Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 08, 2016, 04:07:33 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Quizo QTTabbar  (Read 57067 times)

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,092
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Quizo QTTabbar
« Reply #50 on: February 06, 2008, 11:42:18 AM »
Just one of the many features that I like about QT:

path.gif

---

INFO from the previous page:
1.2.2 has been launched: http://qttabbar.wikidot.com/

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,092
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Quizo QTTabbar
« Reply #51 on: February 06, 2008, 01:57:24 PM »
... now if someone would just come up with an explorer extension that let you have dual pane view...

I cannot offer you genuine dual pane, but two panes... ehh... two windows!

Today freewaregenius told about DMEXBar [click to read].

* Review.txt (8.52 kB - downloaded 324 times.) << FreewareGenius' Review.txt


dmexbar.gifQuizo QTTabbar


dmexbarquick.gif


hmmm..: why did the screencapture loose the text? I swear: it was there! But I am not going to reinstall the program just in order to show these options - sorry!
dmexplorer.gifQuizo QTTabbar

And now I should display the picture of two alligned windows but I cannot do so, because DMEXBar didn't work in my Quizo'ed setup. I would sure like [hint] 'someone' to test if the problem is my XP only or if QTTabbar and DMEXBar just cannot cooperate [/hint]. But at least DMEXBar is said to be working okay in a normal Explorer.

Unfortunately I think you can only find DMEXBar at the somewhat deranged SIMTEL:
http://www.simtel.ne...b_product_page=59298

The program has not been updated for more than a year, and thus may be abandoned.
« Last Edit: February 06, 2008, 02:21:58 PM by Curt »

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Quizo QTTabbar
« Reply #52 on: February 06, 2008, 02:08:45 PM »
DMEX Bar was a old favourite of mine but this promising software was hindered by lack of updates and non-existence of a permanent homepage.

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,092
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Quizo QTTabbar
« Reply #53 on: February 06, 2008, 06:26:24 PM »
... this old favourite of mine.. DMEXBar 11, ...

The one at Simtel is now version 13, so briefly something did happen!

PhilB66

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 1,522
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Quizo QTTabbar
« Reply #54 on: February 06, 2008, 08:59:08 PM »
DMEX Bar was a old favourite of mine

How does DMEXBar stack up against Quizo (or should it be the other way around :))?

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Quizo QTTabbar
« Reply #55 on: February 06, 2008, 10:35:30 PM »
... this old favourite of mine.. DMEXBar 11, ...

The one at Simtel is now version 13, so briefly something did happen!

that's good news! is there a changelog available to see what was modified in version 13?

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Quizo QTTabbar
« Reply #56 on: February 06, 2008, 10:38:20 PM »
DMEX Bar was a old favourite of mine

How does DMEXBar stack up against Quizo (or should it be the other way around :))?

i'm not the best person to answer that as i've stopped using DMEXBar while i installed QTTabbar on my PC for the benefit of users not accustomed to file managers. ;)

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,092
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Quizo QTTabbar
« Reply #57 on: February 07, 2008, 07:58:24 AM »
How does DMEXBar stack up against Quizo (or should it be the other way around)?

For me it was not a question about one or the other, but if they can live together. I saw a few features in DMEXBar that would further amplify Explorer beyond what QT already does - if they would just cooperate.


Quote from: DMEXBar changelog
Version History:

Because of public demand I will try to add a version history, here. This may be incomplete. There are always quite some bug fixes. These I do not mention.


Version 12:

- Destination directory menu for file commands contains list of other explorer paths.
- Attach explorer window function (Two aligned explorer windows behave the same way when minimizing, restoring, closing and activating).
Choose "Attach..." for any of both aligned explorers.
- File filter. View only files in Explorer matching a file mask.
Enter a file mask and choose "Filter files". The input filed is shaded blue to remember you that not all files are shown.
- Grip to move DMEXBar toolbar to the left in case not all buttons are visible.
Move the grip to show buttons which moved out of the window to the right.

- Enhanced standalone synchronize tool.
  Look at the file "sync-example.sync" to study all options.
- DMEXFav and DMEXDir toolbar backgrounds are themed.
- DMEXFav has enhanced drag & drop and managing functions.
- DMEXDir has a drop down menu on the right side to go to the last visited directories (history).
Left click on the dot in the DMEXDir toolbar.
- DMEXDir has right click subdir menus for each of the buttons (only if not flat toolbuttons are used).
Right click on any of the directory buttons.

- Viewer allows Drag & Drop of files.

