Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 26, 2014, 02:01:54 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2011! Download 30+ custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: DONE: make a window always stay on top  (Read 10881 times)
yacht_boy
Charter Member
***
Posts: 30

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: March 01, 2007, 08:52:22 AM »

I often want to make a window stay always on top, for instance when I'm copying un-OCR'd text from a scanned PDF document to a word processing document by hand.

I used to use a nifty little freeware program called GIPO windows manager (http://www.gibinsoft.net/...outils/deskutil/index.htm) that did this along with a couple of other features I don't use.  I recently did a fresh reinstall of XP and when I went to reinstall GIPO, I got a warning from AVG Antivirus saying that there is a trojan horse (Generic2.ewv) in the file.  This is surprising, since the publisher seems to be pretty reputable and sells many other commercial products, but it looks like this is a real trojan from my googling around so I don't want to reinstall it.

I can't seem to find any other true freeware utilities that will keep a window always-on-top, although there are plenty of expensive shareware options.  Anyone want to step up?  I've got a few donation credits left...

Thanks,

Jason
« Last Edit: March 02, 2007, 12:52:01 PM by brotherS » Logged
cnewtonne
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 115

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2007, 09:15:15 AM »

did not use it, but this looks nice http://dm2.sourceforge.net
Logged
yacht_boy
Charter Member
***
Posts: 30

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2007, 09:44:20 AM »

Thanks, didn't see that when I was searching.  It does look very nice.  Problem is, I installed it, but I can only seem to make it work on firefox.  It doesn't do what it says it will on my other open applications--in fact, doesn't seem to work at all, except on firefox.  Not sure what's going on, and don't really want to spend hours trying to figure it out, since this is a program that's supposed to make my life marginally easier, not harder!

Also, it's way more complex than I need.  Really just want to keep a window on top, preferably with one click or hotkey.  I'm pretty sure other people out there want to do this, too, judging by the number of pricey shareware apps out there.

I found heldup (http://www.johnmacintyre.ca/HeldUp.asp), but even though it's free it has mandatory registration after 20 days and a strict EULA that is not very friendly.  It does what I want, but with those terms I can't say that it's really freeware.  A competitor to this would be perfect.

Jason
Logged
paulobrabo
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 87


The Brazilian Bomber

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2007, 10:02:25 AM »

I use and recommend Winroll. To keep a window on top just middle-click the [X] (Close) button.

http://www.palma.com.au/winroll/
Logged

English will never be my first language, it doesn't meter how hard I try.
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2007, 10:06:16 AM »

[warning: self-promotion tongue]
I always use my gridmove to keep windows on top.
[end of self-promotion]

But if you'd like to keep it absolutelly simple, just use the following code:

[copy or print]
F10::
WinSet,AlwaysOnTop,Toggle,A
return

Just copy it to notepad, save as something.ahk, download and install autohotkey and run the script smiley
(btw.. the only thing that script does is toggling the OnTop state of a window when you press F10)
Logged

brotherS
Master of Good Ideas
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,105


To make a difference, be different.

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: March 01, 2007, 10:09:39 AM »

I often want to make a window stay always on top, for instance when I'm copying un-OCR'd text from a scanned PDF document to a word processing document by hand.
Hi!

This has been answered here previously, I don't have time to search for the URL, but I'll paste the AHK code below. Win+a is the keyboard combination to enable/disable it. Very simple and helpful when needed.

Also check out http://www.donationcoder....um/index.php?topic=1167.0 if you didn't yet.

[copy or print]
; Always on Top toggle for active window - originally by wr975 / DonationCoder.com
; --------------------------------------
#a::
WinGet, ExStyle, ExStyle, A
if (ExStyle & 0x8)
{
WinSet,AlwaysOnTop,off,A
        TrayTip, AlwaysOnTop, Disabled
}
else
{
WinSet,AlwaysOnTop,on,A
        TrayTip, AlwaysOnTop, Enabled
}
sleep 2000
TrayTip
return
Logged

Thank you.
yacht_boy
Charter Member
***
Posts: 30

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: March 01, 2007, 10:15:51 AM »

Thanks all!  Don't know how this stuff didn't turn up when I searched the forums. 

I'm trying winroll now, seems easy enough, if that doesn't work I'll do the AHK thing and/or try gridroll.

Jason
Logged
yacht_boy
Charter Member
***
Posts: 30

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: March 01, 2007, 08:04:06 PM »

Finally got the hang of winroll, it looks pretty useful. 

I like gridmove, and I could see the utility if I had dual monitors or even one decent sized monitor, but on my little 17" jobbie it's not quite as useful.   Just another reason for me to get a couple of 22" widescreen LCDs when I win the lottery!

Will have to check out AHK, hadn't used it before. 

Thanks again, all!
Logged
hamradio
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 588



Amateur Radio Guy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: March 01, 2007, 10:13:16 PM »

Surprised no one has mentioned this one but...

There is also FileBox eXtender which went free because it is not supported under Windows Vista. So if you need it for XP or Older machines, then it should work.  smiley
Logged

Carroll - HamRadioUSA
rjbull
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,778

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: March 02, 2007, 04:09:06 AM »

Quoting TinyApps Misc page:

Quote

Showin 2.0 [9k] Enable windows that have been disabled, unhide hidden windows and force windows to stay on top or be placed below others. Perhaps one of the most popular uses of this program is to display hidden password editbox fields (text behind the asterisks *****).
http://www.foundstone.com....html?filename=showin.zip

PushPin 1.0 [22k] Keep any window on top of all other windows. 
http://rosafamily.org/software/pushpin/

Nail It! v1.10 [25k] + Make windows"sticky" so that they remain above
other windows.
http://www.pier7.net/dojo/Nail-It.htm

PowerMenu 1.5.1 [49k] + Adds "Always On Top", "Minimize To Tray", "Priority" and "Transparency" (W2K/XP only) sub menus to all top level system menus.
http://www.veridicus.com/...my/programming/powermenu/


[Edit to add an afterthought:]
PowerPro can also make windows stay on top, and can be set to watch for a particular windows' appearance and "pin" it automatically (same with AHK I think).  You might find this even more useful than a program that always needs to be set manually.

I should add that the problem I have with "pinning" windows is that doing so usually stops Kleptomania (text scraper) working.  It seems to be unable to "see" the window if it's been pinned.


« Last Edit: March 02, 2007, 04:42:27 AM by rjbull » Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.037s | Server load: 0.24 ]