Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 24, 2014, 03:31:18 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Learn about the DonationCoder.com microdonation system (DonationCredits).
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: DONE: change system volume to a desired level (like 20% OR 30%) on system start.  (Read 4099 times)
thecensor
Participant
*
Posts: 10

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: August 24, 2013, 08:13:29 AM »


I would like an application that would change system volume to a desired level (like 20% OR 30%) on system startup.
and bring up a window telling me it did that and enable to easily change to another level.

thanks
Logged
c.gingerich
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 491



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2013, 10:57:38 AM »

I think I got you covered. Give me a few.  smiley
Logged

c.gingerich
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 491



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2013, 11:40:14 AM »

Start Volume is ready to download :-) HERE

To Use:

1. Run Start Volume.exe
2. Select your volume %
3. Check Run At Startup (if you wish)
4. Click OK

Logged

thecensor
Participant
*
Posts: 10

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2013, 12:05:22 PM »


Works,


Thanks  Grin
Logged
c.gingerich
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 491



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: August 24, 2013, 01:49:25 PM »

Great!  Thmbsup
Logged

MilesAhead
Member
**
Posts: 4,947



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: August 24, 2013, 02:51:02 PM »


I would like an application that would change system volume to a desired level (like 20% OR 30%) on system startup.
and bring up a window telling me it did that and enable to easily change to another level.

thanks

I'm just curious.  Are you running XP?  I ask because I looked at a few functions of scripting languages(autohotkey and autoit) and they noted there is no global volume call for Vista and later in either.
Logged

"Genius is not knowing you can't do it that way."
- MilesAhead
c.gingerich
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 491



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: August 24, 2013, 02:55:46 PM »

I have tested it on XP, Win 7, and Win 8 64bit. Works on all 3.  Thmbsup
Logged

MilesAhead
Member
**
Posts: 4,947



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: August 24, 2013, 02:58:34 PM »

I have tested it on XP, Win 7, and Win 8 64bit. Works on all 3.  Thmbsup

I take it you used a different programming language?  Or you came up with your own work-around?  I'm just curious because I don't have a laptop yet so I can start programming again.  Right now I'm stuck on public library machines.  I can't even right click a link, nevermind open Control Panel or (gasp) change a setting!!  Geez!!!  smiley
Logged

"Genius is not knowing you can't do it that way."
- MilesAhead
skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,114



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: August 24, 2013, 08:44:30 PM »

@MilesAhead: The more recent AHK builds can do global volume control in Vista/W7.
Logged

4wd
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 3,353



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: August 24, 2013, 11:07:04 PM »

There's also a UDF available for AutoIt.
Logged

I do not need to control my anger ... people just need to stop pissing me off!
MilesAhead
Member
**
Posts: 4,947



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: August 27, 2013, 09:31:44 AM »

4wd and skwire: thank you for the info.  smiley
Logged

"Genius is not knowing you can't do it that way."
- MilesAhead
skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,114



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: August 27, 2013, 09:41:39 AM »

@MilesAhead: You are welcome.

@c.gingerich: Nice work.   Thmbsup

I'm going to mark this thread done and move it.
Logged

c.gingerich
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 491



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: August 27, 2013, 09:44:19 AM »

Thanks no prob. :-)
Logged

thecensor
Participant
*
Posts: 10

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: August 27, 2013, 10:19:34 AM »


I would like an application that would change system volume to a desired level (like 20% OR 30%) on system startup.
and bring up a window telling me it did that and enable to easily change to another level.

thanks

I'm just curious.  Are you running XP?  I ask because I looked at a few functions of scripting languages(autohotkey and autoit) and they noted there is no global volume call for Vista and later in either.

Windows 8 pro 64bit
Logged
thecensor
Participant
*
Posts: 10

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: August 30, 2013, 01:04:47 PM »

Not working anymore. I reboot a few times. The app starts and it says "system volume set to 40%" but the volume is really 100%.

Logged
c.gingerich
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 491



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: August 30, 2013, 01:09:51 PM »

Hmm. That's odd. Did you do any windows updates, install anything new, anything like that?
Logged

thecensor
Participant
*
Posts: 10

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: August 30, 2013, 03:57:45 PM »

Hmm. That's odd. Did you do any windows updates, install anything new, anything like that?

I may have.  I might have run some cleaning apps like Wise cleaner or slim cleaner.
Logged
c.gingerich
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 491



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: August 30, 2013, 05:22:21 PM »

ok. ill take a look and see wha i can do.
Logged

c.gingerich
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 491



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #18 on: August 31, 2013, 01:37:47 PM »

I made some changes, please download from here http://starpunch.blogspot.com/2013/08/start-volume.html and let me know if it is working again.
Logged

thecensor
Participant
*
Posts: 10

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #19 on: September 02, 2013, 07:48:37 PM »

I made some changes, please download from here http://starpunch.blogspot.com/2013/08/start-volume.html and let me know if it is working again.

Thanks, I'll test it
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.039s | Server load: 0 ]