Version 13:

- French translation
- Enhanced standalone synchronize tool by adding awizard to create synchronize files for automation. Run Sync.exe.
- Transporter tool and "Transport to..." command.
- DMEXDir and DMEXFav enhanced.

icekin

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 264
    • View Profile
    • icekin.com Technology,Computers and the Internet
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Quizo QTTabbar
« Reply #58 on: February 16, 2008, 02:31:07 AM »
I noticed that

1) QtTabBar slows down the time taken to open Windows Explorer a bit. Usually, when I press Windows Key + E, Explorer jumps out instantly, nearly as fast as notepad.

2) QTTabBar does not work if you open 'My Computer' and then open the tree view on the left pane to enter Windows Explorer mode. You have to open Windows Explorer directly to enable QTTabBar.

I just tried out the new version. QTTabBar is now as fast as opening Windows Explorer and much faster than any file manager on my system, including Total Commander. Of course, the difference is openiong time is only a few milliseconds, but its worth mentioning.

sri

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 677
    • View Profile
    • Sridhar Katakam
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Quizo QTTabbar
« Reply #59 on: February 16, 2008, 03:39:51 AM »
I've set double clicking on the tab bar to open a new tab. But it doesn't do anything when I double click. Also clickable breadcrumbs would be helpful.
<a href="https://sridharkatakam.com">My blog</a>

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,092
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Quizo QTTabbar
« Reply #60 on: February 16, 2008, 04:26:22 AM »
I just realized that I was nowhere near to be the first telling about QT:

The following items were not listed here (I think) and as far as I know just a few people knows about them:

QT TabBar http://quizo.at.info...reeware/indexEn.html -- tabs in Windows Explorer and much more

QT Address Bar -- the same page as above -- adds breadcrumbs to WinExp

Startup Delayer http://www.r2.com.au...&show=startdelay -- lets you specify the order and delay of apps running at startup--gives you unprecedented stability of the system, I was hunting for something like this for years

Hotkeyz http://www.skynergy.com/hotkeyz.html -- create hotkey for virtually anything, including text pasting and macros, again, invaluable for keyboard maniacs

Enjoy!

Thanks for telling, yksyks!  :Thmbsup:
- and.., ehh.., Sorry! for not noticing back then..  :-[

I've set double clicking on the tab bar to open a new tab. But it doesn't do anything when I double click.

Your problem is confusing me because it will always do a lot of stuff if I double-click somewhere. My problem was to first understand what is was that had happened. Did you notice that it makes a difference if you db'click on a tab compared to if you db'click on a bar?

Edited: In my setup your action will clone the active tab.
« Last Edit: February 16, 2008, 04:30:20 AM by Curt »

ccondrup

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Quizo QTTabbar
« Reply #61 on: February 16, 2008, 08:34:31 AM »
clickable breadcrumbs would be helpful.

That is what QTAddressBar is for. It is a separate download.
I have both QTTabBar and QTAddressBar, with the optional tab-image found on QT-website, it looks like this:


After using this setup for a couple of days I knew it would be on my list of mandatory apps to install on a new system ;)

thebaglady608

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Quizo QTTabbar
« Reply #62 on: February 16, 2008, 09:38:27 AM »
Ok, so I may be missing a checkbox somewhere, but is there a way to make qttabbar remember its tabs from session to session?  I can get my tabs set up just as I like them, lock them, etc, but if I close down the explorer window and start another one, I'm back to square one.  Is the only way to have my tabs persist to not close down explorer?  I have to admit that I like the ability to set explorer to minimize and close to the system tray, but I try to watch my memory usage, and sometimes I really do want to shut down explorer....

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,092
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Quizo QTTabbar
« Reply #63 on: February 16, 2008, 09:54:14 AM »
Right-click the QT toolbar > Options > Groups, and make your choices.  ;)

My setup is starting with seven folders ready:

1qt.gifQuizo QTTabbar

7qt.gifQuizo QTTabbar

- or were you maybe looking for some "remember this session only"?   :tellme:

« Last Edit: February 16, 2008, 09:57:21 AM by Curt »

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,092
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Quizo QTTabbar
« Reply #64 on: February 16, 2008, 10:22:40 AM »
- and of course you can always right-click QT (to the right of the search box) and use Undo Closed

QT_rightclick.gif

yksyks

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 476
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Quizo QTTabbar
« Reply #65 on: February 16, 2008, 10:29:39 AM »
To thebaglady608:

Quote
... is there a way to make qttabbar remember its tabs from session to session?

QTTabBar Options > Window > Restore tabs

Enjoy!
« Last Edit: February 16, 2008, 10:31:13 AM by yksyks »

thebaglady608

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Quizo QTTabbar
« Reply #66 on: February 16, 2008, 10:40:06 AM »
Thanks, yksyks!  The Restore tabs option was what I was looking for.  It's one of those things that makes sense once I know what it's called, but at the time was just vague enough to make my eyes glaze over it.

