Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site December 19, 2014, 08:18:54 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Your Support Funds this Site: View the Supporter Yearbook.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Non-stop refreshing  (Read 9898 times)
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,136



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: February 09, 2007, 12:34:56 AM »

in v2.30.03, the thumbnail pane refresh continuously.. any idea why, mouser?
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,785



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2007, 12:48:19 AM »

let me see if im doing some unnescesary refreshing..
it does stop though, right? once the thumnails are all updated..
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,136



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2007, 12:53:40 AM »

nope, it doesn't.. Sad in fact, it show only image files plus cab & zip files. at 1st, i thought you had implemented this request: http://www.donationcoder....um/index.php?topic=6724.0
Logged

lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,136



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2007, 01:15:03 AM »

i deleted the ini file then restarted. all was ok until i specified a custom folder in the "Screenshot Folder" section.. then the non-stop refresh started. so, i think i've found the problem.. Wink
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,785



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2007, 01:18:46 AM »

hmm.. so you are saying it really keeps refreshing forever?
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,136



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2007, 01:34:43 AM »

yes, it refreshes, pauses a second then refreshes again.. an endless cycle.. anyway, i'm attaching the INI file, in case you want to have a look..

* ScreenshotCaptor.ini.txt (7.88 KB - downloaded 222 times.)

P.S. the system doesn't allow me to attach the INI file so i'm renaming it..
Logged

xcopy
Charter Member
***
Posts: 75


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: February 09, 2007, 02:48:39 AM »

Same here.

1) I placed an "Archive" folder in my standard screenshot directory.
The updating makes the pane flash every 4 seconds and never stops flashing. I'm getting wooozy Wink

2) Additionally it steals the focus.
1. After opening SSC choose "MoveTo... > Configure MoveTo Folder List"
2. Place Cursor in the MoveTo Folders box
3. Wait a couple of seconds till the left pane refreshes
4. The options window is gone

3) And a third problem with this pane:
When I try to drag and drop an image to my Archive folder I get the error
Quote
"Access violation at address 00779523 in module 'ScreenshotCaptor.exe'. Read of address 00000330"
and SSC crashes.

After the restart I got
Quote
"The work item queue of the TWorkerThreadPool should be empty now, nut the number of elements were: 2 (C:\Libs\BCB6\JAMSoftware\ShellBrowser\BCB6\lib\ThreadPool.pas, line 820)"
(I don't have C:\Libs\ so there's something hardcoded?)


Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,785



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: February 09, 2007, 02:57:21 AM »

Sad something is clearly wrong with the thumbnail browser pane..
lanux do you also have non-image files in your screenshot directory.. might that be the clue?
I'm trying to think what could cause this on your systems but not mine.

what OS are you two using?
Anything else strange about it? if you experiment can you figure out when this behavior happens and when it doesnt?
Logged
xcopy
Charter Member
***
Posts: 75


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: February 09, 2007, 05:09:32 AM »

Nothing special here. Tested on WinXP pro and home with different themes.
As lanux wrote: apparently it's the custom folder we have in the screenshot directory.

I just played around a bit (deleted the custom folder, created a new one, recreated the old one) and now the refreshing is gone.
Instead I  am getting that second error message I posted with each SSC start. The number of elements in this message correspond to the number of screenshots in my default screenshot directory.
 tellme
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,785



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: February 09, 2007, 05:13:39 AM »

damn it this release sounds like its going to bring some troubles  Sad Sad Sad
i just wish i knew why it was doing this..
the error you are seeing is an exception being thrown in the 3rd party thumbnail explorer library i use.. damn thing  mad
Logged
f0dder
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 8,774



[Well, THAT escalated quickly!]

