Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 08:16:10 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Bugs or Inconsistencies in FARR v2.00.55  (Read 2462 times)

cnewtonne

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 117
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Bugs or Inconsistencies in FARR v2.00.55
« on: February 23, 2007, 05:07:43 PM »
Mouser,
I thought I should start a new thread to isolate my issues in one place instead of having them mingle with other unrelated issues in the main thread.

  • Alias action keyword are not working.
I already described it in the main thread here http://www.donationc...x.php?topic=6624.325


  • Aliases are recognized even when they're part of another string
Typing these 2 strings will show alias contents...
'sys' and 'C:\windows\sys'. May be you can have it so that FARR knows when a string is intended for an alias (first word in line) or simply part of another string.


  • Typing directory paths shows all aliases
Typing 'c:\' will list all aliases defined? Not sure why?


mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Bugs or Inconsistencies in FARR v2.00.55
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2007, 04:09:21 AM »
good idea to start a new thread.

Quote
*Typing these 2 strings will show alias contents... 'sys' and 'C:\windows\sys'.
*Typing directory paths shows all aliases: Typing 'c:\' will list all aliases defined? Not sure why?
Urgh! Ok this is why people use test cases.. There are so many interacting parts that when i tweak one thing i break another. I'm going to make some test cases so you guys don't have to find all these bugs for me :)  I do appreciate it though.  I'll have a fix in the next day or two.

I will check on alias actions and fix.

ps.
Can I just say, as a programmer, how much I love and appreciate and just thrive off of these non-angry, helpful bug reports.  I honestly think it makes the entire process for me so much more rewarding.  Thank you.

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Bugs or Inconsistencies in FARR v2.00.55
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2007, 04:12:55 AM »
I'll report here another problem too.
Ctrl-Space isn't bringing farr up anymore. So, if i focus another window which makes farr become non-visible, pressing ctrl-space won't bring it up. I have to minimize the apps to get to it.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Bugs or Inconsistencies in FARR v2.00.55
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2007, 04:18:11 AM »
There are a number of on-top issues with FARR that i plan to spend some time fixing in the next week or two prior to release.  Mar 7 is my deadline so mark it on your calendars!

cnewtonne

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 117
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Bugs or Inconsistencies in FARR v2.00.55
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2007, 07:51:36 AM »
Mounser,
I think the whole explicit directory search feature is broken. Here is how...

Search StringActionComments
c:\program filesshow all subfolders listed.I think this is the intended behavior since we did not end the path with '\'
c:\program files\showed defined aliases, No folders or files showingnot sure if ending string with '\' has any effect.
c:\program files\\ or C:\program files\.still shows aliases.should've shown dirs or files only respectively

Again, I think this is related to the issue I listed in first post. I thought I should bring it to your attention just to be thorough.

Thanks