And thanks, Curt!  I haven't really played with Groups yet, mostly because it seems buggy on my computer.  When I go to the Groups screen and create a new group or tell it I want one of the premade ones like My Computer, it keeps giving me an error message:  System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.  It does that whenever I add or delete a group or group member, or when I try to hit Apply.  I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong, if anything.   :huh:

yksyks

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 476
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Quizo QTTabbar
« Reply #67 on: February 16, 2008, 02:34:51 PM »
You're right, one would expect it at least under the "Tab" tab, let alone the wording... But for me it's an inevitable feature.

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,092
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Quizo QTTabbar
« Reply #68 on: June 19, 2008, 07:20:47 AM »
... this old favourite of mine.. DMEXBar 11, ...

The one at Simtel is now version 13, so briefly something did happen!

- since April it is version 14

Quote
Version 14:
- New DMEXStart utility. Autorun applications on certain system events (e.g. resume from suspend or arrival of drives)
- DMEXSync enhanced
- Multi monitor support for the explorer align functions
- Align with... function
- Cosmetics: Correct use of system fonts
- Translation of Setup and DMEXMenu to German

But still you download a downloader at the same deranged SIMTEL
- so you might prefer PCWorld

Anyway, I still cannot get DMEX and Quizo to co-operate  :(

nudone

  • Cody's Creator
  • Columnist
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 4,117
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Quizo QTTabbar
« Reply #69 on: December 21, 2008, 04:38:01 AM »
i've just started using QTTabBar with vista and i'm impressed enough not to bother installing Directory Opus.

a couple of things i do miss that i was doing with DO:

a) create new folder: from a single click button and/or a shortcut of F12.

b) show/hide extension for known file types: also from a single click button toggle.

anyone know how to get something like those working with QTTabBar?

PhilB66

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 1,522
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Quizo QTTabbar
« Reply #70 on: December 21, 2008, 05:00:18 AM »
@nudone

Have a look at StExBar.

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,092
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Quizo QTTabbar
« Reply #71 on: December 21, 2008, 05:19:40 AM »
a) create new folder: from a single click button and/or a shortcut of F12.
b) show/hide extension for known file types: also from a single click button toggle.

a) Yes, as a hotkey, No, not as a single click but as a 3-clicker (because the button makes you choose between a new file or a new folder)

2008-12-21_120437-42.gif

2008-12-21_button.gif


b) No, sorry, not yet. But you are more than welcome to create it yourself ;-) or talk someone else into doing it. Quizo has just come back from his incredible long time in bed, and has already launched version 1.2.3 beta 2, so you could also try to write him and make a request.

Quote
PluginSDK is available.
It's easy to make your own plugins!



Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,092
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Quizo QTTabbar
« Reply #72 on: December 21, 2008, 05:59:44 AM »
Have a look at StExBar.

Nice toolbar, Phil. And it actually will cooperate with Quizo QTTabbar!  :up:

However, my first impression is that it is a lot of fuzz to make for so few buttons. "Options, Show System Files, Console, Copy Names, Copy Path, New Folder, Rename, search-box." End of story. The renamer does not rename the marked file(s). I will have to test this toolbar for some more time to understand the good of it. Of course, these features are fine and welcome, I am merely holding back the praise because I already have Quizo's. But it sure is a fine "feature" that you can use both QTTabbar and StExBar at the same time!



nudone

  • Cody's Creator
  • Columnist
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 4,117
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Quizo QTTabbar
« Reply #73 on: December 21, 2008, 06:08:39 AM »
thanks, PhilB66 and Curt. i'm looking at both of your suggestions, though it would still be nice to just do everything with QTTabBar.

Curt, is there a quick way of changing the keyboard shortcuts in QTTabBar. i don't seem to be able to do so - i already had the new item plugin installed but it doesn't have a hot key associated with it on my system. edit: i've just realised how to change it.

i'd also had a quick look at how to create a plugin before making my original post but i didn't understand any of it. are there any tutorials for writing for QTTabBar, i can't find anything online.
« Last Edit: December 21, 2008, 06:41:52 AM by nudone »

nudone

  • Cody's Creator
  • Columnist
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 4,117
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Quizo QTTabbar
« Reply #74 on: December 21, 2008, 06:49:24 AM »
thought i may as well mention this now i've had another look at the settings.

you can have a single hotkey to create a new folder/file. this suits me, i'm not too bothered about having a button to do it. and now i've realised that vista doesn't select the extension when renaming from a F2 hit i'm not too fussed about the show/hide extension request i made.

Capture.JPG