Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 03, 2016, 10:06:24 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: CPU Freezes  (Read 2082 times)

nontroppo

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 649
  • spinning top
    • View Profile
    • nontroppo.org
    • Donate to Member
CPU Freezes
« on: February 05, 2007, 06:40:55 AM »
I've been getting occasional freezes of FARR on my work machine. FARR's CPU use goes up and it fails to respond to the trigger key. I have to kill the process. Version is V2.00.41 - I can't determine exactly what causes it yet:

farr.png

FARR Wishes: Performance TweaksTask ControlAdaptive History
[url=http://opera.com/]

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: CPU Freezes
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2007, 09:33:04 AM »
does it happen while it's searching, or while minimized?
what setting do you have for "Inactive Memory Use" on General Options tab?

nontroppo

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 649
  • spinning top
    • View Profile
    • nontroppo.org
    • Donate to Member
Re: CPU Freezes
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2007, 09:57:27 AM »
It seems to happen after I've launched something. I don't notice it until I need to bring it back up and it doesn't respond but the last thing launched OK, so my assumption is it is after launch.

My inactivated memory setting is "stay in mem - recommended". Is there any way I can debug the process when it is frozen like that (I know I can in OS X but maybe there is a way in Windows)?
FARR Wishes: Performance TweaksTask ControlAdaptive History
[url=http://opera.com/]

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: CPU Freezes
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2007, 10:18:51 AM »
Well you can attach to it and debug it but im not sure what good that would do.

Happens after you launch something - this sounds like the old problem we had where a digit key was sort of retriggering search as the form was closing.  It wouldn't surprise me terribly if this was what was happening again after i made changes to the key launching recently..

What keys are you using to launch farr? Tell me again if it's non-english keyboard?

The only thing that confuses me is that im not sure why farr wouldn't pop back up again even if this is happening.

nontroppo

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 649
  • spinning top
    • View Profile
    • nontroppo.org
    • Donate to Member
Re: CPU Freezes
« Reply #4 on: February 05, 2007, 11:32:06 AM »
I use alt+space (the annoying alt+space bug where FARR fails to gain focus is still there btw). Standard UK keyboard. I normally use function keys to launch things, though sometimes do press number keys.

Note most of the CPU use (I have 2 CPUs so 33% is actually 66% of one CPU) is red - meaning it is kernel rather than user activity IIRC (if that helps).
FARR Wishes: Performance TweaksTask ControlAdaptive History
[url=http://opera.com/]