Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 07, 2016, 10:22:48 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Process Tamer Update Coming -- Express your feature requests here!  (Read 56862 times)

Darwin

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,984
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer Update Coming -- Express your feature requests here!
« Reply #50 on: October 10, 2007, 07:18:11 AM »
Disturbing thrumming/humming/grinding noise that rises & lowers in pitch with CPU activity.

Wouldn't this be more likely to be due to disk or fan activity? If so, I don't see how ProcessTamer, a software solution, would be able to do much for a hardware problem.
"Some people have a way with words, other people,... oh... have not way" - Steve Martin

Ralf Maximus

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 927
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer Update Coming -- Express your feature requests here!
« Reply #51 on: October 10, 2007, 07:33:59 AM »
No no, I WANT that feature.  The ability to turn on a science-fictiony computer throbbing/chittering noise synced with CPU activity for a specific task.

Darwin

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,984
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer Update Coming -- Express your feature requests here!
« Reply #52 on: October 10, 2007, 08:04:42 AM »
No no, I WANT that feature.  The ability to turn on a science-fictiony computer throbbing/chittering noise synced with CPU activity for a specific task.

Ah...
"Some people have a way with words, other people,... oh... have not way" - Steve Martin

Cavalcader

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 194
  • Live Long & Prosper
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer Update Coming -- Express your feature requests here!
« Reply #53 on: October 10, 2007, 10:32:38 AM »
It's definitely rare to ask for something "disturbing". Heh!

I love the graph idea. If that's too complicated, even a way to export stats to Excel or something would be really kewl.
My Linguistic Profile:
  40% General American English
  30% Yankee
  20% Dixie

What Kind of American English Do You Speak?

dantheman

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 591
  • Be good if you can!
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer Update Coming -- Express your feature requests here!
« Reply #54 on: October 10, 2007, 01:59:53 PM »
If that includes virtual pizzas that taste real, i'm in!   :Thmbsup:

Seriously, CPUIdle feature as some kind of option would make it THEEEE BEST!

Tekzel

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 228
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer Update Coming -- Express your feature requests here!
« Reply #55 on: October 10, 2007, 02:26:34 PM »
I accidently posted this in the wrong thread, removed it and am reposting here, where I meant to post in the first place:

PT doesn't currently support multicore processors, correct?  If not:

Multicore processor support :)  The ability to automatically adjust processor affinity for busy apps would be cool.

Something else I thought would be cool.  The ability to enable a skinnable window that is very light weight, no borders, adjustable transparency, adjustable columns, that shows the current top x number of busy processes.  Maybe with the ability to switch between that view and histogram view with a toggle icon.  Also how about two different histograms, one showing different cores with different graphs like taskmanager, and "combined" histogram that has one graph with different lines indicating different processor cores.

Ralf Maximus

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 927
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer Update Coming -- Express your feature requests here!
« Reply #56 on: October 10, 2007, 02:32:48 PM »
It doesn't support multi-core processors?  Really?  It *seems* to be taming processes that exceed 50% (use of an entire core on a dual system, more or less).

If not, then I want that.  :-)

Tekzel

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 228
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer Update Coming -- Express your feature requests here!
« Reply #57 on: October 10, 2007, 02:37:47 PM »
It doesn't support multi-core processors?  Really?  It *seems* to be taming processes that exceed 50% (use of an entire core on a dual system, more or less).

If not, then I want that.  :-)

I remember a discussion a while back where Mouser said it didn't, not sure if that was added between then and now though, thats why I indicated I wasn't sure at the start.

Grorgy

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 821
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer Update Coming -- Express your feature requests here!
« Reply #58 on: October 10, 2007, 02:38:24 PM »
Yeah, I'm with Tekzel on the multi processor bit, that would be good.  I have to admit i dont really care what it looks like as i never look at it  :-[, it sits around and does its stuff quietly.  I watched it tame for a while till the novelty wore off and I could see it was working, now all i do is sometimes tweak a program or 2 or slightly change the cut in setting.

I'd hate to see it grow into something that will itself need taming tho.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,408
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer Update Coming -- Express your feature requests here!
« Reply #59 on: October 10, 2007, 02:41:42 PM »
Multi-core should work as tekzel says, but i really want to add ability to set processor affinities, etc.  it's been planned r for a while just not gotten to it yet.

Cavalcader

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 194
  • Live Long & Prosper
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer Update Coming -- Express your feature requests here!
« Reply #60 on: October 10, 2007, 02:52:23 PM »
I'd hate to see it grow into something that will itself need taming tho.
Heh! Very good point.  :D
My Linguistic Profile:
  40% General American English
  30% Yankee
  20% Dixie

What Kind of American English Do You Speak?

Tekzel

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 228
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer Update Coming -- Express your feature requests here!
« Reply #61 on: October 10, 2007, 02:53:54 PM »
I'd hate to see it grow into something that will itself need taming tho.

While I can understand people's aversion to feature bloat, adding features does not always result in a huge convoluted mess.  Some programmers do that, Microsoft's entire team for instance.  Others know how to write a program that is feature rich without making a mess of it.  I think Mouser has shown that he is that kind of programmer time and again.  As for the visual representation I requested, if it were added it would be a switchable feature.  Code that is not executed does not slow an app down.  So what if it makes it a meg or two larger, I think in this day of huge storage for pennies per meg, I don't see it as a problem.

