If some Program started with normal basic priority (Taskmanager) and, because it has been forground application, priority was changed by PT to high, after a time (after taming) PT changes the priority to "normal". In those cases I would prefer to change the basic priority for example to above normal. As forground Application it would be 'high', as background Application 'above normal'. (And also if PT is not working).
 And then it could be, that one can select between 'cpu usage trigger low' and 'cpu usage trigger high' for each process. (or just divisions of trigger classes).
All could be Approximately like this:

Basic          PT Rule                  Trigger low - high            do not lower
normal        above normal                50       -   70   
high           high                                                           X
low            normal                          30       -  50 

or is that all stupid?

Hasi
Logged
tranglos
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,079



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: November 10, 2007, 08:18:45 PM »

If some Program started with normal basic priority (Taskmanager)

Not sure if this is relevant or if you're using task manager as a random example here, but on XP taskmgr.exe is always started with High priority, rather than Normal. I guess this is needed so that you can actually use taskmgr to kill a process that might be hogging the CPU, since with priority Normal the task manager might never get around to processing your clicks.
Logged

Hasi
Participant
*
Posts: 6

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: November 11, 2007, 06:12:46 AM »

If some Program started with normal basic priority (Taskmanager)

 Angry that should mean: If some program has started with the priority, which can be seen in Windows Task Manager or in PT in window "Processes", divisive "priority" embarassed.
If this priority is "normal", PT can force, tam, increase or whatever. Cool   If PT works, the programs priority is high if it is in forground, so far. If PT dont work (see here: http://www.donationcoder....m/index.php?topic=10770.0 ) OR if the program changes in background, its priority is "normal". ohmy What I suggested is to have the possibility to set the priority basicaly and for permanent use  to - for example - "above normal". thumbs up After that PT can force, tam, increase or whatever, Cool   - at the end the priority is fixed to "above normal" instead of "normal". Kiss
   There are other Programs in the net, which can be used, to change priority settings and fix them, like http://www.shareup.com/viewscr.php?id=32563 . I would use Prio and PT together, but PT does not work together with any other program related to this. If there is another program installed, PT works like here (see big image!) http://www.donationcoder....d61cc707&topic=7589.0 PT continues to increase the priority unstoppably! undecided
 I hope, it is now better declaired?? tellme smiley


This declairs, what I mean with "Basic" here

Basic          PT Rule                  Trigger low - high            do not lower
normal        above normal                50       -   70                                           Progr a)
high           high                                                           X                            Progr b)
low            normal                          30       -  50                                           Progr c)

The other Idea is, to have the possibility to set triggers for PT not just one time, but sparately for each Program.  Kiss
hasi


Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,184



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: November 12, 2007, 12:14:16 AM »

i think i understand what you are saying.. i'm just trying to figure out if it deserves a quick fix/implementation, or whether this should wait for when PT moves to a more generic per-application-rules based thing.
Logged
shmate
Participant
*
Posts: 19


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: November 24, 2007, 09:33:21 PM »

Hi to all

Thank you Hasi for your feedback, I Added some of your ideas to my suggest.

Shmate
Logged
Hasi
Participant
*
Posts: 6

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: December 25, 2007, 06:06:29 PM »

Have you heard about wintasks pro? (from uniblue).
There is included some scripting language to enable users to make different settings for process usage. an interesting idea,I think?
Logged
shmate
Participant
*
Posts: 19


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: March 30, 2008, 07:10:59 PM »

Hi mouser,

Does ProcessTamer project is discontinued ?

A year ago I sent bug fixes and useful suggestion but unfortunately until now there is no any progress.

It is very frustrating   Sad

shmate
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,184



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: March 30, 2008, 07:16:02 PM »

See here for reason for temporary hibernation of development: http://www.donationcoder....m/index.php?topic=12798.0
Logged
Steven Avery
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 662

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: April 06, 2008, 05:58:30 AM »

whether this should wait for when PT moves to a more generic per-application-rules based thing.
Hi Folks,

This leads to my question.  I have an application that does not use a lot of resources (Powermarks) that needs a higher priority to lessen the "wait-state" (memory loading ?, paging ?) when I return to the program.  It seems to be helped when I make it high priority (e.g. with Process Master, which runs by application, while Actual Booster does that on a more global realm and could easily clash with Process Tamer).

So what is your recommendation ?  Perhaps a limited usage of Process Master for the PowerMarks type app, combined with the normal global usage of Process Tamer ?  I just want to be :

a) careful about programs that can compete against each other, perhaps clashing or crashing
b) achieve multiple ends, taming hogs on-the-fly (Process Tamer) and allowing for exceptional situations

Shalom,
Steven Avery

Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,184



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: April 06, 2008, 06:05:44 AM »

Process Tamer is very happy to let you set specific priorities for specific applications -- just go to the process list and set an Explicit Rule for the program to "Force Above Normal" or whatever, and it will be remembered forever after.
Logged
shmate
Participant
*
Posts: 19


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: April 02, 2009, 05:59:02 PM »

I hope this will be included the coming update
Logged
shmate
Participant
*
Posts: 19


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: April 27, 2010, 08:29:25 PM »

Any news here ?

.
Logged
shmate
Participant
*
Posts: 19


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: October 29, 2011, 07:44:09 PM »


I wrote this suggestion more than 4 years ago.  Sad
Is there a hope of implementation ?

Thanks 

Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,184



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: October 30, 2011, 02:17:35 PM »

Process Tamer is one of those apps that still works well and does what it was designed to do, but has not gotten the major update that it deserves for a long time -- for various reasons.  It's on my to do list and I promise I haven't forgotten about it.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.053s | Server load: 0.16 ]