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: February 09, 2007, 05:37:34 AM »

Isn't the thumbnail pane the single most troublesome and aggravating thing in SSC? Sad
Logged

- carpe noctem
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,136



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: February 14, 2007, 08:33:05 PM »

lanux do you also have non-image files in your screenshot directory.. might that be the clue?
...what OS are you two using?
yes, i do have other type of files in the custom folder, mostly zip & cab files.. btw, i'm using WinXP Pro SP2. and as stated earlier, this behaviour appears only when i assign a custom folder in the "Screenshot Folder" section.
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,785



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: February 14, 2007, 09:18:34 PM »

lanux does it matter what folder you specify in the screenshot folder entry (we are talking folders tab of options)?
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,136



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: February 14, 2007, 09:24:25 PM »

lanux does it matter what folder you specify in the screenshot folder entry (we are talking folders tab of options)?
i'm not sure if i understand this, but any folder other than the default "Screenshots" sub-folder triggers this problem..
Logged

Dr-Leech
Member
**
Posts: 151


Psychedelic Coder

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: February 23, 2007, 04:11:49 PM »

I see that problem too.. Is there any way to disable the file browser control ?
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,785



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: February 24, 2007, 04:02:35 AM »

you can switch it into Details mode, that might solve the problem.

I will try to make a fix for this available this coming week.
Logged
Dr-Leech
Member
**
Posts: 151


Psychedelic Coder

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: February 24, 2007, 09:36:00 AM »

hey, mouser..

well, switching to Details mode still continous loading, except if you leave the default directory (program root/Screenshots). Leaving the default, it loads in longer periods.

Another thing, can you add a simple checkbox or something to disable this file browser in v2?
Because I don't need it at all, and I gues many other people neither.

And another, an Open File option in the File menu should be great (in case we disable the file browser).

Thanks for this awesome app!

Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,785



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: March 01, 2007, 07:13:45 AM »

I think these are sensible ideas, and I will add them to the next release coming in early march.  I think maybe a checkbox or toggle button somewhere on the main window to make it easy to hide and show the thumbnails would be nice..
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,785



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #18 on: April 02, 2007, 11:07:41 PM »

Can you guys try this new version and see if it fixes the non-stop refreshing:
http://www.donationcoder....Beta/ScreenshotCaptor.exe
Logged
Dr-Leech
Member
**
Posts: 151


Psychedelic Coder

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #19 on: April 03, 2007, 09:51:44 AM »

ok, seems to work fine now.

Didn't tried it too much, but changed to my old screenshots folder (with 200+ pictures) and now it no refreshes.

I'll update you about the normal usage of this.

Thanks!
Logged

Dr-Leech
Member
**
Posts: 151


Psychedelic Coder

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #20 on: April 03, 2007, 04:03:32 PM »

bad news..
It still fails. Non-stop refreshing thing is back and disturbing again.

Only solution is using the \programfolder\Screenshots
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,785



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #21 on: April 03, 2007, 04:27:29 PM »

damn it.
do you know how to reproduce it reliably? ie. can you cause it to happen consistently after exiting the program and restarting it?  the problem is it's so hard for me to find the problem because i can't get it to happen for me.  but if you can reliably reproduce it even after installing a new version, then you are like my golden goose and i will try to send you some test versions..
Logged
Dr-Leech
Member
**
Posts: 151


Psychedelic Coder

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #22 on: April 03, 2007, 04:36:35 PM »

I've deleted the old version (current) and extract the new one (this one you link in this post), in the same folder. Only folder I didn't deleted was Screenshots and MyJunk (to preserve my previous screenshots).

Once I extract everything, I needed to setup some stuff in the options (such remove antialiasing, and template name for files). Ok, it worked fine here.
But for testing I changed the storage directory to another "My Documents\My Pictures\My Screenshots". And here, it starts to non-stop refresh.

Also tried changing the view to List or Details and same thing.

Anyway, please don't worry about this if you plan to add any way to remove the file list if we want.
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,785



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #23 on: April 03, 2007, 04:50:06 PM »

well i will add a way to remove it, but if i could impose on you - you are now my #1 way to test this bug and fix it, so i dont want you to escape before i can use you to track down the problem smiley
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,785



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #24 on: April 03, 2007, 04:53:38 PM »

dr leech can you send me you screenshotcaptor.ini file, maybe that will help me to be able to reproduce the error.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.036s | Server load: 0.08 ]