Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site April 24, 2014, 01:53:48 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Your Support Funds this Site: View the Supporter Yearbook.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Monitor Resolution change tools?  (Read 4372 times)
222fbj
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 53


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: March 31, 2007, 10:43:29 PM »

Hi,
Can anyone recommend a tool for quickly changing video settings?  I have an Nvidia setup and their latest software - which includes some desktop utilities for doing this.  But I stopped loading that because it seemed unwieldy.  And I usually can usually find some free/donationware that works better.

I plan to try Reso from bcheck.net when their server is back online.
I tried http://www.southbaypc.com/FastRes/ but it lists every setting (see image) - and I'd prefer a smaller list of resolution optoins - maybe just a few I choose to display.

Update.... I just found ToggleRes which looks good for me - it toggles between 2 res settings you predefine  http://users.forthnet.gr/...s/programs/toggleres.html

Also found WIRM2.  http://www.prometheusuk.f...e.co.uk/noshok/index2.htm

Thanks for any other recommendations


* fastres.jpg (44.95 KB, 320x240 - viewed 274 times.)
« Last Edit: March 31, 2007, 11:02:57 PM by 222fbj » Logged
Nighted
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 572


Meat Popsicle

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2007, 02:49:32 AM »

I use ATI Tray Tools myself, I don't have an nvidia card but RivaTuner may let you change resolution from the tray icon if it's similar.
Logged

I`m a firm believer in the philosophy of a ruling class, especially since I rule.
rjbull
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,701

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2007, 11:26:13 AM »

PowerPro can change resolutions, and toggle between them... 


Logged
Nighted
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 572


Meat Popsicle

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2007, 07:41:36 PM »

That's strange they don't have a decent app like ATI Tray Tools for nvidia cards.
Logged

I`m a firm believer in the philosophy of a ruling class, especially since I rule.
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,049



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2007, 08:56:49 PM »

if you're into command-line, try using Qres
Quote
QRes is a command line utility to change screen resolution, color depth and refresh rate.

    * Version: 1.1
    * License: Freeware
    * Requirements: Windows 95/NT4/98/ME/2000/XP/2003
Logged

Nighted
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 572


Meat Popsicle

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: April 02, 2007, 03:53:32 PM »

Yeah, QRes you could setup to work on a dock or with SlickRun or FARR.

(gotta keep mentioning FARR or Mouser gets angry!)
Logged

I`m a firm believer in the philosophy of a ruling class, especially since I rule.
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,049



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: April 02, 2007, 08:54:31 PM »

(gotta keep mentioning FARR or Mouser gets angry!)
me too, i use Qres to setup links to different resolutions and make them available as drop-down menu on launchbar commander.. smiley
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.034s | Server load: 0.03 ]