Ralf Maximus

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 927
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer Update Coming -- Express your feature requests here!
« Reply #62 on: October 10, 2007, 03:02:35 PM »
I think I see.  It's not EXPLICITLY aware of multiple cores, but is downgrading processes that exceed a total threshold, regardless of how many cores the process uses. 

It's the same behavior as TaskMonifier -- the author said he never tested it on a dual core CPU and was surprised to hear it worked well in that environment.

But if we could auto-set affinity for specific tasks, that would be cool too.  I want that. :-)

empyrean

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer Update Coming -- Express your feature requests here!
« Reply #63 on: March 15, 2009, 06:02:57 PM »
When I restart Vista, it always blocks Process Tamer.  PT seems to run if I right-click the Blocked Processes icon in the tray and choose PT, but it would be nice if Vista could be persuaded not to block it.  It's possible I've overlooked some feature of PT or that there's some way to enable PT in Vista.  I've tried using the Software Explorer in Windows Defender, but the Enable button is disabled for PT.

tabletguy

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer Update Coming -- Express your feature requests here!
« Reply #64 on: March 17, 2009, 06:23:31 AM »
I'd like to see an option to collect statistics for some time period (perhaps a day or a week) and then a second program that showed me what programs were run, etc. Would want to categorize them by system, user, special, user defined categories, etc. (That would be the job of the second program, IMO).

Even collecting the statistics should (IMO) be a separate program. If using named pipes or other defined channels, then I could put that collection program on a different computer, in fact.

So, perhaps in total two OR three programs, to keep the actual process tamer as lean as possible. :)

fromsi

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer Update Coming -- Express your feature requests here!
« Reply #65 on: March 26, 2009, 06:35:52 AM »
Hi there,
I have to say that Process Tamer is one of my most important "tools" that I install on any PC that I am working with.

An interesting feature would be to handle "multi-core-systems".

If you have a dual/triple/quad-core system a process usually is "flipping" between all the cores.

An interesting feature would be to have a process stuck on a dedicated core or processor.

If I know a process is single-threaded I can put it to one core,
if it starts two thread I can allow it for 2 cores etc.

The question is if PT can do this "automatically" by looking at the processes behavior?

Best regards from Germany
   Frank

Simon2

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer Update Coming -- Express your feature requests here!
« Reply #66 on: April 18, 2009, 03:51:08 AM »
Would it be possible to set the priority of a focused program to Normal (like Boost Foreground Process to High Priority) and when not focused it gets back to Below Normal (if that was set in the Processes tab)?

Best regards,
Simon

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,408
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer Update Coming -- Express your feature requests here!
« Reply #67 on: April 18, 2009, 11:38:44 AM »
thats a nice idea simon -- i could add that.

Frank, sorry for delayed reply, multi-core options are planned.

DREaton

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer Update Coming -- Express your feature requests here!
« Reply #68 on: May 16, 2009, 03:09:20 PM »
Great product. I love the ability to configure PT to kill and app if it sees it running. Would it have the ability to limit an app to a single instance. Also what is PT written in?  Thanks

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,408
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer Update Coming -- Express your feature requests here!
« Reply #69 on: May 16, 2009, 03:30:47 PM »
PT is c++ (pure visual c++ with no gui to keep it lean and mean);
the Configuration tool is actually a separate program (C++ Builder).

nowshining

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 23
  • Ugh! Hello! Anybody there?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer Update Coming -- Express your feature requests here!
« Reply #70 on: May 21, 2009, 11:23:34 PM »
req: ability to set all apps by default to low/idle with the exception of process tamer being normal... :Thmbsup:
First site to ever donate to "THIS ONE RIGHT HERE" :)

crisoco4m

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer Update Coming -- Express your feature requests here!
« Reply #71 on: September 13, 2009, 07:35:21 PM »
Amend / Clear Contents of Log File

Button to link direct to log file to delete certain days contents in NotePad.
And also button to clear contents of Log file altogether from config without amendment.

Alternative right click context menu for above.

Will make it easier than having search through program folders.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,408
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer Update Coming -- Express your feature requests here!
« Reply #72 on: September 13, 2009, 11:46:23 PM »
very good idea and easy to add -- my favorite!
will add it.

crisoco4m

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer Update Coming -- Express your feature requests here!
« Reply #73 on: September 17, 2009, 03:11:06 AM »
Save Special Priority Rule When Process Closed

Add a special rule facility to save a priority so that when the process is closed or Windows is shut down that particular process gets loaded with the new priority immediately Process Tamer is loaded. In other words, the process priority becomes permanent.

This is different to the way Process Tamer behaves at the moment on my computer as the process will get loaded with its Explicit Rule in Process Tamer but when checking the priority in Task Manager the process has its default priority but not its Explicit Rule priority.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,408
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer Update Coming -- Express your feature requests here!
« Reply #74 on: September 17, 2009, 02:07:24 PM »
When you create a RULE to give a process an explicit priority, Process Tamer will remember this and always force the process to have this priority.

Note that in the Processes list, there are 2 columns -- one "Priority" shows current priority and let's you change it temporarily.
The other "Explicit Rule" lets you set an explicit rule which will always be enforced, even on reboot.

Screenshot - 9_17_2009 , 2_05_52 PM.png