Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 12:37:01 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: limiting memory  (Read 3247 times)

nite_monkey

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 727
    • View Profile
    • Just Plain Super
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
limiting memory
« on: February 27, 2007, 10:27:51 PM »
I was wondering if some one knew of a program that would limit the amount of memory and virtual memory a program is allowed to use? I have a program that I run, and it can get up to like almost a gig of virtual memory, and like 7 or 8 hundred mb of regular memory, and I wanted to limit this, that way maybe I can use my computer more better. Please and thank you.
[Insert really cool signature here]

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: limiting memory
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2007, 07:14:40 AM »
Well.. Even if such program existed, what would happen would be that you wouldn't be able to use the program you mentioned, since it'd run out of memory and give a "out of memory" error, i suppose.
So, no real use for such thing.
Or am i wrong?  :-[

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,092
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: limiting memory
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2007, 08:47:43 AM »
... it can get up to like almost a gig of virtual memory, and like 7 or 8 hundred mb of regular memory, and I wanted to limit this, ...

700 - 1000 MB??!! I too would like to 'limit' such a powersucker; I would never run it! (I don't even have that much RAM.)

If you really wanna keep such a millstone around your neck, my penny would be that you change the Priority in Windows Taskmanager to Below Normal. It won't bring you more RAM, but should give the other apps a chance to do their work anyway, I guess.
« Last Edit: February 28, 2007, 08:50:14 AM by Curt »

cthorpe

  • Discount Coordinator
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 728
  • c++thorpe
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: limiting memory
« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2007, 11:00:41 AM »
Well.. Even if such program existed, what would happen would be that you wouldn't be able to use the program you mentioned, since it'd run out of memory and give a "out of memory" error, i suppose.

I thought some programs were written to exploit all available memory, so you could limit them without making the program not run.  I seem to recall reading that some Adobe programs do it, though I might be mistaken.

nite_monkey

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 727
    • View Profile
    • Just Plain Super
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: limiting memory
« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2007, 04:04:05 PM »
... it can get up to like almost a gig of virtual memory, and like 7 or 8 hundred mb of regular memory, and I wanted to limit this, ...

700 - 1000 MB??!! I too would like to 'limit' such a powersucker; I would never run it! (I don't even have that much RAM.)

If you really wanna keep such a millstone around your neck, my penny would be that you change the Priority in Windows Taskmanager to Below Normal. It won't bring you more RAM, but should give the other apps a chance to do their work anyway, I guess.
I have a gig of ram, and I have a 3g pagefile on my second hard drive. I think I had at one time changed the priority, but I don't think that helped much when it was using almost all my ram, and 300mb of my VM, by then my computer was so slow I was about to pick it up and throw it at the wall.
[Insert really cool signature here]

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,092
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: limiting memory
« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2007, 05:38:50 PM »
, by then my computer was so slow I was about to pick it up and throw it at the wall.

I know that feeling.

I used to have 320 MB RAM, 500 MHz.
- and living on 7'th floor I was tempted VERY often: Can it fly?

And by now I still have only 520 RAM, and they are even divided with 64 MB to the video card, leaving me with only a little more RAM than on the old machine!

But on the other hand this is 3.33 GHz, so the handling power is much better.

cthorpe

  • Discount Coordinator
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 728
  • c++thorpe
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: limiting memory
« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2007, 06:03:39 PM »
If I threw my PC at the wall every time it bogged down...

I'm running a 866mhz P3 with 512mb of ram.  And I use VMServer regularly  :huh:


f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: limiting memory
« Reply #7 on: February 28, 2007, 06:10:29 PM »
I'm running a 866mhz P3 with 512mb of ram.  And I use VMServer regularly  :huh:
Masochist :o

...but then, I used to run vmware on an athlon700/512meg :)
- carpe noctem