Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site July 31, 2014, 08:37:29 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2014! Download dozens of custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 2 3 [4]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Process Tamer Update Coming -- Express your feature requests here!  (Read 45975 times)
crisoco4m
Participant
*
Posts: 7


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #75 on: September 17, 2009, 03:35:12 PM »

I understand what you are saying but the process I refer to has an explicit rule set to high yet the priority is set to normal in Task Manager.
The processes screen does not show this process all the time because it is a synchronisation program that synchronises the Windows time and runs at set intervals.
However, this program is running all the time as a process in the system tray and in the Task Manger just like Process Tamer. It should therefore show the explicit rule when running and not just when it connects to a server at the programmed interval.
Logged
qwibbles
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 22


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #76 on: September 17, 2009, 03:39:00 PM »

I would also like to see taming based on Harddisk activity ... (My AV/Spyware programs uses alot of Disk Time but not processor time).

Not sure what you would do for the memory usage issue (Freeze the process?) .... Firefox and Chrome won't like it cheesy

Profiles would also be a great idea. (i.e. Presentation Mode - Nerf the AV/AntiSpy/Windows Update and all the other good stuff that tries to grind the PC to a halt).
Logged
mithrandur
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #77 on: September 27, 2009, 08:42:03 PM »

I'd been looking for something like Process Tamer for a long time and I have to say I really like it!  cheesy

I've noticed that occasionally, for some reason I cannot figure out, PT doesn't apply the explicit rule to an identified process. So, the one new feature that I would love is for Process Tamer to wake up every now and then according to a schedule I can set in options or via the command line, rescan all existing processes and adjust them according to their explicit rules. I'm hopeful by having PT wake up from time to time and rescan, that it will catch these unaltered processes.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,184



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #78 on: September 27, 2009, 11:21:06 PM »

strange -- can you identify any clues to when it doesn't apply an explicit rule? if you exit PT and restart it (or actually just go into options and then out of them it should have the same effect), does it *then* apply it?
Logged
megar
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 14


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #79 on: December 13, 2009, 12:16:00 PM »

I would definitely like to see Process Tamer managing processor affinity.

Many games I use (including recent ones) don't work on my system. I have to manually using process manager, right click and setting the processor affinity to only one cpu.
Process manager would be a great place to manage those apps. Like having a rule for the prority, it would have a rule for processor affinity.

Thank you !
Logged
Tex1954
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #80 on: March 13, 2012, 05:38:10 PM »


On top of the basic affinity requests, I would ask a special... I run BOINC tasks on all my machines and use process tamer to max out the GPU calculations... however, I discovered that if I set the affinity to a single core, I get much better performance!!!!

So I would need to automatically set affinity of each task to either Core 4 or Core 5 (for instance) since I have two GPU's in each system and at least 6 core processors running them all. (My fav is AMD 1100T's).

If one could set affinity according to which GPU is being used (one system will have 4 GPU's) then that would be nice!!!!

 
 Thmbsup
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,184



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #81 on: March 14, 2012, 12:52:16 AM »

Process Tamer just hasn't gotten the attention from me that it deserves yet.  It's one of the few programs of mine that has deserved a major update and hasn't received one yet.

Until I do update Process Tamer, you might in the meantime you might check out the freeware/shareware product Process Lasso.
« Last Edit: March 14, 2012, 12:21:30 PM by mouser » Logged
db90h
Coding Snacks Author
Charter Member
***
Posts: 455


Software Engineer

View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #82 on: March 14, 2012, 12:10:59 PM »

Thanks Mouser, and thanks for the link. Process Lasso is pseudo-FREEWARE, to be precise. ALL the major features are free, it NEVER expires, etc.. I call it shareware because it isn't 100% freeware, and the freeware purists prefer it that way (labelled shareware instead of freeware). http://bitsum.com/howfree.php describes how free it is and is not. So, label is Shareware perhaps, as I do, but not commercial.

UPDATE: As a token of good will, I'm giving away a few licenses of Process Lasso Pro. This key: [EXHAUSTED] will get you going. If it doesn't, then sad to say it's been used up. I set the limit high enough to where many of you should be able to take advantage of it.
« Last Edit: July 07, 2012, 09:43:33 PM by db90h » Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,184



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #83 on: March 14, 2012, 12:21:48 PM »

I stand corrected -- post modified  Thmbsup
Logged
db90h
Coding Snacks Author
Charter Member
***
Posts: 455


Software Engineer

View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #84 on: March 14, 2012, 12:30:45 PM »

Thanks again. Good luck on Process Tamer, I'm sure you can get it up to speed.
« Last Edit: March 21, 2012, 04:46:31 AM by db90h » Logged
Pages: Prev 1 2 3 [4]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.035s | Server load: 0.14 ]